We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded by United Airlines...wound up here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stranded by United Airlines...wound up here”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

United Airlines cancelled our flight out of Cozumel and refused to compensate for the inconvenience, claiming force of nature clause and excessive rain in our connecting city of Houston (we suspect, however, that United just cancelled the flight to boost its profits...). The Vista del Mar hotel was at the Southern end of downtown Cozumel. A nice location within easy walking distance of the Mega Store (sort of a Mexican WalMart). The Mega had cheap pizza slices and decent cappucino and pastries. The Vista del Mar served us a continental breakfast of coffee, pastries from the Mega store and orange juice (more like Sunny D than real orange juice). The small pool was very clean, but it would have been nice if it had been lit so we could take a cooling dip after sundown. The rooms were clean, but spartan. The shower was roomy. The hot water and water pressure were A-OK. The toilets had the third world-style plumbing, so the toilet paper had to go in the trashcan and not down the toilet. We kept the bathroom door closed to contain the smell. Very inexpensive at $58 per night all in for our family of four. Pay in pesos if you can. We did not get one the ocean view rooms, which were an extra $20 per night. Side note and warning: Don't fall victim to the hucksters at the Playa del Carmen ferry pier. We made the mistake of accepting a "deal" and had to suffer through a miserable 4-hour time share presentation (was supposed to be an hour and a half including lunch) at the very aggressive (the sales manager was even rather rude) Adena Thai (sp?) hotel in PdC. At least we got about $200 or so worth of goodies for our trouble. FWIW, we did not care for what we saw of PdC. It seemed like Oahu (commercialized resort town with beaches to lay around on and frat-party style bars like Senor Frogs to get drunk at) whereas Cozumel seemed like Kauai (laid back, ecological, do-it-yourself snorkeling etc.). As for time shares...investigate buying them online if you think they might fit your budget and needs. Don't do a presentation unless you are sure you can say no no no no no.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    120
    48
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
168
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our second stay in 2 years. Inexpensive, great view and you can walk to so much. The staff is great, the rooms very nice - though the main street is noisy in the evenings (bring soft ear plugs for sleeping), and continental breakfast wake-up call before diving each morning. A quiet little swimming pool in the back provides a welcomed relief from the heat and noise of the main street in the afternoon, but the view of the ocean, cruise ships, ferries, dive boats, people and everything else from the balcony can not be beaten. Everything is in need of maintenance and paint (como siempre), but it is still a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elops_saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Vista Del Mar Hotel has a great location ! Mai, Martin and Ofiela staff members at the Vista have always been very helpful, honest and they do go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The staff always has a warm greeting for their guests they are also helpful with information on place to eat, transportation, sight seeing etc. The Hotel is older but is very clean and the rates are very good for Cozumel with a Ocean view balcony in most rooms. I have stayed 4 times in the last 15 months at Vista Del Mar. My last stay was for a month.

Room Tip: Always ask about the Special Rate for the off Season ! This is the time of years to go and save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeweyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the only hotel we stay in when we go to Cozumel. The staff is so accommodating, the rooms are quaint and the rustic decor is exactly what we are looking for. It's the greatest!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our second year staying at the Vista Del Mar. No disappointments once again. Our room was downtown, on the water, and close to everything. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The receptionist even let us use her cell phone to call a friend of ours who lives on the island, so that we didn't have to pay international roaming fees. The rooms were very clean. We did tip our housekeeper every day and they took excellent care of us. Realize that you are not staying at the Four Seasons and that the pool is small and on a roof-top, but for the price you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: We liked staying on the 3rd floor better this year. Last year we were on the 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_and_Kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
0.2 km away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 52 in Cozumel
201 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
142 reviews
0.9 km away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
0.4 km away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price range (per night): $69 - $149
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing