We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing but dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #61 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing but dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very nice. No night life. Rooms and service are great. Food is good.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were be good. We got a mangrove jr.. suite and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,961
    1,193
    463
    216
    248
See reviews for
2,467
1,550
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband, sister in law and I visited this resort in Feb 2012. The whole resort is beautiful and very clean. Food and service was great. The outdoor restuarants were excellent as were the specialty buffets. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location close to Playa del Carmen is a plus. It's very easy to get to the shops and the beach. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at La Harencia residence club at the Hacienda Tres Rios recently and had a truly wonderful experience. We had booked this by doing a trade through The Registry Collection using some of our fractional ownership time. We've come to expect first-class accomodations through The Registry and this was no exception. From the moment we arrived, where we were met by our butler (no normal check-in for us), who personally walked us to our unit, while pointing out the facilities of the resort, to our own personal "check in" handled by the butler (who was actually one of a team of 3, comprised of Julio, Francisco and Benito), they catered to our every need. An example was when they came in with a larger refrigerator on a dolly to give us some more room to store the food we had brought. Since the resort had just converted from being strickly all-inclusive to all-inclusive optional and we were there that way, the units weren't really set up for someone who wanted to use the kitchens and actually prepare a few meals, so our butlers merely provided the means for us to do so, bringing in the fridge, cooking utensils, dishes and silverware.

La Harencia is a separate building from the rest of the resort and is the only one with butler service. On the top of the building is an open sun deck with 2 hot tubs, numerous lounges, tables and chairs. There is a great view of the property from up there, in fact, some may be happy to get their sun and r and r up there and never even go to the beach.

The rest of the resort is beautiful! One small negative is that the pools, along with the hot tubs were not very warm and the water on the beach is a bit dirty-looking as there is a lot of organic material due to the discharge from the 3 rivers emptying into the ocean on the property. On the plus side, these 3 rivers connect to a number of "cenotes" upstream and the cool, clear water in them is fun to swim and snorkel in. It makes for a unique experience so don't miss it. The beach itself is very nice with numerous beds with sheets and pillows for those who want them. We also took advantage of the complimentary use of the catamarans and kayaks, which were a lot of fun when exploring the rivers and cenotes.

The food in the numerous restaurants on the property was quite good, in general. We did have a bad experience in the eurasian restaurant one night, but management did what they could to make it right by picking up our dinner tab at the Mexican gourmet restaurant a few nights later. The staff at the resort is as good as you'll find, from the waiters to the beach attendants to the concierges. All just want you to have the best time there and return again and again! Did I mention our butlers? Oh yeah! Muchas gracias Julio, Francisco y Benito!!!
You guys are the BEST!

Room Tip: Try to book La Harencia residence club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoyScoutBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Spent a week with my husband. Nice, quiet, clean, good pools. Lots of chairs. The resort itself is very unique. Snokling, kayaking in the cenotes. Bike riding tour was good. Not much for nightlife. One bar open at night with some different activities but they have a beautiful beach and should have an outdoor bar with dancing or activities. If you are taking your kids that are 16-24 they are not gonna be very happy with you. One thing we never saw advertized or told about thru the hotel is the "Sense Adventure" it is right there at the hotel and a very unique experience. Definately do that. I would recommond this place one time because it is very unique.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which wasn't much of a view. Nice balacony but no chairs/table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaddyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just spent 12 days at Hacienda Tres Rios, and are still raving about how they treated us.
Friendly, helpful staff, clean surroundings, excellent food, nice selection of restaurants to try as many times as you want. Ours was an all inclusive, and that included room service and bar fridge. Service was above & beyond any other place we've been. Italian restaurant the best, lobster dinner was fabulous, enjoyed the outdoor restaurant & pizza. Had to do the time share which got to be a bit much after the 2nd & 3rd person, but no change in service if you didn't buy. We liked the ecological things they are doing, as well. A better mix of times for scheduled events would be nice & entertainment needs work, but a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Jr. suite next to the mango trees, so no people around. Close to adult pool and lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.4 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
2.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
9.7 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
5.3 km away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,765 reviews
5.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $280 - $850
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing