We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luscious food, elegant setting - just the best of the Yucatan!”
Review of Kuuk

Kuuk
Reserve with OpenTable
Kuuk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 917 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 70
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Food & Wine Magazine - 100 Restaurants in the world worth a pilgrimage 2013 Travel & Leisure Gourmet Awards 2013 - No. 1 New Restaurant in Mexico Travel & Leisure Gourmet Awards 2014 - Nominated to Best tasting menu in Mexico Travel & Leisure Gourmet Awards 2014 - Nominated to Best art of plating Forum Gastronomic Barcelona 2014 - Invited to talk about "Yucatan gastronomy" In only three years, Eduardo Rukos and Chef Pedro Evia have developed a gastronomic sanctuary in the city of Merida using local mexican ingredients mixed with modern cuisine technology in the search for a new Mexican food style.
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Such a wonderful meal last night at Ku'uk. I went for the first time in 2016 and I think it's gotten even better. Don't miss this chance to experience high style approach to all the floors and foods used in Yucatan cuisine. This is Chef Pedro Avila Puerto's flagship, cooking laboratory and training ground for a new wave of Mexican/Yucatan food. He flies all over the world these days giving cooking demonstrations, but is frequently in this restaurant, his home base. We had the tasting menu and recommend it. Many times tasting menus are overwhelming and overdone. I had one recently that was 17 courses and just couldn't enjoy the last 1/3 of them. This one is just right - not too heavy, showing off a wide variety of dishes in innovative ways, well balanced, and finishes with a bang in a series of desserts. At the current exchange rate with the dollar, Ku'uk is a four star steal worthy of any great US or European city. So treat yourself and don't miss it. We'll be back! Very romantic too and great for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DCtravelin'girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erukos, Propietario at Kuuk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you so much for all your kind words ! Pedro sends his greetings and we hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

We arrived from New York to Merida and we looked for the best restaurant in the city, we arrived in Kuuk and we impregnated the beautiful old house, the wonderful dishes, the combination of flavors, the impeccable service, all very kind and trained. we had an incredible experience that I will never forget, I hope to return soon to try their new tasting menu. I recommend a lot of Kuuk at the end they give you a tour and they tell you the history of the house and the laboratory. simply unbelievable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank charlesjameson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The new tasting menu brings flavor to a different and enhaced level. Perfection in service and wine pairing are equal to the great conception of this avantgarde mexican restaurant. Please, do yourself a favor and ask for the creolle pig with local fruits. Tender as foie gras with a crunchy skin that you will remember for the rest of your life. Not expensive but not cheap considering a dinner for two for around $140 usd including a 20% tip. Certainly a place to visit in yucatan.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

A fabulous experience! The staff is very kind and attentive. It was quite a gastronomical experience! Delicious and hearty portions with a molecular gastronomy spin! The cocktails are delicious and finely crafted. Kuuk is a must visit for a nice dinner when in Merida!

Thank Moody_Foodie_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erukos, Propietario at Kuuk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review in trip advisor. We hope that we exceeded your expectations and, Please, come back again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

It had been three years since we first experienced and reviewed Kuuk. At that time, the restaurant was quite a distance from Central Merida but managed to not only survive but flourish. It moved to the heart of Merida into a stunning 19th century mansion near the Monumento a la Patria on Paseo Montejo. With its stellar location and continued excellent food, we again enjoyed an amazing dining experience. Unfortunately, rain dampened our evening a bit but did not adversely affect the friendly, attentive service. Although the atmosphere should have been captivating, we actually found the new dining areas to be somewhat sterile and cold and missed the intimacy and more romantic ambience of the original restaurant. Even so, Kuuk in Merida ranks amongst some of our finest dining adventures.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erukos, Director General at Kuuk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review and visiting us again. Please, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuuk also viewed

 

Been to Kuuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing