We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accomodations, good location for being in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Ranked #95 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having read reviews prior to going on a Living Social trip, we were not surprised with our experience. We requested a quiet room prior to arrival, as the hotel location makes for night noise. Room spacious, clean. Linens desperately need to be replaced, as they are worn and gray.Breakfast average, at best. Staff pleasant and helpful. Deadbolt on our room was broken and never fixed, as was alarm clock. Courtyard charming with cold pool, as sun doesn't shine there. Easy walk to beach, with nice chairs and food service from resort hotel has use of. Location good for walking around town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 177 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

On the 23rd on Jan, our first night at Playa del Carmen, we drank 2 four dollar drinks. We gave them a 20 dollar bill. Their exchange rate was shown as 10.5. That's not great. It should have been 12.5, which most places offered, but oh well. Instead of 12 dollars or else 120+ pesos back, we got 70 pesos back. No amount of arguing helped. When we asked for a pen and paper, they wouldn't give us either, nor would the manager or bartender give us a receipt. That really was double annoying. It was a bad feeling for our first night there. We had stayed at the hotel in 2011, and it was a good stay, but now we won't go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We just stayed at the hacienda real and it was great. The location is excellent, close to the beach and 5th ave. We stayed with our 2 year old daughter and the room was big, clean, and the shower worked great! It is a bit noisy at night but it wasn't that bad because my daughter slept soundly every night

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onetrulove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Everyone complains about the noise. And yes, it is an issue if you are a light sleeper. The first night we arrived we were exhausted from traveling the entire day, but after checking in, and having dinner, we went out to party! By the time we got back to the room we crashed on the beds and didn't wake up until the next morning. You can hear everything that's going on on the hallways and the patio, but if you are as tiered as we were (we had day trips planned everyday!), you won't hear the noise. The beds were a bit hard. I didn't mind the hard beds though. The rooms are a decent size. There is enough storage space in the rooms for all your belongings. The area where the hotel is excellent! You are right in the center of La Quinta and just a block away from the beach. The staff was really friendly and helped us out when we had questions. I would stay here again if there weren't many options of where to stay, but if I go back to Playa, I would try somewhere else just for the sake of trying some other place and not because I did not like this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A few friends and I booked this hotel through Expedia. Upon arrival, we were told our room was unavailable due to bathroom issues. We were given a room at another hotel, which they promised was "just as nice." Of course, it was not. The staff at the other hotel was very nice, compared to this one, but the hotel was a cheap cinderblock kind of motel. After seeing the room, and repeated calls to Expedia (which were consistently dropped, btw), my husband was able to convince Expedia to convince the hotel to find a room. We retrieved our bags and checked in. We were blown away by how nice the Hacienda Real was in comparison. The happiness ended there.

First, our shower smelled of sewage.

Second, the housekeeping (although pleasant) was inconsistent. Most nights the room was cleaned when we were at dinner. We had to ask for, then later just take, towels. We also retrieved our own tissue and toilet paper when needed.

Third, the restaurant staff was unhelpful. We paid for the American Breakfast upgrade. The first morning we arrived around 10 and it was dried up and half missing. The next morning we arrived around 7:30, which I would recommend. This time we had toast and regular sized plates! Service was still slow and I had to flag them down most times.

Fourth, the "BeachClub Access" - I have no idea what that is. Despite the nice web site, the staff speaks little English. They explained where the beach access was (which hotel), but we ended up paying for a spot at a restaurant's beach instead. I am sure we missed out on something, but I could never find out what...

Fifth, the street is very loud. DO NOT STAY HERE if you're a light sleeper. All of the in-town hotels are loud, I am sure.

All in all it was a joke. The only saving graces were that it was inexpensive and the location was convenient. I would never consider "all inclusive" at this place, the local restaurants and bars are great and have good prices and better service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodLovrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#121 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
331 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#144 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
255 reviews
0.4 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
641 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#107 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe

Address: Av. 10 Calle 10 Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $60 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe, is characterized by its colonial style, which makes your stay an unforgettable.A few steps from the hotel, you can enjoy the beautiful 5th Avenue and the Caribbean Sea; Meet our lovely town and we'll do the rest.Our rooms have an elegant, cozy and colonial design emitting a relaxed atmosphere and thanks to our personalized service we exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Real Del Caribe Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing