We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
212
258
95
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
258
95
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square master suite pool area central location lovely hotel beautiful courtyard old world excellent location historic center sized bed buffet breakfast stayed nights santa lucia park visiting merida coffee maker small pool block
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We spend one night here since we have an early flight . I choose this hotel because it was close to the center of Merida. The staff it was welcoming and helpful. We have a short tour of Merida , a swim in the pool and a walk to S.Lucia where we have a great dinner. Nice hotel in a budget. There is a restaurant inside in case you dont feel to walk...Room is clean and with the basic amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I have stayed in two different rooms at Casa del Balam because the first room I was given was awful.
I had initially booked the most expensive room (Master suite) and that was a big mistake. These rooms are in the oldest part of the building, they may have charm but no noise insulation, very dark and humid. Also no hot water in the room.

I was going to leave the hotel but their front desk staff offered to move me to a smaller room on the 4th floor that instead was good, with a lot of light and double glazing for noise reduction (unfortunately none of the windows open so you need the AC on 24hours). All the rooms have this problem, indeed all rooms have windows facing the street and it is a vey busy area(calle 60 x 57).

However I also found many positive points:
- confortable firm beds
- clean rooms
- the front desk & concierge staff are very nice and helpful
- decent free wifi (both coverage and speed)
- free mineral water daily in the room

Considering the average quaity of Merida's Hotels I think that Casa del Balam it is still a good choice if you have a decent room on the higher floors. Ask them to show you the room before committing to stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: choose carefully and dont get the rooms in the old side of the building (master suites)
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayTripperLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Great location in Old Merida, near the town square. It's a renovated historic building, with all the style and "cool factor" that goes along with it. Don't expect brand-new and perfect everything and you will not be disappointed. Great value for the money, friendly staff, parking, and a pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasO2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

very good location in Merida centre, 300mt from Cathedral, nice place with a beautiful patio , friendly service, breakfast not perfectly organised , in general historical hotel with a good value for money for a suite room

Room Tip: internal room for a good sleep
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fulvio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

A good hotel, with a nice English Breakfast, and an OK restaurant/bar with a rather uninspired menu. The food was OK but the room showed some wear. The Central location is excellent with many surrounding restaurants offering more quality.
Finding the parking lot is a challenge, I suggest that you stop outside and ask.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews