We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,473)
Filter reviews
4,473 results
Traveller rating
1,902
1,309
712
353
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,902
1,309
712
353
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar preferred club preferred pool swim up room preferred area room service market cafe barefoot grill preferred room coco cafe manatee pool ocean view swim up bar sister resort foam party fish portions are small
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 4,473 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We have been to several resorts in Mexico. Riviera Maya area, Playa and Playa Mujeres.Wanted to try Cozumel, Im a diver but havent been to Cozumel in a few years.
This was a special trip as I asked my girlfriend to marry me, on the beach at sunset...
Awwwww........LOL
Ok lets get down to business. We booked our trip on Expedia as a package including air. DO NOT DO THIS! Expedia buys up cheap air, you don NOT have assigned seats till you get to the airport. If it wasnt for some juggling and good flight attendents we would have had separate seating for the entire trip. NO BUENO!
The resort is decent, not the best we have been to. Excellence in Playa Mujeres is still our fave. But a little more expensive. We did not like the fact that there are rocks in just about the entire area walking in to the ocean from the beach. You MUST have water socks or it hurts your feet.
The beach is nice, the food is decent. Not a lot of choices for dinner but what we had was decent. Roof top bar at sunset is great! We like the fact that they had a dance club on the property as well. We take our own insulated cups, THIS IS A MUST. Dont forget your cups, with lids!
They will fill them up and your drinks stay cold longer. Bartenders are great! Activity staff is wonderful. Rooms are decent, a little disappointed in the shower., but it worked. TV Doesnt have but a couple of English speaking stations. Playboy was 1 of them so You can always watch porn. LOL
We had our pictures made by the resort photography studio. On the beach etc at sunset, which is when I proposed to me fiance. Went great. Set a appointment to view the pictures, they were closed when we got there. On our way back to the room we saw one of the photographers and questioned him. Our photographer was off that day, he would call him and he will be there at 8:30 am to show us the next morning.
Once again the shop was closed, opens at 9. We waited till 9:30 -9:40 till he finally showed up. If these were not SPECIAL pics, I would never have waited.
IF you have pics taken. Dont wait till the end of your trip. These guys get in no hurry to show you your pics. Terrible service! Stood me up twice!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 605stevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear 605stevem,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allows us to improve our service levels and product.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary actions are going to b taken to improve those aspects

With this said, we look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service.


I remain at your service
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

The entertainment cast was great let's point out Eunice was so wonderful for a new person The rest of the team did good Vicente was a rude person he thought we couldn't understand him but he was worng He shouldn't have been saying things about me just for asking him to me me a special drink .He was put out because we asked him to work Hope to never have to see him next time

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jbkares14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hello jbkares14

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear you made connections with our team specially with Eunice. on another hand, we thank you for mentioning the issues with Vicente, We are sharing this with our F&B manager to take the necessary actions

Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our beautiful Secrets Aura Cozumel, please do not hesitate in contact me to help you with everything prior and during your stay.

I remain at your service
Eduardo Betancourt
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The first thing that pops into my mind is the very comfortable beds, like as good as home, I always felt rested in the morning. We had an ocean view room, which was huge, with a couch, coffee table and table and two chairs, always kept clean. Also, a big bathroom, with both a walk-in shower and a jacuzzi tub. The balcony had a table and two chairs also. The mini fridge was always stocked w beer, soda and water. There is also a coffee maker, a steamer, and a safe.

The food was excellent, most of the five restaurants you order off a menu, the one buffet is good for breakfast (opens 7am) if diving, no reservations required at any restaurant, which is awesome for divers as other resorts usually open reservation bookings at 9am while you are 80 feet deep. Best food I’ve ever had in many trips to Cozumel. Service was always good. Two of the restaurants are open air so you look out over the water while eating, very nice. The only issue with food we had was seating. To be considerate, our group of 9 (five rooms) went to dinner at 6 or 6:30, before the 7:30 rush, but we still seemed to get some resistance to making one big table for us. One night, the host just said NO, needless to say, he was wrong lol. Hell hath no fury like a non-diving spouse!

For drinks, whether you were in the beachfront pool or on a beach chair, the servers were very attentive. The back pool is the activities pool, w volley ball and a swim up bar. The resort is adults only, first time for me, was actually nice and peaceful. The SkyBar on the roof is a nice place to meet for a drink before dinner, a perfect view of the water and sunset, nice breeze, and you can get sushi from the attached restaurant. There is also room service, 24 hours a day, we never used it but a lot of folks did. The Coco café is open 24/7 also, so you can get a coffee, a donut etc. any time. There were activities but we got our exercise diving, we played bingo in the pool one day. There was a beach BBQ one eve which was fun and one afternoon a lunch seafood fest with live band. Also, there was evening entertainment, dancers, karaoke, fire twirlers which looked pretty cool, the typical.

The beach had plenty of loungers, no towel cards, just grab a clean towel out of one of the brown towel boxes, which was perfect. My one and only true complaint about the resort is the lack of shade, I think there is one umbrella for every 12 chairs on the beach, one umbrella per four loungers would be reasonable. I heard this complaint MANY times during the week. Add more umbrellas! They also should put more desk staff on Saturday afternoon, check-in took waaaaaay too long after a long day of travelling.

Overall, nice quiet clean resort, probably perfect for couples, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear John G

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and for the objectivity! It's great to hear you had such a great time with us. We're glad to know you enjoyed our location, comfortable beds, the views, food, services, drinks and our beach area.


We hope to have you back soon, please do not hesitate in contacting us to help you with your future stay.

I remain at your service
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I love the water and when searching for the perfect location I kept coming back to Secrets Aura. We just returned and outside of the our room being overbooked we missed out the first 2 nights but they got us in and the rest of the trip was incredible. Between the service, quality of rooms, food, and simply just in paradise for 8 nights/9 days we couldn't have been happier. We are very social people so we met so many wonderful guests; several young honeymooners, middle aged (40 - 60+). We participated in many of the activities offered by the resort; excursions that were great: Fishing Trip (caught 2 Mahi Mahi and Baracuda), Jeep Excursion, and renting scooters to explore so much on our own. Drinks and relaxing poolside daily....I did a couple of massages and facial wonderful experience. We will be returning and want to take our grown children in the future. Kudos and special thanks to Windows chef and all the wonderful waiters and waitresses.....

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank lynetterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear lynetterg

We are glad and happy to read your review, that is exactly the reason we look forward to exceeding your expectations and give you the one of the best Experience in Cozumel. We are honored to read that you love our Ocean view swim up and the perfect atmosphere to make friends.

Thank you for sharing these amazing words, we are going to be sharing your greetings with our chef, waiters and waitresses in Windows.

We hope you see you soon again.

I remain at your service
Eduardo Betancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The service from the ride from the airport to the resort and all the days we were there was outstanding. Every employee went beyond to see that we had a wonderful time. Every restaurant was different so we had a wide variety of choices and all of them had wonderful food.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, Management area at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Marie J,

It is an honor to receive such kind comment where you clearly state how much you enjoyed every aspect of our resort. It is very important to us to know that the service provided to you by all the staff. It is also great to know that you enjoyed t our restaurants, the variation of food and the quality.


We look forward to welcoming you again and create more memorable experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews