We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Xcanatun
Nearby Hotels
USD 106*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luz En Yucatan(Merida)(Great Value!)
USD 58*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 115*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique(Merida)
USD 158*
USD 138*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mision de Fray Diego(Merida)(Great Value!)
USD 83*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Del Gobernador(Merida)(Great Value!)
USD 46*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 246*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 253*
USD 244*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
182
34
15
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
34
15
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde piedradeluxe suitecovered terracemerida areagrounds are gorgeouslocated minutesrestaurant staffshort driveprivate tourspacious bathroommodern amenitiessmall hotelpoolshaciendaluxuryyucatanmexico
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Hacienda Xcanatun was remanded to us by a local friend. It is just north of the town( 150 pesos by taxi) and is an old converted hennequin factory. The owner's old house now houses the best 4 suites ( around US$ 500 a night). They are large an elegantly traditional. The grounds are tropical, have 2 delightful pools in the gardens, an excellent spa for massage( my wife went) . The hacienda also stages occasional cultural/musical events. One night there was a tango evening in the old chapel!
The restaurant and bar are excellent, as are all the staff. Good varied choices of food, local and international.The best is sitting on the covered terrace in the gardens.Very romantic. Highly recommended as the best place to stay and eat around Merida!

Room Tip: one of the master suites in the old owners mansion, near the chapel.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulbV6804MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Our friends suggested we try out Xcanatun. They've been there before and we were very interested. The hotel is beautiful, an old Hacienda coverted into a luxury hotel and restaurant. We went for lunch and my expectations were surpased with the excellent service and food. I have had great meals in my travels, the Xcanatun would be at the top of the list. The dress code was casual and the cost was well below what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal, thank you for a lovely review! And please thank your friends who recommended us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Jorge & Christine Buenfil have created an absolute oasis of magnificent perfection from the remains of an 18th century hacienda of the era when sisal “Green Gold” flourished...The hacienda is a short drive out of central Merida and once you arrive it is very difficult to even think about leaving...With two beautiful pools, spectacular tropical landscaping, a delicious restaurant, stunning spa, a staff that continually amazes with their competent warm charm, unique birds singing and endless feasts for the eyes this hacienda is completely unique...If they have a workout room I have no idea where it is and I hope it doesn’t exist...The Hacienda Xcanatun is to be enjoyed to it fullest excess of lavish decadence...relax and let your hosts surround you with their cultured good taste...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Surfbarrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

How nice of you to take the time to write such a glowing review! We love it when guests appreciate our labor of love. And no, no work out room! We are a Spa place, not a treadmill place! Please come back and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We had high expectations based on positive reviews and they were fulfilled. The hacienda is 20 minutes from downtown Merida but feels in another world. Extremely lush and lovely grounds with resident cuati and iguanas and glorious birds. The extraordinary jungle sounds and flower scented air transport you immediately upon arrival. The food is quite good and very graciously served both on the terrace and in the main dining room. There are two pools both of which could perhaps use a bit more attention but the main pool in particular is a treat, large enough to do laps and beautiful in its jungle setting. Pool area maintenance could be improved. Rooms are comfortable, lovely decor, a/c works very well, also wifi. Easy to get to the major sites from here and staff arranges everything. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Merida! It's expensive but well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 102 is a special gem, if pricey.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stevelans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed supper at Hacienda Xcanatun last Wednesday before a marvellous tango music concert and returned for lunch today with our cousins, visiting from England. We had the same waiter both times - very professional, and with a good sense of humour! Everything - appetizers, drinks, main courses and deserts - was wonderful. After lunch Fabian and Giovanni showed us around a section of the hacienda, with informative and entertaining commentary. We'll return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank moleskinMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews