We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,794)
Filter reviews
5,794 results
Traveller rating
2,268
1,866
901
449
310
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,268
1,866
901
449
310
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal club los olivos stayed at the occidental grand sonora grill specialty restaurants dive shop fish dive palancar the mediterranean restaurant first club quiet pool stayed in building beach restaurant pizza place lobby bar grounds are beautiful activity pool
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 5,794 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed at the Occidental in early March and upgraded to Royal Level. The check in at Royal level is wonderful. No standing in lines, to our rooms quick. The rooms are very spacious, bathrooms large, had a setting area which the only negative part was the couch was very musty smelling probably from wet clothes, the smell was bad enough where you didn't want to sit on it. The fridge was always stocked with water, pop, and beer. Buffet were good decent variety, but felt like cafeteria. If you are expecting to see the ocean you wont from your room, you walk to the beach, which is very nice. The servers on the beach were wonderful but do tip them, they work hard. Never had a drink that was the made the same but they were still good. Personally I didn't care for the jungle surroundings, but wanted to try someplace new. Resort is nice. All of the staff were wonderful, friendly.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Kathi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear 60Kathi1955

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Cozumel
Thank you for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This resort was great for families with staff that is proactive to get your kids engaged and some time away for you. Comfortable and we loved the natural setting of lush gardens. You can get a variety of meals and spend time at the pool while listening to the ocean waves. The staff was very friendly and gracious.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank meagen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear meagen2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We just arrived back from the Occidental. After many years staying at the Hotel Cozumel, we made a switch due to our feeling that the Hotel Cozumel had fallen into disrepair. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Occidental. The room was very comfortable and the A/C worked perfectly. While all meals in any all-inclusive are never the best, the Occidental's food was quite good. The buffet was well stocked and the food had good taste. My wife is a vegetarian and always has trouble finding enough to eat and this was the same at the Occidental (although much better than other all inclusives). Besides the buffet, we did eat at the Mexican and Italian restaurants. Both were very nice and the food quality was very good. We did not try the seafood restaurant because they did not offer a vegetarian option. The staff was very nice, although at times it was tough to get anything to drink at the buffet tables. At times the wait staff appeared to ignore tables. And, what do they have against spoons? They are at a premium. Many times, for cereal, soup, yogurt, you're forced to eat them with a fork. Why not set each setting with a spoon? The check in and check out process were very convenient. We very much enjoyed having an adult only pool and not have to deal with the noise at the family pool. We would definitely stay at the Occidental again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank SCUBASteve1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear SCUBASteve1959

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed in this hotel a year ago with friends who have been coming here since last century and loved it then. So much so, that we decided to come back this year despite higher prices than mainland and lack of direct flights from Chicago. This time it was disappointing and we decided it was the last time here. Cozumel is awesome especially for those who are into diving and snorkeling.

The biggest disappointment was food. We came for the sun, beach and corrals, but we do expect certain levels of sustenance and service. There is no choice where to eat (unless you are in the royal club): breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant, lunch in the beach side one. Each open during strict hours and there is absolutely nowhere to eat in between. This becomes a problem if you are diving during the meal times: you either have to squirrel the food earlier or stay hungry. There is room service but you have to pay which is kind of ridiculous at an all inclusive. The quality and variety of food was significantly worse than last year. Often there would be nothing that my wife and I would palatable during a meal. Service in the buffet restaurants was terrible: sometime ho one would come to the table ask for drink orders during entire meal. Other times people would ask for drink orders and do not deliver them in the 15 minutes we remained in the restaurant after that. Half of the mornings we did not get coffee until I learned there were big carafes outside of the restaurant so I would seat my family go there, bring couple of paper glasses of coffee and pour them into the cups. Don't even think about second helpings or milk for your coffee. There was a curious lack of spoons, despite the fact that they were serving stuff that required them. Sometimes they would put a plate with spoons near the soup station but it would be usually empty. There were never spoons near yogurt or porridge tubs.

On a couple of occasions they had rather good pork chops (both times it was the only food choice I felt like eating) they guy would grill a bunch of them, put a stack on a plate far behind the counter (way out of reach unless you are willing to climb over the hot grilling plate) and leave. They were getting cold and there was no one to give them. I and few fellow desperados had to jump up and down and call for assistance for 10 minutes to attract someone's attention to get them. By the time we did they were leather-hard and at room temperature.

There were 3 a la carte restaurants, which were quite good LAST YEAR (both service and food). This year - we don't know. They have the most ridiculous reservation system we have seen in 2 decades of going to all-inclusive places: you could only make reservations FOR THE SAME DAY and only between 9 and 5. Several days we came at 8:55 and the only options left were 6 and 9 pm neither of which worked. I asked people who got reservations, they had to wait from 8 am. Turned out the only reason we were able to get reservations last year was that one of our rooms ended up in the premium section, which had its own reception that could either grab hidden ones or had access to the next day.

The room was quite small and some things didn't work too well: the patio door would not lock (a bit of the problem for the first floor rooms which all 3 in our party were). And the sofa where our son slept was creaky and uncomfortable. The main bed wasn't all that great either.

The quality of drinks in the bars was very inconsistent - some were great, others undrinkable.

Now on the positive side: stuff outside of the restaurants here helpful, friendly and efficient. We would leave for the beach around 9:30 and when we came back for siesta after 1 pm the room was always made up. grounds are lovely and well-maintained. There were semi-premium liquors in the bars (Smirnoff and Absolut, Captain Morgan, Tanqueray, Red Label) and if you explicitly asked for "Absolut Bloody Mary" chances were pretty decent that you would get it and not the local junk.
Dive shop was pretty good and all divemasters and boat crews we went with were awesome. Equipment though was hit and miss: in each trip someone in our group would get an underfilled or leaking cylinder, busted regulator, etc. None though resulted in aborted dives - divemasters would usually have a spare or swap their own.

I don't think we will be coming there again. We'll try allegro or one of the non-all inclusive options near the Money Bar (which WAS awesome).

Room tip: Try to get room in the cottage nearest to the beach (they have royal club privileges) and not on the first floor.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LehaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear LehaM

We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Cozumel hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit.

Thank you for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We enjoyed our stay here. The bed (king) was very confy. The room we were in was clean and beautifuly design. The staff was great and very helpful when needed. My favorite diner a la carte was the mexican. The daily buffet food was good but wish they had a bigger selection. Wished night entertainment was better. Enjoy the pool as much as the beach! FYI It is located 30 mins drive away from town and the resort is not offering any shuttle service so a Taxi will cost you about 15$ usa one way.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank sylvie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear sylvie d

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews