We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this hotel.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I are siting on the balcony of this hotel drinking wine (well I am, he is drinking Corona) as I write this review. We were actually looking for a differant hotel I researched when we ra across this one. That hotel was rated #1 on this website. We saw the oiutside and peaked in, we instantly fell in love with the place. We really like the Spanish decor, oil paintings on the walls on room, no room is the same. The rooms are spaious, the bathrooms are spacious, nicely decorated, very clean, but the customer service is the best hear.

My husband speaks spanish and we have been traveling throughout Mexico, so it was nice to hear English. Oh, we did check out the other place and there wasn't even anyone at the front desk???? and, you had to ring a doorbell to get in????

They have a laundry service, (a lady that will take and do your laundry), wifi (as I am writing this on their balacony), a nice breakfast, travel agent, and they give lot of free information. All this at a affordable price We love love love this place.

Room Tip: Great for honeymooners or couples that want a nice quiet place to stay that is close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sinder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    132
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
97
221
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you are looking for a taste of Mexico but with all the North American amentities - then Hetel del Peregrino will not disappoint! We were fortunate enough to have a lovely 3 night stay in this GEM of a hotel. It has been recently updated, but without losing the Old Colonial Mexican charm! Our room was large and extremely clean and quiet! Breakfast in the morning had lots to offer and was a nice way to meet fellow travellers!
There is a real pride of ownership in this hotel! Jim the owner has a great energy and real sense of great customer service. Through the hotel's relationship with "Mayan Ecotours" we were given an outstanding off the beaten path tour with Connie Delgado (owner)! If you are staying a few days a cenote tour with Connie is a must! Jim and Connie also gave us excellent restaurant recommendations! (the ones not is the guide books!!)
Without a doubt I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Excellent hotel. Things that I really liked about it included;
Owned and managed by a Canadian and there is a good understanding of the expectations that a North American or European traveller will have. The rest of the staff are local residents who are very friendly and communicate well.
The hotel is in a great spot. Within walking distance to the city center, but located in a much quieter area.
Hotel has been totally renovated and the room that we had (#14) was very spacious and everything appeared to be new. Room included TV, safe, air conditioning, ceiling fan. Room was very clean and the cleaning service over the 3 nights that we were there was excellent.
The breakfast that was included was very good with fresh fruit, cereal, cheese, juice, cereal, etc. Breakfast area was a great place to relax and meet and converse with other guests.
Although there was no pool at the hotel, we had free access to a great pool a couple of blocks from the hotel (about a 5 minute walk).
I usually don’t arrange tours through hotels, but this hotel has a great working relationship with a fabulous tour company (Mayan Ecotours) and they were able to arrange a couple of great tours for us that were spectacular. Hotel also had all the information required to do your own exploring of the area.
It was our first trip to Merida, but are planning on going back again in the near future as 3 days were not enough. Will definitely be staying at Peregrino again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel was as beautiful as the pictures. Staff were very friendly. We were a family of four and the bedroom had a perfect size for us, very clean. The bathroom was charming. The hotel offers breakfast as well as a kitchen to share which was very welcome. They have a cute patio upstairs to watch the sunset and relax. We had a great time. It is located near the centre of town and paseo de Montejo, perfect location to go to either.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galai2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a beautiful sunny little hotel with friendly staff and only minutes away from the main square in Merida. Our room was a double en suite with air conditioning, bedroom was big and the bathroom lovely, new looking and very clean! The hotel has colonial character and the breakfast area is a partially covered courtyard with a self-serving kitchen and a lovely breakfast spread. It's very convenient for guest to mingle and chat about their travels. We really loved our stay there and I hope maybe someday we'll be back! A big thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.6 km away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#34 of 103 in Merida
684 reviews
0.5 km away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.5 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Property: Hotel del Peregrino
Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#9 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price range (per night): $58 - $87
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing