We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vacation from Our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Merida
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 15 February 2012

After a particularly disastrous beach rental, we needed a couple of days of luxury and pampering, so we booked into the Hyatt Regency Hotel. We got what we wanted! We had an excellent room and everything worked flawlessly. We were treated well by the staff. Our reservation included their breakfast buffet and every morning we were very pleased. I would strongly recommend making a reservation that includes breakfast.
The location of the hotel is excellent. You can easily become well acquainted with the restaurants and museums on the Paseo.
It was a good experience, but with a slight downside. If you need to use electronic devices, be ready to pay a daily rate for each device. We travel with iPhones, i Pad and a computer so we were shocked when the receptionist told us there would be a daily usage charge for each device.
Overall, a very good experience with one downside.

Room Tip: Excellent city view from upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 319 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Hyatt of Merida is a great place to start a trip to this area - located very close to the center but still quiet and restful. Their bedding, mattresses and bedrooms are among the most comfortable in the downtown area. Sometimes we go just for the breakfast buffet, with wide assortment of Mexican and European specialities, fruits, pastries and juices in a lovely setting, very good service and incredibly reasonable price. Has a big pool. Very experienced and friendly staff. Just don't get so comfortable that you don't go out the door and experience Merida. A very high quality hotel, and very popular with Mexican visitors from around the country.

Across the street at the Fiesta Americana mini-mall is a wide selection of tours, rental cars and good quality shops, and of course Sanborns where you can buy anything including a pharmacy. If they don't have it, try the really good Wal-Mart's a few minutes further on. Also walking distance to La Pigua, one of the best seafood restaurants in town where you should go for afternoon lunch at 2 or later, not in evening (by tradition that's when seafood restaurants here serve their big meal).

Room Tip: Ask to be as high up as possible for the views of Merida, a very flat city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCtravelin'girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent our vacations there during the month of December, when the city is very busy and the hotels are full. The attention that we received was very good and all the problems were solved immediately. The bed was very confortable, the room was very nice and clean. The location is close to Paseo de Montejo. The avenue has so many things to visit like the old and big houses, the Museum of Antropology and the hotel Rosas and Xocolate. We walked from the hotel to down town Merida and also we rented a bicycle to go there. The city is very safe. In Paseo Montejo you can visit the Museum of Anthropolgy, Hotel Rosas and Xocolate and the mansion. Starbucks is 5 minutes walking and the tourist office is also walking distance towards the street of Paseo Montejo. The stop from the tour bus (turibus) is half block away from the hotel. Chili's is infront, Sanborns and Los Almendros restaurant.
We had a very romantic trip and the staff helped us to make it possible.

Room Tip: with a view from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Hyatt Regency was an outstanding hotel. The staff was attentive, the room spacious and comfortable and the location was ideal for my business purpose of visiting the US Consulate. Merida is really off of the normal tourist track, but offers a glimpse of colonial Mexico. The cathedral is a great piece of architecture with an interesting background story.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

After a disaster of a trip getting to Merida, we finally arrived around 6:30 pm on New Years Eve. Avoid the town of Piste at all costs. We got "shook down" by the police and were delayed for 3 hours until we paid $400 pesos to a lady that said we "hit" her scooter. After the rental car represenative showed up and explained that we could leave if we gave them some money we were free to go. They were all in agreement that no collission happened, but we should pay anyways! You always hear of these things happening in Mexico, but it was surreal when happening to you.

Lobby was nice, the desk people very helpful. Fellow that took us to our room very freindly and helpful too. Told us that they were sold out for the restaurant for New Years Eve party, but we could get some snacks at the bar and then order room service. We took his advice and went to the lobby bar only to be told that the bar was reserved for the pre-party for the guests that were attending the dinner. We were then offered a seat at the main bar in the restaurant to join the other diners. We were so happy to get a table even if it was at the bar. The food was wonderful, the Italian Chef was at the buffet the whole evening, and was very proud of his creations. He's from Rome, and was very gracious. It was nice to have a combination of American, Italian and Mexican Cuisine at the buffet.

The Next morning we decided to stay a second night and booked it through the hotel. We walked all over Centro Merida, down to the Cathedral, had a nice breakfast and came back to the hotel to sit by the pool. Back to Cancun tomorrow, NOT via Piste!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateringqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.1 km away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#39 of 106 in Merida
342 reviews
0.7 km away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#27 of 106 in Merida
456 reviews
1.7 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Merida

Address: Avenue Colon, Esq. Calle 60 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#10 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $110 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Seventeen-story Hotel located in main commerical & tourist district, near archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing