We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 238
USD 205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
USD 356
USD 309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
USD 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
USD 224
USD 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 463
USD 342
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 271
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 420
USD 384
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
USD 1,008
USD 532
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 421
USD 408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 879
USD 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,209)
Filter reviews
2,209 results
Traveller rating
1,785
235
81
29
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,785
235
81
29
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla trajineradel rioinfinity poolriver viewphoto packagexenotes tourcave restaurantguest services managerred shirtdeluxe tourparks includeddinner showactive vacationthe cantinazip liningpre arrivalstunning resort
Filter
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 2,209 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Ahhh.. I don't know where to begin to tell you how much we loved Xcaret! A def must go!!! The beauty of the area is literally breathtaking and the staff is absolutely amazing ( huge Shout-Out to Monica!! You made our week on the beach so much fun and we miss you SO SO MUCH!!! Best worker in the resort!!! That girl never stopped!! ). The staff were always were smiling and laughing and you can really tell they LOVE their job!! They made this amazing trip so much more than we expected!!
The surroundings of this resort will make your jaw drop.. constantly! We were amazed everyday with our walk abouts! Get ready to take a ton of pics!!! The ecosystem they have is unreal.........
The food..... O.M.G. The many many restaurants they have are so diverse and so yummy!!! And the buffet restaurant!!!! SO many choices!
Drinks... you must find Marcos at the pool bar and ask for a Mini Beer! And anywhere on the resort; get a Mango Tango! A nice refreshing slushie drink to go with the amazing Mexican heat!
I could go on and on and on about this place!! Just GO!!!!! And you will see for yourself ( and thank me! :P )

Room Tip: River view was amazing!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sheila G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Hotel Xcaret México.

We are delighted to hear that our standards and services have been consistent through your stay with us, and your compliments on the good food, service and unique concept are greatly appreciated,

We look forward to sharing your kind words with the team specially with Mónica and Marcos and to welcoming you back to Hotel Xcaret México for many more years to come.

Kind regards,

Jorge Ducoing.
Hotel Manager.
Hotel Xcaret México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We just returned from an incredible week at this resort. Before our arrival we were in contact with the wonderful Alexandra Lopez - guest services manager. She assisted us with dinner reservations and surprised us with an upgrade upon our arrival! Alexandra went above and beyond, even came to visit us to personally say goodbye on our last night at dinner! I could go on about her outstanding service and professionalism but I think I've made my point :)
Our check in was quick and seamless - we arrived early in the day so our room wasn't ready, but staff made it easy to leave our luggage and explore the resort until our room was ready. We visited Xenses, Xplor Fuego, and experienced the Xoximilco Mexican fiesta. We are a couple in our 30's and We had a blast during all 3 of these experiences.

Food: we are not picky eaters and love to try new things. We loved the food at this resort. The buffets offered many options. Xin Gao is a MUST! We went one night for sushi - no need for a reso for the sushi, and we had a reso for the tepanyaki table on our last night. This restaurant, in our opinion, was the best on the resort. I should add - we did not get to the restaurant Ha, the cost was a bit of a deterrent for us.

Rooms: we reserved a garden suite room and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room in Casa Agua. What a treat! Our room had a beautiful river view just above the spa, a stone bathtub on the balcony with a hammock. Never had an issue with our minibar being restocked and housekeeping/turn-down service was flawless. We loved the little treats left for us every night :)

Spa: even if you don't purchase any service from the spa, you need to go see it! First off - the place smells INCREDIBLE! We did the hydrotherapy circuit, the staff made this experience incredible - they even threw in a head/neck massage at the end. We spent 2 hours here and we left incredibly relaxed. Highly recommend.

Overall Service: the people at this resort go above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable. I wish I could remember everyone's names who did this for us. Carlos who was serving down near the beach was extraordinary, Roberto in the sports bar was wonderful, and now I'm kicking myself for not writing down names of everyone else that needs to be recognized !

I could go on and on about this resort, but I will end it here. We can't wait to visit again, the only half-negative thing I can come up with is that there is very little signage - however for us, this just meant more of the resort to explore. The lack of signage could be intentional - to keep with the natural feel of the resort. Usually at the end of an all-inclusive trip, we are ready to come home. This time - we weren't ready, and are still having trip withdrawals!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emjm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear emjm2014.

What a great five-star review to read, we are absolutely thrilled that your All Fun Inclusive experience was just wonderful. We certainly appreciate receiving your comments that the service provided to you during your stay was the best you have ever experienced, indeed a great endorsement of our commitment to provide exemplary service to each and every guest.

Your kind words on the high levels of customer care afforded to you by our colleagues is certainly well received, we are sure that Alexandra, Carlos, and Roberto will be honored to hear about your recognition.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to to Hotel Xcaret México.

Best regards,

Jorge Ducoing.
Hotel Manager.
Hotel Xcaret México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our 4 night stay at Hotel Xcaret was wonderful from arrival at the airport to check-out. The hotel offers a shuttle service from the airport, which is in a luxury bus with restrooms and a mini-bar(we were all shocked by that!). The hotel is around an hour from the airport, and when we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who offered us arrival drinks and cool towels.
The lobby and property were absolutely spectacular, and the entire resort was exceptionally clean. The main infinity pool is gorgeous with views of the ocean, and the entire hotel has an Xcaret like feel to it, as there are natural rivers and a lagoon winding through the property. The size of the hotel gives one many options with lounging spaces, and we only discovered the true size of the hotel on our last day here, which unfortunately meant that we were unable to enjoy most of the facilities at the hotel. There's a swimmable river with caves, hammocks, and slides, which was almost totally empty, and there are also smaller infinity pools with wonderful views of a church.
The all-inclusive package, especially with the promotional deal, was an amazing value. We had access to 7 restaurants, unlimited drinks, towels, and an opportunity to use all 8 parks, and eat over there as well(including Xel-ha, Xcaret, Xplor, and Chichen Itza), which in and of itself is an amzing deal(highly recommend doing at least the 4 closest ones which are accessible by the shuttle bus). The food at both the parks and the resort is excellent, and we highly recommend the main buffet, and the mexican restaurant(La Cantina). It's a shame that we really didn't have time to enjoy the facilities and food offered at the resort itself, as the resort is actually as large as Xcaret(just walk around for around 2 hours and you will see).
The room was modern, sleek, and the beds were comfortable, but frankly, you won't be spending much time there as the main pool and the other facilities are so wonderful.
The resort was overall a 5 star experience, but there were a few things that detracted from our stay. While the room was perhaps the most modern room we have ever stayed in, there was a persistent smell of sewage when we used the sinks in the morning, which was rather annoying. Additionally, while the staff were clearly trying their best, the service was, at times, slow and unattentive. The line for eggs at the buffet was 10 minutes long at some points, and it took 2 hours for us to eat a normal meal at La Cantina(mexican restaurant). The map was also very confusing, as the information on there vs the information on the website was contradictory, and we ended up in a part of the resort that was missing from the map!(the Islands part seemed to be open, but we ended up getting lost in a closed section for some reason for a good 30 minutes). These are probably just a few kinks that will be fixed with future development/experience, and they were minor inconviniences compared to the other great things about our stay.
Overall, I would stay here again for at least 7-8 nights. This is the minimum number of nights you need if you want to experience everything this resort has to offer!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear James H,

Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively review your recent stay here at Hotel Xcaret México. We are pleased to learn that you found your accommodations well-appointed and comfortable.
We also appreciate receiving your positive compliments on our property and facilities.

Your comments regarding the excellent service and culinary delights served in El Mercado17 are well received as too are your kind words on the quality of food served in La Cantina.

It is extremely important to receive constructive feedback and thank you for sharing with us your reason behind awarding us 4 stars.

We are sorry to learn about the smell in your room now and not while you were at the resort nevertheless we apologise for the inconvenience caused and will make sure to follow through accordingly to prevent this from happening again.

Rest assured that we will also share your remarks with our team related our map and restaurant waiting time.

Thank you once again for your review and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel Xcaret México for what will be a flawless visit from start to finish.

Sincerely,

Jorge Ducoing.
Hotel Manager.
Hotel Xcaret México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We loved everything about our experience. Food, accommodations, grounds, room, staff, all second to none.
Highly recommend.
Also, really enjoyed some of the parks that we visited, which were included in our package.
Again, this resort is a must, if you enjoy staying at an all inclusive resort. Make sure you include some of the associated parks in your visit.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KariGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear KariGolf,

At Hotel Xcaret Mexico, we are absolutely grateful for the time you spent in sharing your kind feedback with us.
All of our team feels grateful and motivated to read your words.

We are delighted to note that you were impressed by the overall ambiance of the hotel and the of service excellence provided by our colleagues. Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated.

We will be looking forward to seeing you once again at our unique resort.


Kind regards,


Jorge Ducoing.
Hotel Manager.
Hotel Xcaret México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Firstly, my husband and I are big travellers and have been to many all-inclusives. We feel that this all-inclusive is definitely above average, but still has a few kinks to work out, like many others have said.

Things we liked:

-The beautiful grounds!! The lagoon is amazing. They try really hard to keep it clean.
-The included parks and tours were awesome!! Really gave you lots to do.
-The transportation to and from airport was awesome. The bus had wifi and a bathroom.
-The transportation between the parks and the hotel was reliable and ran often.
-Most staff are great and work really hard! As a side note, we were wanting to go to the El Mercado buffet for breakfast one day and there were plenty of tables available, but they told us a 15-20 minute wait. Literally, there were 5 tables occupied outside on the patio. We did not like this, as a buffet should be quick. We went somewhere else, which was disappointing. As well, at one of the a la carte restaurants, we saw one of the cooks texting and cooking at the same time.
-The rooms are amazing with beautiful views. Lots of little perks and very modern!
-We did receive a room upgrade, but it was two double beds instead of a king, like we paid for. I would have preferred a king bed. One of our group members staying in a room by herself ended up getting a king bed, but all the couples received double beds.
-Love the ice cream and crepes in El Mercado buffet. Very cool!
-Loved the little carts they had around with fresh fruit, oysters, etc. Very nice touch.
-The pop-up shows were nice all around the resort.
-The show at Teatro Del Rio was actually very good. We enjoyed it!!
-Very quiet and nice atmosphere at the resort!

Things that need improvement:

-A map upon check-in would have been nice. We found out there were maps toward the end of the trip. It would have saved a lot of navigating.
-Lack of signage, although I did see more signs throughout the trip.
-The check-in was not consistent for all of our group members. Some were told different things than others. Example- We were not told we would have to pay $20USD if we cancel a reservation for a park or tour, but other group members were.
-I was proactive and emailed the hotel and spoke to the head concierge ahead of time. I asked for our group members to be as close together as possible. This was not on file, so I had to stay longer to check-in to try and get our rooms together.
-Every time we would ask a question at the concierge, we would be asked to attend the special breakfast/presentation. It became borderline harassment the amount of times we had to say no. Also, the lady at the concierge said they only invite 15 people per day, which we found unusual because the group and I were constantly asked to go to this presentation.
-The beach is not great. It also has a lot of seaweed. Hard to walk on the sand without having seaweed between your toes the day we spent there.
-The food was hit and miss. We really liked Xin-Gao, Las Playas and La Trajinera. Although at Xin-Gao the atmosphere was so loud that it was difficult to have conversations and I made a reservation for 7pm, but on their sheet they had it down for 6:30. They accommodated us though. Further, service was slow that day. I had to go up to the bar to get refills of water because all of our glasses were empty. The bartender was great up there. We did not like the Cave restaurant nor the La Cantina restaurant at all. Some of the worst food we have had at an all-inclusive that we've been to, to be honest. We heard such good things about La Cantina (had an hour and a half wait) just to eat and none of us (there were 8 of us) enjoyed the meal. I ordered some kind of cheese and steak appetizer and it was literally balls of fat, not even steak. Further, a child came over to our table and coughed on one of the plates of food of one of our group members. The staff tried to give him back his food numerous times, but he kept saying that it was coughed on. We really liked the food at Xcaret Park though!!
-They need to work on accessibility. We had someone who has mobility issues in the group and she was falling a lot due to the lack of handrails. She goes on all-inclusives often too, and she said this was the worst layout for her.
-There are not enough bathrooms near the pools, lagoons and beach. If there are bathrooms nearby, they are hard to find.
-The shower would turn hot and cold regularly during peak times of showers. One day I actually was burned by the hot water.
-The last day we were there, the infinity pool had some garbage and either a frozen drink or some other mysterious fluid in it (close to La Trajinera). It looked really unappealing. We stopped going to that pool after that.


Hope this helps! Overall, we had lots of fun!! We just had high expectations as this is a 5 star and have been to 5 stars before. I still believe this has the potential to be a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank DOB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear DOB30,

Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Xcaret México. Thanks for your visit and enjoyed the wonderful surroundings of a Hotel that no doubt will become the signature of The Mayan Riviera.

We are very proud of the standard of service and facilities that we provide, ensuring each guest who visits has the most memorable of experiences. We were so pleased to read your comments about the facilities and to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our enviable eco touristic approach.

In regard to our beach, as part of our efforts to maintain an eco-integrative design, we have designated palapas at the coves area for guests to enjoy, whilst the beach remains intact and pristine, without any alteration to its unique beauty.

We are terribly sorry, to say the least, for having left you with such a bitter memory of our bespoke food quality of which we are so very proud. We will certainly share your feedback with our food & beverage team. Rest assured that what you experienced is certainly not a representation of our service standards and we truly regret not being able to fulfill your expectations.

At Hotel Xcaret México we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, which in this case it appears we have failed to deliver. Despite having several options for dinner in order enjoy a lovely evening we did miss to fulfill your expectations with the waiting time on our restaurants. We appreciate your most kind feedback and will address it in a timely manner to avoid inconveniences in the future.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to visit us again. Should you decide to come back to this destination, please do not hesitate to contact us through this media, as we will be delighted to arrange every detail of your stay with us, to ensure you take the best of Mexico with you.


Respectfully yours,


Jorge Ducoing.
Hotel Manager.
Hotel Xcaret México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews