We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
218
266
135
36
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
266
135
36
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location clean rooms nice hotel close to the main square parking lot is would stay here again stayed two nights double room few blocks central location pesos cons pros maintenance
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel is well situated close to the Zocolo. It does good buffet breakfasts for 125 with a decent variety of food. The double room I had was small with an internal window. The bathroom was tiny too and the shower desperately needed replacing as it was covered in lime scale. The only bathroom stuff was cheap soap and tiny sachets of shampoo. The room was very noisy

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColonialMid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Neil,

I appreciate the time it took to send us your feedback about your last stay at the Hotel Colonial, receiving feedback from our guests is of the utmost importance as it allows us to take action to improve our services and facilities.

We are particularly pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast at our restaurant and our beautiful location. I’m sorry to read that our rooms weren’t what you were expecting.

Best regards, Hotel Colonial Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We had a incredible experience with the guy at the reception, Javier Is very professional and very attentive and interested in his work. Without him, we would not have found a room in Merida... The ubication Is amazing, very close to the downtown and the restaurants, very confortable and clean!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Trip_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColonialMid, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Trip_Sommelier

It is a pleasure for the Hotel Colonial to hear this kind of comment. It means our guest recognize our effort to give them quality service every time they visit us.

Our great location is a real plus for our guests. We are very privileged to have people on our staffwho love their work. Thank you for recognizing their servicie. We will share your kind words with Javier.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Dirty hotel, no clean rooms. Very unattentive personnel. Worst hotel during our tour. The location is good in the centre, should be a nice hotel. Rooms are big enough, airco is functioning. But we didn't feel welcome.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rinus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

Dear Rinus W,

Thanks for sharing with us about your last stay. I am terribly sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the situations you have mentioned, about the staff and cleaness, our main commitment with our guests is to be the best hospitality option in the City.

I am very sorry for these situations and I am sure that we will follow up on each of the points that we mention and I will send it to each department head so that we avoid this kind of incident. Please keep my personal information and on your next visit I would like to attend to you personally.

Cordially,

Estefania Marrufo
Guest Relations
estefania@hotelcolonial.com.mx




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The main attraction for the hotel is the location. It is just a few blocks away from the most highlights in the city center of Merida. There are also many restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel has a pool and a restaurant for breakfast. The staff was friendly. The rooms are simple/basic, the bathroom was rather small.

If the price is reasonable, the hotel is a good choise. Do not have too high expectations of the hotel itself (from a European perspective).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2017

Hi! Thanks for staying with us recently, we are glad you had a pleasant stay.

Our goal is to make our clients happy so we'll use your feedback to create a better experience for everyone.

We really appreciate the time you took to help us improve and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Nice location, easy check in. Room was fine, clean. Bathroom cramped and on the worn side. Sink in the room proper. Not fancy, but neither is the price. Good for a night or two. (We stayed two). No complaints. Breakfast downstairs is a buffet, rather expensive compared to the other cafes on the street offering breakfast. I'm sure we did not eat our money's worth. Still, convenient, pleasant. Great restaurant just across the street serving local/Mayan dishes.

Room Tip: Best to check if the bathroom suits your needs before you settle in. Some are cramped.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes,

Gracias por compartir todos sus comentarios le agradecemos reconocer la limpieza de nuestras habitaciones y nuestra calidad en el servicio .

En referencia a neustro desayuno bufet estamos seguros que tenemos el mejor precio dentro del centro con gran variedad y buen sazón comparado con los pocos negocios que tienes este mismo servicio.

Esperamos poder servirle nuevamente en su próxima visita a nuestra Ciudad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews