We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in the Castle rooms second floor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay in the Castle rooms second floor.”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. 10days, great location, right near the beach (you are practically on the beach) We stayed in the Castle rooms and would really suggest them. We were in room 1, right above the buhos bar, i could use the buhos wifi internet in my room which was great. (the restaurant/bar always closed early and was very quite) Rooms were clean, great beds for mexico and the staff were great. No major complaints except we had to keep a bath mat over the vent in the bathroom floor due to sewer gas...very smelly but it worked. Some same complaints as some people's previous reviews, no facecloths, no beach towels and no beach chairs (unless you want to pay for them) but we Have stayed in many different places in mexico and would take the castle rooms any day! We had a great time!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Castle rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaquelin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    243
    175
    83
    74
See reviews for
120
308
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I must say that based on some of the mixed reviews here, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. So I was pleasantly surprised to discover that Maria Del Mar was an exquisite hotel -- which makes their rates an incredible bargain. Here's my feedback:

-- Our room (a 2nd floor Cabana room with a view of the sea from our patio) was spotless
-- I loved the huge bathroom with the beautifully tiled shower
-- The A/C worked very well, but wasn't needed for the most part
-- The service was excellent but not intrusive, which I love
-- The grounds were gorgeous -- lush, tropical, and well-manicured
-- There was a random rude guest who decided to while away an hour or two loudly blowing on a conch shell even after I asked him nicely to be quiet. But that isn't the hotel's fault. :)

I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd Floor in a Cabana room and like it -- got an ocean view from the balcony which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The price is right and more than fair for this very simple room right on the beach - we really enjoyed our couple of nights here. If you need luxury and are desperate for air conditioning, superior breakfast etc., look elsewhere. Here, it is clean, simple, charming decor, lovely courtyard, superb location and - did I say it already - on the beach...feet in sand minutes after you check in = exactly what we wanted.

Now, when I say honest, I mean it - I had lost my glasses and went on to travel throughout Yucatan...wrote to Cabanas almost out of formality, not expecting to really find them- and guess what- they actually kept my glasses almost a month later, and furthermore found another California guest to bring them home for me. Now that is service that I have not encountered at many places!

I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: lower tower room - really simple and no frills, but right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
421 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed at Maria del Mar three times over the last 9 years. Although we stayed at Aluxes Priviledge and Hotel Ixchel the last two times we visited Isla Mujeres, visiting Mari del Mar in January 2012 showed us that it is still the representative Isla property. No glitz or glamor, just a comfortable, friendly hotel on Playa Norte - the best beach on the island.

Room Tip: The Cabanas part of this property - the the upper [second] floor are best. The Towers and Castle se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have been to Isla many times over 20 years. We love the location (Playa Norte) on Isla's finest beach, and near enough for an easy walk to town. Usually we stay at Na Balam (our favorite hotel on the island), but they had been booked when I was scheduling the trip. So, I reserved online at Cabanas Maria Del Mar. What a rip off. First off, they told us nothing when we checked in, such as, you must pay to sit on their beach (not just rent chairs - they've got a sign on the beach saying they'll charge you regardless), or even the good stuff: a continental breakfast included. Worse, they misrepresented the policy of the neighboring hotel, stating theycharge for chairs as well (the neighbor hotel does not charge their guests to sit down). After 2 days, we were able to move to another hotel. At checkout the shakedown started in earnest. First they charged us for an extra night for changing our reservation. Then....get this, they said they would not apply the one night's deposit I paid with the reservation claiming the travel agent "keeps that". So, we ended up paying the cost of four nights for two nights. I will dispute the rapacious overcharging with my credit card company when we return, but for now just want to warn others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank KathySanLeandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,296 reviews
0.1 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
826 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
230 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.3 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price range (per night): $110 - $170
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing