We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, beautiful views, great house!”
other travellers have booked this property
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
RELAXING POOL WITH INCREDIBLE VIEWS BACKYARD HAMMOCKS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
STUNNING VIEWS OF CANCUN BAY & CARIBBEAN OCEAN from BACKYARD & UPSTAIRS LOUNGE
RELAXING POOL WITH INCREDIBLE VIEWS
BACKYARD HAMMOCKS
LOUNGE BY THE POOL
BACK YARD BLISS
GRILL, BATHROOM AND SHOWER
BACK PATIO VIEW TOWARDS THE GRILL AND OUTDOOR BATHROOM AND SHOWER
BACK PATIO DINNING
BACK PATIO LOUNGE
GAMES, DINNING, AL FRESCO
EXTERIOR
FRONT OF VILLA
FRONT OF VILLA
PRIVATE HACIENDA
FRONT ENTRY
AL FRESCO HACIENDA DINNING
GREAT VIEWS
LIVING-ENTERTAINMENT ROOM
LIVING-ENTERTAINMENT AREA
LIVING ROOM
GAME AND BOOK LIBRARY
GAMES AND BOOK LIBRARY
MORE GAMES
INTERIOR DINNING
PLEASE USE CUTTING BOARDS
KITCHEN
BOTTLED WATER AND COOLER
KITCHEN BAR
MASTER BEDROOM: KING BED, DOUBLE SINK, ENSUITE BATHROOM/SHOWER AND DOUBLE CLOSETS
MASTER BATHROOM AND CLSOETS
NOT A BAD VIEW WHILE BRUSHING YOUR TEETH!
THERE'S AN ADDITIONAL HALLWAY VANITY/SINK
THERE'S AN ADDITIONAL HALLWAY VANITY/SINK
GUEST BATHROOM: TOILET, SHOWER, SINK
GUEST BATHROOM VANITY
GUEST BEDROOM 1 NOW HAS A KING BED, CLOSET, TV, CEILING FAN, AC.
GUEST BEDROOM 2, AC, TV, CEILING FAN, QUEEN BED, CLOSETS
360 CARIBBEAN OCEAN AND CANCUN BAY VIEWS. SUNRISE AND SUNSETS.
PRIVATE ROOFTOP PALAPA LOUNGE with UNOBSTRUCTED VIEWS OF BOTH CARIBBEAN OCEAN and CANCUN BAY
ROOFTOP PRIVATE PALAPA
UPSTAIRS PRIVATE LOUNGE
SUNSET FROM THE PRIVATE ROOFTOP PALAPA
ANOTHER AMAZING SUNSET FROM THE VILLA
BACK PROPERTY CLIFF (NO DIRECT WATER ACCESS)
ONE OF THE VILLA'S NEIGHBORS
The Villa's neighborhood Punta Sur
6 LUXURY PRIVATE VILLAS AT THE SOUTHERN TIP OF ISLA MUJERES at PUNTA SUR
VILLA ENTRANCE WITH LIGHTS ON
Punta Sur isn't flooded with lights or noise so evenings at the Villa are tranquil/romantic
hard to leave the Villa...day or night...
SUNRISE OVER CARIBBEAN OCEAN
magical sunsets from the villa
MAYAN TEMPLE RUINS ON PUNTA SUR
ACROSS THE ROAD ON OCEAN SIDE
PUNTA SUR CENTER FOR MAYAN ENERGY / CENTRO DE ENERGIA MAYA
PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES & LIGHTHOUSE PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SCULPTURE GARDEN PUNTA SUR
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES AT PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE VISTA BENCHES AT PUNTA SUR CULTURAL CENTER
SUNRISE OVER LIGHTHOUSE PUNTA SUR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isla Mujeres, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
egbg2008
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location, beautiful views, great house!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed during the week of Jan 25-Feb 1 with two other couples. Expansive and sunny patio area that also includes plenty of covered space if you need to get out of the sun but still want to enjoy the beautiful blue Caribbean waters. The pool was a bit small for the size of the patio, however for our group of six it was just fine to hang out in. Overall the patio and pool were a bit "tired" looking. It seems they're in the midst of the maintenance cycle so the patio area is in need of painting and the pool could use some TLC. That being said, it was perfectly acceptable. The house is spacious and well laid out for a group of six. We prepared breakfast in the kitchen each morning, along with a few lunches and dinners, and of course a lot of drinks and we found the kitchen to be well-equipped and functional. The common areas are roomy, only complaint was the lighting in the evening. Dim overhead lights are the only option so made it was somewhat difficult to read, play games, etc. However - not a big deal. Overall this is a great location and the views cannot be beat. It's a great spot for your island get-away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn G
Johnston, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“As advertised...a great property”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five nights here recently and were not disappointed. Everything was as described online. We traveled with another couple and while the house was smaller, it was plenty of room. The kitchen had everything we needed (we only cooked two meals). We did request to have some grocery items brought to the house before we arrived, and they got everything except two things, which wasn't a big deal. Someone came around our first morning to collect the money for that. The entire house was spotlessly clean. The views were spectacular, and the pool area was perfect. Other reviews mentioned the pool being small, and it is if you are wanting to actually swim. We just floated and hung out, and it was perfect for four adults. Cleaning was done everyday (including mopping of the floors and laundering linens). My only point of interest that might be worth knowing, is that the bathroom in the master bedroom is actually IN the bedroom; as in there were no doors at all for the shower or toilet area. There is also an outdoor shower and bathroom by the pool, which was great and kept us from dripping water all over the house.

It was nice being at the southern end of the island, where it is considerably quieter. It took about 20 min by golf cart to get downtown, but we thought it was well worth being able to enjoy the quiet each evening. Highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis G
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, I, and another couple stayed at Casa Vaya Vida for 5 days in January 2014. It was our first trip to Isla Mujeres and the first time we didn’t do an all-inclusive in Mexico.

House
As soon as I walked in the door two things struck me, it smelled and looked clean and the view was fabulous. Throughout the stay you constantly were reminded that the whole process was well thought out. The internet was quicker than I thought it would be on an island (I think DSL), Dish network with a decent package, electronic security was good, tons of plug ins, a small radio to play your Ipod next to the pool, there were a lot of board games, tons of books, tons of dvd’s, maps for the island, etc. The large room layout worked out well for 2 couples. We didn’t spend a lot of time up there but the upper deck provided a great place to see the view, especially at night. With all that said, we probably spent 75% of the time in or near the pool. I thought in the pictures and from one other review that it was going to be pretty small but it turned out to be a good size with plenty of room for 4 not-so-small adults. Really the only problem I had with the entire house was with one little thing in the master bedroom. Maybe it’s my shy Iowa upbringing but I’m not a big fan of the open bathroom in the bedroom concept. Having the shower out in the open is not a big deal to me but a bathroom with no door weirds me out a little. It wasn't a big deal and I dealt with it but it’s just not my thing. Overall we were all very satisfied

Service
We ran into all kinds of issues when I was trying to pre-pay for the trip. These issues had mostly to do with my bank but the homeowner was very understanding. We paid about 6 months in advance so once we paid we got the basic information. As the dates started getting closer she sent us all the necessary information and the few times I had questions she was quick to answer.
The homeowner gave us recommendations for the golf cart as well as the transportation to the airport. The golf cart people didn’t work out because they didn’t have any large carts left but the AGI tours people worked out great to get between the airport and port.

We had sent a list of groceries we needed to Monica and she got us exactly what we asked for and it was waiting in the fridge when we arrived. I believe Monica actually had to go to 3 places to fill our list. The lady cleaning the house every day did a great job and we barely knew she was there until she came out to the pool and said goodbye.

Location
If you going to spend a large majority of your time in the downtown area then I think you’d be better off staying somewhere else. It takes about 25-30 minutes by golf cart to get to the downtown area. There were plenty of good places to eat within 10 minutes of the house and a large grocery store also nearby. We really liked being on the south side of the island where it’s quiet and relaxing. A couple times downtown was all that we needed to know the south side was our preference.

Overall we were very happy with the whole experience and would recommend staying at Casa Vaya Vida….I forgot one thing….Where is the light for the pool?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Parker N
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Vaya Vida for our honeymoon and had the best time! All of Teresa's recommendations were perfect and the house was more than we could have imagined! We loved sitting on the rooftop in the evenings and enjoying our morning breakfasts on the amazing outside patio... just taking in the breathtaking views. The island was super easy to navigate and had so many hidden treasures. We snorkeled, paddle boarded, explored the island, and spent a lot of time just relaxing. Monica, the property manager was so helpful with helping us make reservations for dinner and activities. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job. We took advantage of the full kitchen in the house and made big breakfasts every morning. We loved having the whole house to the two of us, but were thinking how fun it would be to come back with friends of family and stay there as well! We had so many fantastic dining experiences and enjoyed our days on the beaches (our favorite was the beach at Sunset Grill). Everything about our stay on Isla was idyllic, romantic and wonderful. We will definitely return to Isla and stay at Casa Vaya Vida! Our experience was absolutely perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the house, exploring the island, trying the restaurants
Liked least: Nothing! It was the best vacation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing