We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
184
186
105
50
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
186
105
50
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews protected parking front desk staff would stay here again room key few blocks hotel is located ado bus pool area three blocks breakfast was included the air conditioning pesos plaza pillows mosquitoes maintenance centro
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had a comfortable stay at the Maria del Carmen--nothing exceptional, but the bed was fine and the hotel fairly quiet (even though we overlooked the pool). The air conditioning blew directly on the bed, which required me to turn it off and on throughout the night, not really conducive to a good night's sleep. The breakfast selection was okay--no fresh-cooked eggs, lukewarm offerings in chafing dishes, sometimes limp fruits, and waitstaff that did just that--waited around unwilling to even offer coffee until they were summoned.

That said, the hotel is located just a few blocks from the center of town, and it was a fairly easy walk to restaurants and museums.

Room tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are newer and less run-down.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_MariadelCarmen, Gerente at Hotel Maria del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Leslie;

We appreciate the time given to send us your comments, which help us to take areas of opportunity to improve. It is our pleasure to know that the location of the hotel was very helpful for you. We hope that in your next visit to Merida you will allow us to receive you again so that you can see the progress we have made.

Best Regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We visited some folks that were staying in this hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful why we tried to connect with our friends. We did have a little to drink in the gazebo bar area near the pool which was fine. On another day we had a basic breakfast (eggs, bacon, toast). Service was good and meal was relatively inexpensive and tasted basically ok. Nothing fancy.

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This hotel is a 2* one, not 4*. The smell in the room was terrible. We had a room with windows that you can not opened so you can not refresh the air in the room. I asked to change the room, of course it was not possible. People at the restaurant do not speak English so you can not to them to ask want you want. You can also hear all your neighbours talking.The location is ok but look for another hotel in the area.

Room tip: room with windows that you can open
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank mitjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Stayed for 28 days at this property, room was very comfortable and clean, staff was amazing from check in to check out, so friendly and helpful every time you met a staff member they always had a smile and greeting for you. Bell Men were very helpful with any information you needed as well as front desk staff. Waiters and bar staff always friendly and provided good service. Breakfast was included in our stay and was very good. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay near Centro.

Room tip: Pool view rooms are quiet and away from street noise.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our complaint though was our check in experience. Just arrived from walking from the ADO Bus depot...hit and tired. Upon arriving were unsure of our reservation, we showed them our confirmation. She said wait 5 minutes...so we waited. There was no one there..a few minutes later a bus load of people arrived, they check them all in before us. After wuite a looong time, they say, oh here is your room key.
Get to our room, air wasn't working. We go down, tell front desk and leave to get dinner. Upon returning we inquire about the air in our room, Johnny says let me come with you to make sure it is working. It was working...Johnny was great. He was always ready to help when needed.
Besides these things, grwat hotel. Yes, could use some basic maintenance and repair. But very, very clean. Large room, lovely shower, comfortable beds and pillows.
Only a few blocks from downtown, on bus route.
We had dinner at the hotel retaurant most nights, enjoyed the happy hour 2 cocktails for price of one, 5 beers for $8. Amazing.
Loved the pool, great way to spend a few hours.
The staff at this hotel are awesome. From front desk to the cleaning staff. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you all for making our stay in Merida enjoyable and fun.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews