We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and fish tacos!”
Review of Maria's Kan-Kin

Maria's Kan-Kin
Ranked #36 of 253 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Mahi fish tacos were great! Cold beer and the guacamole was very good. Quiet and an amazing view and good service. Can't go wrong with this hidden gem.

Thank AmyD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Went and had lunch today and were the only people there.... which was sad and surprising because the food and service were amazing. Will 100% be heading back and hanging out on their beach.

Thank SEwashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This side of the island is lovely, and the ambiance of the restaurant is really nice. The oysters were fresh and good. The food overall was good, but not great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank g-wrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marias K, Gerente at Maria's Kan-Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have had you with us, your opinion is very important to us.
Next time trie de Pica Pica Oysters.
Hope to hear from you soon!
Best Wishes
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I have eaten here several times and have experienced excellence and flat out awful? Even with the new owners of this place the lack of consistency remains. It is quite beautiful but has for as long as I can remember had problems with food, hours of operation, good and outright bad service. It is a shame actually because since the closing of Casa O's, Marias had an opportunity to step in and be one of the islands most romantic and desirable restaurants. It is naturally romantic but can not seem to find management to take this spectacular location to another level.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kipp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marias K, Gerente at Maria's Kan-Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear guest,
Thanks for writing to us, we are having problems with our personal and we know we are having bath service.
We are traing to do our best for you!
Hope to hear from you soon
Best Wishes
Ana ( hotel manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Over two years, we have had three dinners at this small beachfront hotel and restaurant. Service is most friendly and food very good, though it's a limited menu. Excellent fish, well prepared. However, sadly, they appear to keep their inventory of wines at a bare bones level, thus, were given a sample sip - which was great - but could not order the full bottle because they had run out.

During daytime, believe they let you use their lovely cove beach in exchange for a bottle of beer from their bar. Beats the crowds at La Playa del Norte. Try it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marias K, Gerente at Maria's Kan-Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for right us, your opinion is the most important thing for us. We are happy to have had you and to know that you had a good time.
We are making some good changes and we are improving our menus.
We have an Oyster Bar and wind new menu, next time you come ask for PICA PICA OYTER.
Hope to hear from you soon
Ana
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's Kan-Kin also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Maria's Kan-Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing