We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
520
62
13
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
62
13
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmayan restaurantdiamond conciergepool conciergedavid rubioluna loungeitalian restaurantdel marlobby barawe spachef's dinnervacation plannersmo mo no hanapalace memberschef rubenpaddle board yogaaqua barresort credit
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is our 4th visit to this hotel but the first since they closed for a few remodel items. We were so pleased with our visit. The location is incredible and has just breathtaking views. We know there have been security concerns for the area but we felt completely safe throughout our visit. The food was wonderful and the hotel offers a great variety.

The best thing about this hotel and this visit was the Playacar Palace team members that took care of during our visit. There are many hotels to choose from in the area but for us it the team members that set this property apart and the reason we keep coming back.

We would love to mention a few that stood out during our visit with extra special attention.

Abraham at the lobby bar truly understands how to elevate the customer experience to a new level. He went out of his way to get to know us and we loved stopping by each evening.

Ezequiel at the lobby bar has an infectious smile that always makes you feel welcome.

Fania is a member of the pool entertainment team. Her energy is off the charts, she made us laugh every day. We were truly amazed how she took the extra time to learn and remember everyone's names.

Our changing pool waiters were all amazing. They catered to our every request and always seem to be there when we needed something. Thank HERLIN, JOSEPHINA AND PERLA for taking such good care for us at the pool!

Finally the spa at the Playacar Palace is spectacular. If you have the chance do not miss this wonderful experience and if she is available ask for Lucelli! Lucelli is a wonderful therapist and a true professional. We had a seeweed wrap and a deep tissue massage with her. Absolutely the best we have every done. Thank you thank you thank you!

Don't miss enjoying this special property but more importantly meeting this wonderful team!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, can't miss
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Bonnie P,

It is a pleasure to be worthy of your trust and confidence through the years! Wow, that fills us with pride and excitement.

As you have kindly mentioned, we are continuously working on improving and innovating ourselves and it is certainly rewarding to know this has been appreciated by you.
Your kind gesture of recommending us to future travelers is highly appreciated likewise mention made of top-notch service all throughout our facilities.
The team members who contributed extensively to your visit being so outstanding will most definitely be applauded for their exceptional service.
Thank you once more for your preference, we look forward to keeping creating more magical moments with you.

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Spent the 3rd week of March at the PlayaCar Palace and enjoyed ourselves once again. Payola, our Diamond Concierge, had our week planned and all our golf transportation and activities all went smoothly and as requested. She went out of her way (on her most busy day) to meet us as we passed thru on our way to Cozumel. Ubel (Pool Concierge) and his wait staff – Eder and Perla, took great care of us on our pool days. They were always there to move an umbrella or get us food/beverages. Carlos, the Sommelier, gave us an impromptu wine tasting at MoMo’s one night when the wine we requested was not available. Working with him we found a great alternative without having to guess! One of the Bellmen, Manuel, made arrangements to store our golf clubs there while we spent a week in Cozumel and then helped us get the rest of our luggage to the ferry. At the Playacar Palace he was always there to help with the golf clubs each day we played golf. Lastly there were 2 folks from the Entertainment staff who stood out. Cain, took us on an early morning bike ride in Playa Del Carmen. He showed us a number of the Mayan ruins around the area and went into great detail about each location. We had done the bike ride last year, but not with someone who was as clearly knowledgeable and proud of the local sites. Fania ran a number of the pool exercise sessions and they were the best we have done. She made the sessions fun, yet you still got some real exercise. We did both Paddleboard Crossfit and Water Aerobics sessions with here. She ought to provide tips to other Entertainment staff on the water aerobics as hers was great. Rather than over focusing on arms she creatively figured out a way to use pool noodles as water weights to get a better workout without realizing it! One last thing to call out was the excellent fresh made pasta at the Italian restaurant – so good!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfavitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear jfavitta,

We really appreciate your preference in Playacar Palace.Thank you so much for providing your candid feedback about your golf experience with the Tripadvisor community.
We really believe that our guests' expectations should be not only met but exceeded and we are delighted to know that this was the case, please rest assure that the team members who have made such a tremendous impact on your vacation will be commended for the excellent service such as the service provided by Manuel and the rest of the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon here at your home away from home!

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is truly my favorite Palace. When we arrived people immediately came and greeted us and welcomed us back. Abagail our Service Representative welcomed us in fact she waited for us since our trip was delayed. Everyone is so nice and they treat you like family. Olivia our hostess for breakfast and lunch always sat us with our favorite waiter Porfolio. Our bartenders Always had my husbands drink ready especially Francisco and his team. Great new bar manager. I can’t say enough about our stay. Except we will be back in October.

Room Tip: Great room with a great ocean view. Woke up every morning to the sun rise
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Casey S,

Your preference in Playacar Palace as your vacation destination is highly appreciated. The team is grateful for your review filled with commendations of the quality service offered by our team members, for us as you mention, you are part of the Playacar Palace family.Thank you for choosing us once more, it's always a pleasure to welcome you back and we all look forward to your next visit here at your home away from home.

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had a great time at Playacar Palace. The food was all delicious and the resort did not feel overly crowded even though it was full. We did Mayan Adventure to Cobas and Snorkeling adventure to cenotes which were both great. It is walking distance to shopping and the ferry to Cozumel, which we took one day to the Playaca in Cozumel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Barbara M,

We really appreciate your amazing review, we are glad to learn you enjoyed your vacation with us, including the delicious food, perfect location, and exhilarating tours.

We all look forward to your next visit and the opportunity of creating memorable experiences with you.

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our trip to Playacar Palace in March of this year exceeded all expectations! From the manager to the cleaning staff, everyone provided excellent service. Special thanks to our Diamond concierges, Constanza, Paola and Ubel. We enjoyed excellent food at the buffet, the Italian restaurant and a special dinner out by the pool. It is truly our home away from home!

Room Tip: All beach views are wonderful!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _rlsiwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear _rlsiwak,

Thank you so much for your taking the time on sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor. It has been an honor to have you as our guest and we are pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations, for us, there is nothing more important than your total satisfaction and comfort, we are definitely proud of all the team from the food and beverage department to the amazing Diamond department Constanza, Paola, and Ubel.

We appreciate your kind review and we can not wait for your next visit.

Cordially,

David Rubio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews