We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
160
160
44
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
160
44
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtelectric skilletthird floorsmall roombalcony overlookingcontinental breakfastconvenience storedirectly across the streetcentral locationminute walk from the ferryno elevatorplaya nortea great place to stayhot waterhidalgo streetair conditioningfour nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We booked a last minute trip to Isla Mujeres in February, our first time there. We finally selected Bucaneros based on the reviews here. You are on the main Ave Hidalgo but we didn't have any issue with noise. The street quiets down a lot by 10pm. It is a family run place that is clean and 10 minutes walk to Playa Norte. It is a great place to stay for the money and be near the beach but also in the center of some of the action. Honestly seeing some of the other places that are on the beach, I think we got a really good deal with Bucaneros. The included breakfast is delicious - Self serve bar with breads, cereals, and a lovely fruit plate prepared fresh for you individually. If you are a traveler expecting to be waited on hand and foot, this may not be the place for you, but if you like a little adventure and the freedom of staff not pouring over you, give Bucaneros a try. Another perk was you could put down a deposit for a safe lock and for beach towels which was super convenient. The rooms had fans and A/C. Thank you Bucaneros! We would definitely return!

Room Tip: We had 1 Superior Room Classic - for 2 people and were on the 2nd floor away from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gobqgo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucaneros H, Propietario at Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we're very happy to know you enjoyed a lot your stay with us, we hope to host your vacations again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Eyder J. Hoth
Hotel Owner Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

The room is not as it look in the pictures...
Even we order the bigger one they didn't even make a try to change for us even after a day or two.
Also the breakfast was very poor ..
Didn't get the value of the price at all....
The staff are not friendly and willing to help at all...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MarinaHadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This was our favourite hotel during our recent trip to PDC/Tulum/Isla Mujeres. We had requested a room with a balcony facing Hidalgo so we could watch the action below, and that is exactly what we got. Jesus at the reception was very friendly, professional and had a great sense of humour! When I pointed out how impressed I was with the fact that they separate their waste and recyclables, he asked if we were from Canada, by any chance :)

We stayed in room # 100 which had a queen bed on the main level and a full bed in the loft area suitable for children as the ceiling there was low. No issue for us since it was just my husband and I. We took THE BEST hot showers in this hotel! Anyone who stayed in budget Mexican hotels knows that hot water and good water pressure are not always guaranteed but our room at Bucaneros came with a rainfall shower head in a very spacious shower stall and the water was always piping hot. After spending four nights in a very expensive "eco friendly" room in Tulum with no hot water, this was heaven. I never wanted to leave the shower :)

Having the balcony was great for people watching. On our last night, there was a mariachi band playing for a large group of Mexican guests right below us for at least an hour. Both the musicians and the guests were really into it. What a great show!

The free continental breakfast was a nice light start to the day and the freshly cut plate of fruit a nice touch. Free water was also available in the hallway right outside our room in a large jug with a spout. Much more eco-friendly than having to constantly buy bottled water, and it saved us a few pesos. The hotel is strictly non-smoking, another feature we loved. We would absolutely stay at Bucaneros again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind street noise, get a room with a balcony facing Hidalgo.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hanka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucaneros H, Propietario at Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hola Hanka B ! we're very glad to know that our service met your expectations, thank you very much for all your great comments, all the team at the hotel hopes to host your vacations again in the future and thank you in advance for recommending us to friends and family.

Best Regards,
Eyder J. Hoth
Hotel Owner Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in 2 different rooms because the bigger one was just free for 3 nights.
Both of the accommodations were cozy, clean and we really felt like home there. The furniture and the decoration are made with love and the staff is very friendly.
The location is great - in between lots of restaurants, shops and a 3 minutes walk away from 2 of the beaches of Isla Mujeres. It's also just a 5 minutes walk away from the ferry terminal, what is great when you arrive with a lot of luggage.
The breakfast was delicious, a lot of healthy and organic stuff and for the ones who like it sweet, there is a great variety of cakes, muffins and donuts :)
We loved our stay here and enjoyed every minute :)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Really really like this hotel. It isn't anything fancy but it's quite comfortable and homey, which was all we needed for our trip. It was the last leg of our Rivera Maya trip and I'm glad we picked this place. Walking by, you might even pass it, we did...several times. It blended in with the rest of the action blur of Hidalgo. Compadres is right downstairs from the hotel for a quick bite to eat. We were able to check in early into our room and received a free upgrade to a room with a kitchnette and Queen Sized bed vs the standard double room, which was a nice surprise. I had fun playing with the Yorkie dog that's in the hotel as well! Wifi was spotty...other than that, I'd totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the back for more quiet
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews