We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
45
73
32
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
73
32
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location communal balcony stayed here for two weeks daily cleaning lots of hot water wifi ac fridge isla centro closet maid
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed at Hotel Marcianito for eight nights in Feb/Mar 2017. Our room was on the third floor, but the stairs were easy to handle and it was open and cool for sleeping. Top marks for cleanliness and comfort. We slept well and enjoyed the location in the centre of El Centro, close to shopping, eating and the beaches, which were only two blocks away to the East and West. Room safe did not work and wifi was best in the reception area. Taxi to go to Punta Sur was very reasonable, as were meals. The grocery store prices were VERY good. We found a little family run restaurant in the next block south called La Casita; the proprietor was very friendly and the meals we had there were excellent at only 100 pesos (around $7.00 Can.). We would certainly stay at Hotel Marcianito again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Marcianito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear guests who read this review:

All rooms have safe boxes. Some of them you can lock the door with the keypad and the others you need to have a key. To get the key you must leave a deposit in the reception. This deposit is returned when you give the key back in the reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

The room was cute and very clean. The safe was broken but everything else in the room worked fine. It's a great location as it is right off Hidalgo street where tons of the restaurants etc are. It is close to a place that had live music until about midnight every night so if you want to go to sleep early it's a bit loud. My room had two nice windows but some of the downstairs rooms only had windows into the hallway and not to the outside. If I went back I would definitely ask for a room not on the first floor.
It was nothing fancy but all I needed. Had a nice stay. :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank brieannemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Marcianito, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Dear guests who read this review,

Some safes in the hotel work with the electronic pad, and the others safe, you need a key to open the safe. The hotel asks for a deposit when a key is needed. This deposit is given back to the guest when the key is returned. Some reviews refer this deposit as unexpected fees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The rooms are not noise dampened, and are adjacent to several bars which play live music until late at night, loudly. There is also carpenters/refurbishers who work until late at night below the outside railing.
The room we stayed in did not have air-condition, but there was a fan which proved only to spread the heat. Some of the other rooms seemed to have air-condition though - double check before.
The sheets were often stained, even when "fresh", and the towels sometimes had holes in them.
The personelle were friendly, however - unable to participate in a fluent English conversation.
Wifi didn't work for us, neither did the room's safe.
On the plus side, the beds were made every day, and the floors were mopped ever other day.
Dissatisfied, we ended up switching to at a neighbouring hotel around the corner which made up for all the lackings mentioned and had better sound isolation despite being closer to the bars, for just a slightly higher price.

Room Tip: You can do better
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, Director General at Hotel Marcianito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

The carpenters/refurbishers was a headache. Finally this hotel was the only one who care about this issue, and this illegal work is over. They are not allowed not work.

About the live music, we often ask the authorities to visit this business and regulate the noise level and time to operate.

The cleaning staff does not speak English, but in the reception you can find someone who speak in English and German.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Marcianito to for 10 nights. Its not luxurious by any means, but all we wanted was a comfortable clean place to sleep after being out all day and this provided that. You get what you pay for. The location was absolutely perfect, little loud on occasion as to be expected but we loved being in the heart of Centro. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and well. Water pressure in the shower was decent, not spectacular. The people who run the place were very nice albeit speaking little to no English, which is a okay with me. When we had concerns we were still able to communicate them and get them solved. The air conditioning was awesome, but loud, so if you're a light sleeper it may bother you. If I were going back on a tight budget like I had before, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This place is satisfactory for the price. A bit noisy. Kids running up and down the hall. Poor hot water, clean. My cellphone came up missing from my room. Not pointing any fingers, but watch your stuff.They have safes in the room, but mine didn't work.

Room Tip: Watch your stuff
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hendrix9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews