We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a 5 star, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could be a 5 star, but...”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Starting at check in we were advised that the hotel was overbooked and the jr suite, king bed, upper floor of the tower that we booked was not available. But, we have a deal for you! A honeymoon room with a Jacuzzi. Well that was on the first floor on the other side by the family area. Not a deal to me. An hour later the room we booked was available. The next day we were met with a bottle of champagne and the following day a bowl of fresh fruit. Now the food. The buffet breakfast was good, the mid day snack at the grill was great as were the dinners at the grill and cafe. The first night we had to go to the buffet dinner. Not good so we opted for the grill and cafe for the remainder of our stay. You have to be on the line by 9:15 to get a reservation. One wedding or a couple of large groups will shut you out. The attention from the staff was top notch! Although the rooms and facade are in need of a face lift, they were very attentive to cleanliness. The beach is beautiful. On one particular morning they were raking the beach due to the ocean washing up some nature sea debris from the night before. That was completed by 10 AM! Family activities took place daily. There was a separate adult pool with a bar and a family pool area. Overall, give the place a face lift, step up the buffet food and a little more night life the place could be a 5 star adventure.

Room Tip: Know if you want family area or the tower. Tower, 5th floor or better for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralph213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    1,075
    469
    200
    149
See reviews for
851
1,118
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Another mom and I took our daughters here for their senior year spring break .... to sum it up fast, the place is WONDERFUL! I was a little skeptical before we left after reading so many negative comments but those people must be negative people because we could find absolutely NOTHING to complain about. From the time of check-in to the time of check-out, it was super. Each staff that we encountered was hard-working, friendly, informative, and went out of their way to make our stay a fantastic one. "Enrique" is a super bartender! The beach is beautiful and we spent a lot of time here. We did spend some time at the family pool doing water aerobics and other "family-oriented" games. It was nice to have the option of the adult pool with the pool bar. We attended the majority of the evening shows too! We felt very safe when we went downtown which was just a short distance away and was an $8-$10 taxi ride. Even the taxi drivers are friendly and very funny! The resort is beautiful,has the best beach, and is spotless - the staff is constantly cleaning something. The rooms were spacious with a great view of both the garden/ocean. The housekeeping staff was very accommodating of our requests and keep the rooms clean! We ate at the buffet, the snack bar, and both the exclusive restaurants --- and every place had a nice selection of food. If you cant find something you like, you must be a very picky eater. The place is BEAUTIFUL and the staff is GREAT! Our vacation trip was WONDERFUL! Lots of fun memories

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Good afternoon, First of all I would like to thank you for the trust you gave us when you decided to bring your daughter and her friend to Melià Cozumel on an such important day, I am going to pass your congrats to Enrique and all the employees that made for you and your family a great vacation. We hope you come back in a near future.

Sincerely

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked the Melia well in advance of "March break" and as a result were able to upgrade our room and have the golf inclusive package included at no cost. The hotel itself is very well kept and clean, we were fortunate enough to have a room on the 14th floor #1405, the elevator only goes to 12 but then you walk up a small staircase into a "penthouse" style room. The room was great, vaulted ceilings, amazing view! Beach was nice but the water was ocassionaly cloudy depending on the wind direction. There were ample chairs on the beach and around both pools. Parents with small children utilized one pool while the smaller pool with the pool bar was adults only, and it almost gave the feeling of two seperate resorts which benefited everyone.
The pool bar and beach bar are lots of fun and well attended during the day, the lobby bar is hit and miss in the evening. All in all the night life is not the reason to select the Melia, if you are looking for more action your best bet is to go into town, a five min. cab ride costing about $7. There are lots of nightclubs, bars, restaurants, shops as well as the ferry into Playa del Carmen and access to various boating excursions for snorkeling, scuba or cruise type parties.
Food at the Melia was OK but not great. Breakfast was excellent, but the rest of the meals at the buffett were not too exciting. The food was plentiful, with a wide selection, but somewhat bland and became repetative after a few days. We did not book the a la carte restaurants but were told by other guests that the ambience was nice but the food was not any better.
We booked a catamaran snorkeling excursion which was enjoyable but we were equally impressed with the snorkeling a short walk away. I would advise taking a 15-20 min walk down the beach, across a couple other resort properties down to a pier where you will find a ladder similar to what you would find in a pool. The current is very mild and heading back towards the Melia so if you bring your snorkeling equipment you can snorkel all the way back in about 30-45min and see a wide variety of fish and other underwater scenery.
Our other activity was golfing and we were very impressed with the facility. The layout is challanging with decent landing areas, but it you wander off the fairways there is a good chance you will lose a fair number of balls. Anything in the water is a gonner due crocodiles. There are also some wild pigs and plenty of iguanas and water fowl on the course to help you enjoy the day even if the golfing is not going too well. If you bring your own clubs they will store them for your at the club at no charge and save you the trouble of transporting them. As mentioned earlier the course itself is challanging, but is also fair to all levels of golfers so long as you select the correct tees to play from.
We will return to Cozumel next year as we felt very safe and had a great relaxing vacation. Next year we will make an attempt to see more of the island as we heard great things from a large number of other guests. We would certainly stay at the Melia again provided the price was right and golf was included, or we may go with another resort to allow for comparison.

Room Tip: All rooms in the tower area have ocean views, the higher the better. If staying in the villas I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbear_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Good afternoon, Thank you for share your experience with another traveleres,We are really glad you feel safe and most of all that enjoy your vacation in Melià Cozumel, wehope you come back to explore Cozumel and know abour the traditions of this beautiful place, if you come on February you can have fun on the "Carnaval" from Cozumel, or if you come on May you can know the tradition from the "Cedral" but we really hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely


Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

It's a beautiful hotel. We had a hot tub on the deck and partial kitchen . f you go all inclusive, I'd recommend eating more often at their fine dining restaurant. It requires a reservation, but the food there is better. We tended to eat more often at the buffet however, since we were hungry after SCUBA diving .

It cost $7 or $8 to take a cab downtown . The Dive shop was good. They would bring us to the Allegro hotel on the southern tip of the island . It would only take a few minutes from there to get to the dive sites .

Room Tip: Eat at their fancier restaurant more often, if you go all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Good afternoon, First of all I would like to thank you the time you spend you writing this review, We hope you come back in a near future to make some SCUBA again,

Sincereky

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Melia was great. We arrived late at night and we decided to see if we were able to upgrade.....and we were! We upgraded to a honeymoon suite right on the beach with a hot tub on our deck. It was awesome, wonderful and very romantic every night. This resort does not have much of a night life but that was just what we were looking for. The resort was great and we would go back. The food could have been better, but it was authentic and good.
Our room was nice and clean, the bathroom was amazing. The service at the tiki bar was great, my only gripe is the music was elevator music...boring. But I just brought out my iPod.
Overall, I would stay here again....the price was great, we were relaxed the entire time and anything we needed we received :)

Room Tip: UPGRADE!!! It was not that much and makes a heck of a difference for your vacation!!! HONEYMOON Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie-Larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Goof afternoon, Thank you to take a minutes from your time to write all your comments, I am going to check the subject from the music, Thank you so much for write that, for the next time you come back you can see the change from lobby music to good music ;) . We are so happy you enjoyed your stayed in Melià Cozumel, when you come back please feel free to contact me if you have any doubt.

Best Regards

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
11.6 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
22.9 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.3 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.7 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): $175 - $314
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing