We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic vacation”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #20 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just got back from our vacation to PlayaCar Palace. What can I say, it was the best vacation we have ever taken. We have been members of Palace Resort since 2006 and this is by far the best palace. Since the minute we got there to the minute we left we knew it was going to be different. Our room was on the 5th floor with a breathtaking view. The beach is incredible. The water was perfect. We couldn't ask for anything better.
The service was excellent. We have been to almost all the Palace Resorts and have always had outstanding service. Carlos at the poolside bar made the most incredible mojitos. Claudia was usually our waitress and was always attentive. The restaurants were very delicious. Jazz, the manager at the MomoNoHana always went out of his way for us. Oh, how I miss hIm! The shopping at Avenida Quinta was great. I loved that it was right next door and within walking distance. We didn't do any excursions since all I wanted to do was relax and relax I did. We never ate out ot the resort but plan to on our next trip there. I'm sure we'll be back next year.
If your looking for a small but fun place to take your vacation consider PlayaCar Resort. You won't regret it. The place is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lzcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,233
    806
    214
    68
    41
See reviews for
1,540
1,862
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

we've stayed at over 20 hotels all over mexico and this was a good all-insclusive one. very nice staff. clean hotel, and the rooms were nice.
great food at buffet - lots of variety, loved the coconut popsicles and lemon celery juice. didn't try the other restaurants though. the ballroom was beautiful, and the resort was pretty. beautiful pool area, nice sandy beach and very nice view to see the sunrise.
the only thing is with the resort credits, we could hardly use them as the excursions were somehow always booked or unavailable to us. so the credits were basically useless.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greensmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

October 2011. Your just not going to make everyone happy but, it was seriously an unhappy vacation. Our first day was very magical. The open air lobby was very unique and beautiful. Our arrival reception was as always very classy for a Palace Resort. Beach area was outstanding.
BUT!! On our first morning the hotel flooded. I woke up at 6 am to use the bathroom and our room was absolutely-I'm not kidding FLOODED!!!!!! When the maintenance man came into our room he ran out fast and called for help on the Wilkie talkie. We could not tell you how many Palace workers came into our room to survey the flooding. The water was gushing in from the window. We were told to pack our luggage and leave the room. In our rush I failed to realize our large luggage bag on the ground was full of water and all our dry clothes from the drawers were soaking wet when we were finally given another room. At 6:30 am we were in the lobby waiting for another room. We tried to switch to Aventura Palace as we stayed there two yrs ago and it was fabulous but, we were told it was booked. We were told another room would not be available for a few hrs. it was to early for the buffet to open so, we waited until it was opened. After we went to the spa and tried to unstressed and keep ourselves awake.
We finally got another room around lunch time. We had lunch and ended up sleeping part of the day. We also could not ignore the stench from the septic. The reason why our room flooded was due to rain and it flooded the lower levels. Can't complain about any septic backup but the smell was very obvious. Roof leaks were everywhere. Water was dripping through the ceilings everywhere. Marble floors are very slippery when wet. The resort was under repair for the rest of the week. The Oriental restaurant was closed for the rest of the week-at least we ate there the first night.
We found ourselves trying to escape the resort. Visited Cancun Palace and tried to move but, they were booked for a large convention coming in for the weekend. Spent the day at Cozumel Palace. It was very nice. We were a little upset to watch the snorkel trip leave the dock. We had inquired doing the tour as it is included but, we were told only the Isle Majara snorkel trip was available to us. Unfortunately we took the tour two years before.
We had to pay for our own transportation to the dolphin tour. When we got to the tour location we recognized the wedding party of about 12 that were staying at Playacar and agreed we thought the transportation was supposed to be included. we also talked to another couple who's room also flooded. They had also made verbal complaints about the flooding mishap to management but, were also given a cold shoulder.
Wet n Wild was fun but, again we were given some more misinformation. We wanted to book the dolphin tour at wet n wild but, we were told we had to go to the dolphin tour near Playacar. When we got to wet n wild they had the dolphin tour. At this point we were getting more and more confused at to what was going on and we kept questioning each other to make sure we had heard correctly. Were at wet n wild about three hrs. And choose to grab a cab and go to Cancun palace. As I stated we tried to switch also to this resort. Cancun Palace is beautiful and wonderful in every way. A+ to the new remodel.
Towards the end of the trip I did e-mail our travel agent/palace member and let her know what was going on. When we got home I already had a message on my phone from her. She gave me the direct e-mail for complaints which I did send an e-mail to. I did receive an e-mail confirming they acknowledged and were aware of the many issues we had and that our complaint would be passed on to some one else but, that was months ago. We have heard nothing else.
We were so lost on this vacation. I just wanted to get on a plane and come back home. Yes, it has been seven month since our visit but, the whole trip was such an inconvenience. We had high expectation from our previous Palace Resorts vacations but, were sorely disappointed.
Zip line tour was no longer available to us as promised and a visit to the Eco-park is now extra.
On a more positive note the waiter service was very good. But, we could tell they were understaffed. Buffet food was good. Maintenance was trying to correct all the leaks ASAP. Drinks were good and food and beverage on the beach were served quickly.
Like I said were are not complainers. Our other visits to Cancun Palace-before the hurricane remodel and Aventura Palace were exceptional vacations. Tours were good, food was yummy and service was great. This time was just one issue after another that wouldn't quite.

Room Tip: Aventura Spa Palace is great for relaxation. Cancun Palace a more party atmosphere. Oceanfront a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank buggabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmalacara, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to convey you my sincere apologies for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

I very sorry to hear the negative experience you had with the room. Normally our rooms are in very good condition, however the most resistant materials can be damaged by natural factors as this happen, when there is an issue we do our best to fix it promptly, or we try to assign a new room and give priority to these situations and I am truly sorry that we were unable to improve your experience more quickly, fortunately maintenance and housekeeping staff works diligently 24/7 to make our hotel stand out. I’m very concerned while reading your comment about your belongings since we had a different report. I’m very sorry than weather inconvenience have affected to the Oriental Restaurant and you were not able to keep enjoying this place any more, however it's important to mention that guests were able to enjoy oriental food at the dinner buffet and the Chef was able to please any oriental food previously required.

I’m glad to know that your visit to Cancun Palace and Cozumel Palace were pleasant, fortunately the guests staying in Palace Resorts chain are able to enjoy good benefits, such as spending the day in those Resorts without cost.
I regret to hear that you did not received complete excursions information, we constantly promote different excursions based on good comments and suggest from guests, we are currently reviewing the tours information with the responsible department in order to avoid having this happen to guests in the future.

I sincerely apologize for did not provide you a timely response, the customer service department it’s taking care of this issue.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our staff service, food and beverage quickly.



Once again, we are deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience so we can identify our opportunity areas in order to make any improvements that might be required.


I’m at your service and if you have another comment or question please do not hesitate to contact me.



Sincerely,



Rene Malacara
rmalacara@palaceresorts.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We just returned from our 5th trip to Playacar Palace in Playa Del Carmen and as always the staff are unbelievable! They greet us like lost family members whenever we arrive with hugs and handshakes! If you ever go to this fabulous resort look up these people I'm going to mention. In the buffet restaurant you will be greeted by Hostess Juanita,who has the most beautiful smile that will make your day! The managers name is Sergio,and he will make sure everything is just as you like it. (I have threatened to bring him back home with us on more that one occasion!) Then there is the Italian restaurant, where manager Angel will treat you like royalty. The hostess is Samantha,who will do anything she can to please you and a few of the waiters are Ayanei, which is awsome, Pablo which decorates a great table,and Pedro, all smiles. Ask for any of these people and you wont be disappointed. Then there is the pool bar where funny Gabriel will help keep you entertained. The bar waitresses are the best. Every year we can't wait to find Perla! She always has a smile on her face and is a delight. Nora is a special person and Juana is hysterical! You will love them all. Please visit this great resort as you will fall in love with these wonderful Mexican people and I promise you that you will miss them all whenever you return home!! We are returning in July and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: They are all ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marge029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

In our opinion this place is fantastic. We had problems on the first night with the air conditioning not working and we had to move to another room that was away from the main part of the hotel. But we moved back to our original room the following day and had no other problems.

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort like this; we usually do driving tours, so I was a little apprehensive, but everything about the Playacar Palace is great - the food, the service, the rooms, everything. You're within a 2 minute walk of Playa del Carmen's "5th Avenue", which is good for a change of scenery and a bit of shopping.

We were always able to find loungers by the pool, although getting one in the shade on the beach can be a little tricky, but that wasn't an issue for us. The drinks and snack service is brilliant no matter where you are. The Italian restaurant is our favourite; we ate there 4 times in all, but the food in the oriental restaurant and international buffet was lovely too.

The only disappointment was the trip to Isla Mujeres Dolphin Discovery. The trip itself and the resort is included, but you have to pay extra if you want to go snorkelling, take a trip round the island or do anything else. The resort itself isn't that great for adults, so we took the opportunity to go to the Isla Mujeres Palace Resort, where we had a lovely afternoon floating around the pool. It's a much smaller resort with a lot less to offer than Playacar and there isn't much of a beach either. It was interesting to see the difference - we would choose Playacar everytime.

Room Tip: Our "partial ocean view" was on the ground floor to the left of the pool (looking out to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
8.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,740 reviews
30.0 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
19.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
19.6 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $552 - $1,157
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing