We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
93
145
49
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
145
49
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorold world charmhotel builtgreat locationlovely old hotelantique furnitureice machineair conditioninglittle rough around the edgesseparate sitting areaattached restaurantearly checkhistorical hotelcouple of nightsmain plazasmall bathroomseen better days
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

This is a nice hotel for the price, it is clean and right in the historic center of Merida.
Staff is courteous, I am sure you will enjoy it.
We spent a week and have no complaints. I would recommend you choose a side room away from the park and street as it is much quieter.
Other than that, I am sure you will enjoy it. This is not a modern hotel, it is about 100 yrs old and you have to accept that not everything is updated, but it will serve you well...like I said, great place without breaking the bank.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank professionalservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel was original and Historic , beautiful wood work thoroughout and quiet. It's just a couple blocks from the main plaza. We felt comfortable walking around the area. Room was clean and staff was very pleasant and welcoming.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile


I just wanted to extend a warm and heartfelt THANK YOU to the management and staff of El Gran Hotel of Merida.

The hospitality I received, even before I arrived made me delighted that I chose El Gran to celebrate my birthday.

I absolutely loved that front desk staff who were so professional, attentive and caring.

Know that if I am ever in Merida again that I will absolutely definitely 110% return to El Gran and hopefully stay in the same wonderful room.

Blessings, Teresa

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank spachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

In the center of it all! Very nice colonial / antique style hotel and super quiet considering its perfect location! No restaurant or pool within but some great places right next door ! But room service is not available of course.... beware no elevator if you are on upper floor. But grand staircase makes the walk up grandiose !

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The El Gran is a fabulous old building. The earliest hotel built in this old city. Established in the 1700's. Old style tile and wood throughout this hotel. There is a great little square/park just outside the main doors. I gave it a four because it can be a little on the noisy side with early traffic. Great prices!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandTravelAkronOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews