We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto ON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Awesome!!! The service, food, spa,tours, beach, town were absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,388
    855
    224
    72
    46
See reviews for
1,675
1,927
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Playacar. This was our first trip there, and it was wonderful!

It is a smaller, family-friendly resort. It was perfect for my husband and I, as well as our two girls, ages 9 and 12. The property is stunning and very well-maintained. The beach is within steps of the pool, and trips back and forth to our room were very easy. We did upgrade our partial ocean view room to a full ocean view room on the fourth floor. This only used $152 of room credit. It was well worth it, and we would have spent much more for the upgrade. We loved the proximity to the shops on 5th avenue, and walked to this areas most nights after dinner. We felt completely safe the entire time.

As many have posted before, the staff at the resort is amazing!! Many thanks to Erik at the front desk for making our upgrade possible (being friendly and persistent does pay off). Thanks also to the hard-working wait staff at the pool and the beach. They are ever friendly and efficient. We must also thank Gabriel, who makes all of the resort activities fun. My girls learned how to make towel animals, played volleyball on the beach, and even took part in water aerobics! I know my husband enjoyed his pool side tequila class as well.

Many of the resort guests had stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past. I can definitely see why!! We plan on returning in the future, and we really do miss it already!

Room Tip: Ocean view makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was my wife's and my first all inclusive stay and vacation. We went down for a friend's wedding. We arrived late and walked around the resort and were a little unsure of what to expect. The shuttle company dropped off other couples at other resorts which were very impressive from the outside. The lobby of the Playacar is fully open and outside and very attractive. The weather was great. The water is a clear blue. The beach is sandy white. The ENTIRE staff is is wonderful. Manuel, the bell hop, had the biggest smile when he picked up our bags and acted so happy to help us. Juanita in the cafe always had a smile on her face when she greeted us for breakfast and lunch! Carmen and Josue at the pool bar were not only great bartenders but thoroughly entertaining. The bride and groom actually requested them to work the reception, which they did and enjoyed! The room service were so helpful. When they said "my pleasure" to help, it seemed as if they actually meant it! The only "down side" was that it is right next to the Port of Playa del Carmen and a public beach. The beach is big so getting a spot wasn't a problem. But there were times on the weekend when the area just out of the water was congested with the public. They weren't rowdy or intrusive, just not what we expected to see in front of the resort that we paid a lot of money to go to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were a group of 10 that spent the week at Playacar Palace, but took day trips to Moon Palace and Cozumel Palace. The attentiveness of the staff was 50 times better at Playacar versus Moon. Moon Palace is pretty, but way too big and way too busy. Cozumel is very small. Playacar was amazingly convenient, in terms of proximity to 5th Avenue, the ferry, and Senor Frogs (where our 7 teens spent every evening). We had the biggest, prettiest room and patio, though were slightly disappointed that despite the fact that we were on the ground floor we couldn't walk from our patio to the pool or beach area -- we had to walk through the entire building to get outside. Beware of the free porn that appears on the room tvs after a certain time in the evening. Our teens found it right away. The descriptions of some of the food on the menus of the Asian and Italian restaurants were not accurate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent another great week at the Playacar Palace over Spring Break, March 2012. It is nice to see that the tourism is picking up again as the resort was much busier than last year as were the shops along 5th Avenue. Safety has never been an issue. The menu was more extensive at the Japanese restaurant this year and the sushi bar was a nice addition! The beach as always was perfect. Perla, one of the waitress's remembered us from last year and while we walked down to the water to cool off, she had someone bring us over an umbrella and a table. She made our day! There were many familiar faces, it was nice that the staff doesn't have a high turnover rate. I wish I could remember all the names of everyone who were so accommodating. The activities, housekeeping and dining staff work so very hard. We had two additional mom's who joined us and three additional seniors girls, along with our family of four. The girls enjoyed jet skiing, Xel-Ha and the dolphins. We also met a super family from California. We enjoyed the food, relaxing by the pool and the walks on the beach. The casino night was fun. I couldn't have won Texas Hold 'em without Gabriel's help! The girls enjoyed the Room Service several times.The SPA was fantastic, hard to beat!! We'll be back next year I'm sure. We'll get over to Cozumal if the waves aren't too high and definitely go to the monkey sanctuary that we heard was fantastic.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor this year, preference would be higher. They are putting in an on-site spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4IowaNatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
40.2 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,284 reviews
10.2 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
37.7 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,663 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,286 reviews
1.8 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $528 - $1,072
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing