We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
215
260
98
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
260
98
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square master suite pool area central location street noise lovely hotel mexican hotel excellent location beautiful courtyard historic center old world sized bed buffet breakfast stayed nights santa lucia park visiting merida small pool
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The hotel is well located near the city centre and is clean with well stocked bathrooms and large living spaces.
However a few things disappointed me:
1. The air conditioning, although effective, is very noisy at night and can impede sleep.
2. The room does not have a room safe. Especially risky as the doors have conventional keys that can be copied.
3. The lifts are adequate, old fashioned, and not fast.
4. The "American breakfast" is meagre. The egg choice is scrambled or fried, neither of which is done well in this part of the world as they are too soggy when served. A request for an omelette instead was not received well by the waiter.
5. The minibar was sealed with cable ties. Although we could have broken those ties so that we could store our own drinks in there we chose not to as we anticipated that we could be hassled when we left.

The hotel as not a disaster but certainly a disappointment, especially with its understrength security for guests valuables.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We spent 8 nights at this hotel and fell in love with it. The staff go above and beyond to help you. A special thank you to Diego for all his help and advice. Everything can be organised from the hotel, whether it be a tour or restaurant booking. Not all staff speak fluent English but they will try their hardest and communication doesn't seem to be a problem. There is a cafe attached to the hotel, although it is operated as a separate enterprise. However, breakfast is organised in conjunction with the hotel, served in either the beautiful courtyard or in the cafe and is very good. The meals at the café are affordable with a good menu and excellent service. Thank you to Roberto, Sebastian and the girls for their attention to us.

The hotel has a charming, authentic décor with several beautifully decorated areas to escape to. The pool area is a tranquil escape to cool off. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The air conditioning is very effective. Beds were super large and very comfortable. The only small issue being that the if you have a room facing the main street as we did, the lights from the street shine through the curtains and then reflect in the mirror on the opposite wall, so some thicker curtains would make a difference. Shower was hot and strong and the mini bar well stocked with complimentary water each day. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the café is always open. Wifi is free and seemed to work well. There is a lovely business centre in the hotel where the signal was particularly strong.

Location is just a pleasant stroll to everything within the city and the people of Merida are always friendly, always helpful. Casa del Balam is a beautiful hotel with truly lovely staff and décor and excellent value for an inexpensive, authentic taste of Merida.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinemayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Love the location, the ambiance, the terraces and the staff! Great hotel in Centro Merida. Parking and close to absolutely everything! Great pool area and indoor garden area. Good choice for anyone new or returning to Merida! Staff were very helpful. Taxis or horse drawn carriages available right outside the door!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Merida was a wonderful change from Cancun. We took a family member's advice and booked with Hotel Casa del Balam. We had originally booked one room, but decided at the last minute to take two rooms. No problema. The front desk staff were very gracious and helpful and made our short visit delightful. The restaurant attached to the hotel served wonderful salads and very interesting appetizers.

Room tip: The upper room was wonderfully quiet and the view of the city was splendid
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Danelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

3 of us stayed at this charming hotel within walking distance to the main square and many other squares with lots of activity. Music on sat and Sunday nights plus folk lore dancing on Monday nights

This hotel was very clean, all staff so friendly and helpful, beautiful garden courtyard where breakfast was served which was very good

Adjacent restaurant has great food and reasonably priced.

Walled in sunning area with pool with lounges and tables and chairs

Unique hotel well worth a visit

Room tip: 10 minute cab ride from the ado bus station
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sassPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadelbalam, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa del Balam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear sassPeterborough:
Thank you so very much for this lovely and precise comment. It was a pleasure to have you all. Thanks for your preference, for your kindness and your trust, we're very glad to get to know that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Hopefully we'll see you on your next trip to Merida... it'll be wonderful to say hi ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews