We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
198
105
26
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
105
26
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal club la carreta private restaurant private pool resident barracuda worth the upgrade beach restaurant occidental cozumel a la carte restaurants fish dive sites regular room every request junior suite main pool lobby bar special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I reviewed Occidental Grand earlier and realized I should've reviewed Royal Club instead!

This is our second year staying in the Royal Club at Occidental Grand. We loved it so much last year, it was just a given when we were booking this year!

It's the little things that make Royal Club special. My personal highlight is the concierge desk. No matter who is on duty, they are always so professional and helpful. They bend over backward to make sure your stay is enjoyable and stress-free. Dinner reservations are easily made in less than a minute. Need something in your room? Quick call and minutes later, you've got it! Check in and check out are quick and efficient.

We do make good use of the wifi when we are in the room at night. It's nice to be able to be "connected", but only when we choose to be!

La Carretta (restaurant available only to Royal Club) is very good. Service can be a little slow when compared to the other restaurants, but I chalk this up to the fact that it is so small and doesn't have the larger number of service staff that the others do. The night we ate there, I had the seared tuna, and it was excellent! I also really enjoy breakfast there on one of their patios. Coffee is so good! If you happen to be around for lunch (usually, we were around the beach, so just ate at the Beach Club), do try La Carretta. We had the chicken club sandwich one day, and it was a nice break from the Beach Club menu (not complaining about Beach Club, though!)

The balconies/verandas have jungle views, which is pretty cool. From our balcony, we heard/saw javalenas at night, and one morning, a Cozumel Island "Coati" came to visit us!

Our room had a king bed this year, which we prefer over two queens, so that was nice. The rooms are very comfortable with a hint of what I call "Mexico Luxury". No, it's not like a 5 star resort you would find in the US, but we didn't expect that last year, and we found ourselves very comfortable in our room. Our AC seemed to work much better this year, so they may have made some improvements to the system. Bathrooms are very nice. Beds are comfortable, and we bring our own little fan, so we had no problems sleeping well. I will say that this year, we actually came back to the resort after missing our flight and stayed in a standard room. It was fine, but after staying at Royal Club, I guess I'm just spoiled! Always Royal Club, from now on!

Overall, we just love it here! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Prefer 2nd or 3rd floor to 1st for added balcony privacy
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank allicatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan C, Guest Experience Manager at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

2. Thank you Mr. Allicatag for taking the time to write this lovely review, we are glad that everything goes well on your holidays on the Royal Club, it was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you the next.

Best Regard from Royal Club Manager and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

My wife and I stayed the week of May 10-15. Check in was smooth, we got there about 2:30, room wasn't ready but they tell you up front check in is at 3. No big deal, we went and ate a late lunch and came back like she told us and it WAS ready!! There were only two disappointing issues while we were there. One was the first day the water wasn't very good, but when the wind changed it cleared up. Two the beds were WAY too hard. Now lets talk about the positives. The staff and the guests were all super nice, we said ola and hello like it was family. Very very nice people. A little girl got away from her parents, disappeared, the staff and many of the guests were helping to find her. Ended well! The food was very good, especially the beach lunch. When dining at the La Carreta an absolute is the Mayan Coffee, not on the menu, but ask, they will gladly bring it!!!! Beautiful Jungle setting with javelinas, iguanas everywhere, the birds will put on a show, then lets out to the beach. We been to Cozumel many times, this was the best Resort beach I've seen. Would not go down the beach to the left toward Albertos, not as tidy and has a stench area, go to the right, better walking beaches and will come across a few other Resorts. Overall food is pretty good to very good, atmosphere great, beach very good. Bring a light weight air mattress for the bed. Two last comments. The Washington Redskin Cheerleaders were there at the same time doing photo shoots, so it has to be pretty nice setting for them to pick this location !!!! Also see Freddy at the beach bar, BEST bartender EVER.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

The royal club amenities are nice,la carreta the best place for lunch,dinner ask for Thomas and Roger, we came here to dive and the onside dive shop provide is just really easy, the buffet was delicious for breakfast, made to order omelets were great and the beach club for delicious was convenient for in between dives.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank dupras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Guest Experience Manager at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

 Thank you Mr Dupas we are glad that you having a such a wonderful time in the RC and also diving on this beautiful reef, we hope to see you again and for us will be a pleasure to host you in the Royal Club.

Best Regard from Royal Club Manager and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and i stayed a the occidental royal club for one week it was nice,the room were confortable we made dinner reservation ay la carreta restaurant, we love the mayan cofre , Roger and tomas are the best ,however the sunset are just amazing see you next time .

Stayed: May 2015
1  Thank freedtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Guest Experience Manager at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

 Thank you Freedtexas to taking the time to give us your lovely review, Our staff is glad to know that the make the difference in your holiday, and we hope to see you again and spend other holidays with us.

Best Regard from Royal Club Manager and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We enjoy very much or stay in Royal CLub,Liz the manager was the best always smiling very helpful, check in was quick and easy, Room was ready at 3 pm, we love the beach definitely back, we do snorkel tour was amazing we went to palancar and colombia reef.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richarson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Guest Experience Manager at Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

 Thank you Mr. Richarson for having the time to write about your holidays in Royal Club, we are glad that you having a wonderful time in our beautiful Island and visit or Reefs, we hope to see you soon.

Best Regard from Royal Club Manager and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews