We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
298
339
125
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
339
125
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel breakfast buffet standard hotel main plaza water pressure felt very safe within walking distance would recommend this hotel to anyone coffee pot other travelers rooms are comfortable downtown merida restaurants and shops stayed two nights three blocks plenty of hot water air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

This is the 3rd year I have taken a student group of 10-15 to the hotel and it has consistently been a pleasure. The staff works very well with the students on their questions and helps them determine activities they can do during their free time. Our students are in social work and are engaged in visiting many different programs throughout the city. They show a lot of concern and care for each of the student and myself.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, General Manager at Gamma Merida El Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can serve you again in the near future.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Very nice rooms, great service, great food and perfect location. Right in the heart of downtown and 3 blocks away from Plaza Grande. Great view of the city and had a very nice pool and gym area. A very pretty place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiemcguire0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, General Manager at Gamma Merida El Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
we hope we can serve you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I stayed six nights in an eighth floor studio and was satisfied with the hotel.

Fantastic location near everything you might need. Paseo de Montejo is a fancier area but I enjoyed being right in the heart of downtown and the Paseo is an easy walk.

Negatives:

Buffet breakfast is good but a bit pricey ($11) unless you eat a huge breakfast.

Room a bit musty. It's an old hotel.

A bit noisy at times with street noise and other guest noise.

Positives:

Great bed
Great shower
Great view from balcony
Great location three blocks from Plaza Grande
Good services
Good elevators
Nice pool and gym

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, General Manager at Gamma Merida El Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope we can serve you again soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Dont stay at the GAMMA MERIDA, customer service does not exist. There are more hotels at the downtown area. With much better service. The people at the front desk are too young to understand the importance of the customer service concept, dont waist your happy time at this place

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 248mauriciol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Gerente at Gamma Merida El Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Once again, Thank you for your coments and once again, I am sorry that you did not bring your coupon with you in order to get a free night with a promotiional rate. We had the flexibility to allow you to look for it and send it to the hotel for the money to be reimbursed, we are in the process of doing that. I am sure you understand that the Front Desk Staff was only informing you about the fact and our Manager on Duty spoke to you in order to explain and offer a solution while you were at the hotel. We are sorry for the inconveniences. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We had a room on the third floor which had been booked by our tour company, and we're pleased to find we had a unit with a large bedroom and also a separate lounge.
The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, General Manager at Gamma Merida El Castellano, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews