We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaranto Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 251*
USD 242*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
USD 116*
USD 100*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 343*
USD 272*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 172*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 168*
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
USD 171*
USD 116*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 309*
USD 280*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 155*
USD 138*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 244*
USD 226*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
USD 504*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
131
21
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
21
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmicrowave and fridgejorgesuitemexicodivingferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Amaranto for five nights in March. Jorge was very helpful from the beginning with email and logistics. The second floor suite was inexpensive by North
American standards and could have slept more than just my fiancee and I. It would be comfortable for a small family. The room had an air conditioner that we didn't use. It also had a refrigerator, a turbo charged ceiling fan, a toaster oven, lots of plates and utensils, and a microwave. These helped to keep our expenses down and the tequila cold. The bed was firm and comfortable and the linens were fresh. We slept well.
Breakfast was good with juice, coffee, fresh fruit, and an entree every morning. We enjoyed seeing Eduardo (who was keeping the inn in Jorge's absence) and talking with him. He is a vivacious, sweet man with a wealth of knowledge. He's one of those people who puts you in the right mood!
The inn is about five blocks from the ocean and the plaza, with lots of restaurants and scuba shops in-between. We felt safe walking everywhere at all times. Some of the restaurants that we enjoyed were, Antojitos Ambar, for the most delicious and cheapest tacos, Le Chef, for a mid price level Mediterranean treat, and Parilla Del Sol, an Argentine grill and empanada joint. The five meat grill was fantastic and was suggested for two people but could have served four. There were tango dancers. Um!-sexy.
We rented a car so we could tour the island. The trips to the beach could have gotten expensive if we had to take taxis for every trip.
So, we recommend Amaranto to anyone who doesn't want to seclude themselves in an all inclusive environment.
Thank you, Jorge, Eduardo, and Manuella for the great experience. We will look forward to seeing you next time! Heather and Austin

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank habrannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have visited beautiful Cozumel twice now and will continue to go mainly because we have found such an excellent place to stay. We couldn't imagine staying at a resort in Cozumel! The Amaranto has such wonderful charm! Nestled within a warm, friendly neighbourhood, the Amaranto is a great place to stay: clean, great value for the money, and delicious breakfasts. As a host, Jorge is a thoughtful, kind innkeeper who was keen on making our stay in Cozumel memomorable. At breakfast, we always looked forward to wonderful conversations with Jorge. He was always interested in what were doing and gave several great suggestions. Friends of ours recommended the Amaranto and we have recommended to many other friends!

Room Tip: We took the third floor unit this year as a treat: very charming with a ladder to a view through the thatched roof.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I have visited Cozumel three times all inclusive every time. When planning our last Vacation we searched for a new life experience with our six year old daughter. We were looking for value, no time constraint's, in town, plenty of things to do outside the typical tourist area's. This vacation offered more than we expected thanks to the beautiful people of Cozumel and to our new friends at the Amaranto. On this vacation my daughter made many new friends Jorge, The street vendors, and people of Cozumel, Ferdinand the bull, Notch the dog, She snorkel the reef with parrot fish, a huge grouper, lobster, flounder, stingray, sea turtle's and more, In the tidal pool's she held star fish, sea urchin, hermit crab's, and snail's. In the swamp two crocodile swam up to the dock for a closer look, she fed the iguana's fruit on the beach, Rode a bull, and Danced with the locals for three straight nights during carnival. A vacation of this caliber has no money value just life value, however for 9 night's 8 day's our total rental car, Food and shelter cost $1.400 including gas, beverage and snacks etc. Just WoW!! Upon arrival at the amaranto our room was more than adequate for our needs allowing just enough local flavor in to remind us where not in Ohio anymore. Our mornings usually started with a short walk to the lobby where Jorge was entertaining Linnea our six year old for how long is unknown "you see George and linnea formed a tight bond on the first day"she would normally wake us but couldn't wait to tell Jorge about her previous day experiences. Waiting at the table was breakfast catered to our personal needs, Our day's adventures usually began with loading the car with all the essentials snorkel gear, cooler borrowed from Jeorg, towles, boogie board, etc. We never had a plan because Cozumel offered an ECO wonderland at every turn. Most of our vacation was spent on the east coast of the island because of its miles of vacant beaches and tidal pool's and Coconuts the bar"a must see", the ECO park offered a light house with great views, ruin's with iguana's everywhere, Crocodile's and the prettiest beaches on the island. We sometimes visited the west side of the island" full of boat people and tourist" however it offered the best snorkeling. For divers Don't miss the fresh water cave's at Chankanaab where the tarpon are" "at no cost The money bar" offered fresh water shower great hamburger good off shore snorkeling. "at no cost The corona bar" offered fresh water shower's good service and great tidal pool's "just lift the rock to see star fish" with good off shore snorkeling and just sixty yards out a ridge of coral offered great sponge and if you dive down to look under the ridge of coral you will see lobster, eal, and sting ray, "the paradise Beach" offered a great freshwater pool $2 pp and great pool side service "some days were just a little to Jersey Shore's for our taste" ( NY Boat people) Our evenings usually began with a walk around town with Jorge and Notch "the dog" exploring the restaurants and their menu's. The dinning was superb with great Italian, seafood, steak, Mexican, pizza, Taiwanese etc. all at a great value. We chose restaurants off the beaten path and after 4 pm when the cruise ships departed. After dinner we usually frequented a open air bar in the center of Cozumel square where the locale's and travelers were a-buzz and the sound of street performers and the excitement of small town Mexico was electric. When walking home we never felt uncomfortable or threatened returning to the Amaranto Notch was waiting for his belly rub and kiss good night from Linnea. Our daughter has traveled to Disney World, Dublin IR, Copenhagen Dk. Stockholm SW.St Croix Vi. Santo Domingo DR.Cancun Mex, and now Cozumel. When I ask her where do you want to go on the next vacation she replied every time "I want to go see Jorge and Notch." We are planning a revisit in September for the turtle and whale shark season. My advice is if you are not the adventurous type not likely to go off the beaten path, if you enjoy a/c, Big Boats, Buffet's, Bus tour's, this style of vacation is not what you are looking for. you will scrape a knee and get bug bites while exploring the island. If you are adventurous and enjoy the freedom of exploring at your own leisure this little bed and breakfast is just the ticket to a great experience.

see you in september

Linnea, Johanna and David

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our first time on Cozumel. Friends of ours stayed at the Amaranto and we followed their recommendations. We were delighted with the place. With its beautiful, a unique home away from home, atmosphere complete with a spacious, rustic palm frond roof (with views to the outside that are accessible by a ladder) top tower suite. The fans in the room along with the ocean breeze from the windows kept the room cool. Our host Jorge paid close attention to detail and made sure we were happy and comfortable during our one week stay this February. Arranging for us a rental car on short notice and personally guiding us to a small restaurant for dinner after a long day of diving even giving recommendations on where to wash our clothes as we were diving and back-packing this trip. Manuela does a wonderful breakfast, even accommodating my very particular tastes. We are already looking for our winter diving trip for next year and if Cozumel stays on the short list, the Amaranto will be our FIRST choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is our second year to the Armaranto, and this year we upgraded to the third floor suite of the tower. It was spacious with lots of windows and I love the 'princess in a tower' feel of the round walls and conical roof. We were able to see the carnival fireworks from the lookout in the roof, accessible by a ladder.

As always our host Jorge was hospitable and generously let me use a snorkel mask for no charge when I lost mine to a large wave on the east side.

Manuela does a terrfic job with breakfast and cleaning - the coffee is really good and plentiful.

The fan kept the room very cool along with the ocean breeze from the windows.

We are already looking forward to returning next year and cannot imagine wanting to go anywhere else on this marvelous, friendly little island.

Jean.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maritimerjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews