We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Ticul Hotel by Koox Luxury Collection
Nearby Hotels
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
USD 958*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
USD 285*
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 463*
USD 445*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 374*
USD 281*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 497*
USD 436*
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
USD 277*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 682*
USD 555*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 1,621*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 1,978*
USD 1,780*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 453*
USD 224*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
564
222
53
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
222
53
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrooftop breakfastgreat boutiquebeach clubstreet noisecomfortable bedsevery morningflights of stairsincluded breakfastfresh fruitlocation was perfectsmall poollarge showerwould highly recommend this hotelrestaurants and barsroom numberave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

While we have vacationed in Playa many times, this is our first stay at Casa Ticul. We enjoy staying in north Playa, a more quiet, less frenetic area. We loved this hotel: nice size rooms with fridge & comfortable beds, updated bathroom with waterfall shower, thick towels, his/her bathrobes & slippers - which were a very nice touch. Breakfast,served roof-top, was wonderful, if not on the menu, just ask and they will gladly accommodate. Recommend you take advantage of the complimentary beach passes to Las Palapas, much less noisy and hectic than Mamitas. A convenience store right on the corner sells wine, beer and snacks, the restaurant Kool Fish will deliver food to the rooftop, or poolside making this another unique feature. Staff is friendly and always helpful. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms facing pool - too much morning sun
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Ticul Hotel by Koox Luxury Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Casa Ticul offers from all the amenities required for comfort during your stay.
The advantage of having a variety of restaurants around the hotel to pick one and enjoy a romantic evening on our terrace falita is a detail that is very enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We just got back from a week in Playa del Carmen and we stayed here based on the TripAdvisor reviews. The good reviews area effect our experience. Here are some reasons to stay here:
1) Location! It's on 5ta Avenida, which is the main tourist drag in l,aya del Carmen, but it's at the quieter, less obnoxious end of the street. Bring comfy flip flops or shoes and the walk to the busy end isn't terrible--we did it several times. There's good food nearby, including some tasty restaurants (Pachamama, ComoComo, Luna Maya, Kool Fish, Drupas38, etc.), a cool little craft beer place (The Beer Club), and beach clubs.

2) Breakfast! Many reviews rave about breakfast, and they're right. Three wonderfully friendly women run the rooftop breakfast service. There is fresh squeezed juice, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, and a good selection of breakfast main courses (omelette, pancakes, quesadillas, and a daily special that changes). Don't forget to tip them a little something each time or give them a big tip at the beginning. They deserve it.

3) Helpful concierge/registration staff! The women who rotate at te front desk were helpful. They had good recommendations, helped us rent a car to go to Coba, and always asked us about our day.

4) Free beach club access! We only went to two of the three options. We really liked Las Palapas. They provide towels and there's no drink/food consumption minimum. We got there early and got a good spot and our service was great. We also went to Mamitas, which we didn't like. They don't give you towels here, so you have to vring them from te hotel. Awful service, crowded, loud music... it wasn't at all comfortable or relaxing. Canibal Royale is the third option which we didn't try. It's a good place to go if you want old since they have a minimum food/drink consumption limit.

5) Housekeeping staff! Every day we had a new work of towel art on our bed. It made coming back to the room fun (and funny).

6) Purified water! They have purified water cookers on each floor. You can fill up bottles or your glasses, which saves you money on buying bottled water. Of course, if you want bottled water there's a little store at the end of the block--very close.

7) The door guy! He's always smiling and so polite.

My only complaints are the plumbing and complimentary toiletries.

1) The plumbing. If you try to take a shower when other people on lower floors are also showering, expect no water. The shower went dry when I was trying to shower at 8 one morning.

2) the complimentary shampoo and conditioner aren't great. Bring your own or buy it there. It made my hair feel icky.

Overall this place is great. It's a good home base for exploring this area--close to Tulum, Cozumel, Coba, etc. The rates make it especially great. Casa Ticul was great.

(PS - I have a horrible bed bug phobia and search every room I stay in. I searched our room pretty thoroughly. Our room was bed bug free--found absolutely no physical evidence of them and received no bites over 6 nights in our room--Room #8.)

Room Tip: We stayed in #8, which was quiet but in a higher traffic area. We put the "Rest" sign (it's actually a little doll) on the door each night and the staff and guests seemed to be very considerate of that. Bring ear p,us if you're a light sleeper--there are some noisy birds in this area and they start singing at 5 AM.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnArborVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A few quick notes about this hotel:
- I didn't like that there is no balcony. It's not a big deal but I like to have my own private outdoor space to sit and relax.
- there is no table and chairs in the room. So if you want to order room service from Cool Fish next door or buy a cupcake from 2 doors down, you have to sit on your bed or sit beside each other on the bench or sit out in the pool area. Again, I'd have preferred a small table with 2 chairs to sit and have a dinner and dessert alone.
- the pillows were like bags of peanuts. Not very comfortable. Next time I will bring my own or buy one the first day and leave it behind.
- a little inconsistent in the kitchen. Sometime omelets were done in 5 minutes, sometimes 35. Sometimes the coconut pancakes were and inch thick, other days they were 1/4 inch. And my biggest thing was there was super yummy yogurt (drinks or cups) out the first 2 days we were there then only one other time that week. I would have liked to have one every day (instead we ended up buying them at the corner store the night before and drinking them before we went up to the roof in the morning). Some days there was a cappuccino machine, some days it was gone.

The staff were very nice. The cleaning ladies did a good job on the room (we were always excited to get back and see what sort of animal they made our towels into). And the ladies in the kitchen on the roof were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Ticul Hotel by Koox Luxury Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thanks for your comment!

All the suggestions we consider to be better. I can ensure that your next visit will be more pleasant than the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Much of our friends and families like to do the all-inclusive vacations and rarely leave the resort. We wanted the opposite: a comfortable, affordable hotel with good location to jump off to lots of different activities. Casa Ticul was perfect.

The staff were very helpful, the room was clean, and the price was perfect. Our family spends a lot of time on the south end of 5th ave (low street numbers). We spent nearly our whole week nearer to the north side. What a complete difference. Our side is full of restaurants with very high ratings on trip advisor, lots of small shops, etc. The other side has all the huge stores and the less memorable restaurants. There is no burger king on our side!

Mexican breakfast on the roof was tasty, although a bit inconsistent. A few days they had super tasty yogurt drinks and we really missed the rest of the time where they didn't. Wifi took a bit of doing to get working but once it worked it was great. Front desk staff are there 24/7 and are very eager to help.

The rooms are not huge. I found the feather pillows uncomfortable. The pool is very small, but we are not pool people so that was ok. Basically, it was a great jumping off place and a great place to end up in the evening. So many great restaurants and activities near by.

We would stay here again even if we were not on a budget, but I might splurge and buy a pillow at Mega to be more like home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Ticul Hotel by Koox Luxury Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

As you say, is an advantage to stay in a small hotel where you get the option to choose a new restaurant on Fifth Avenue.

Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Central but quiet at night. Close to the beach (passes for 3 different beach clubs). Very confortable bed and well equiped bedrooms. Excellent breakfast on the nice rooftop terrace. Always smiling staff ready to help at any time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zorripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews