We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
40
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt dive shop roberta's scuba shack secure storage great diving dive gear other guests captain boats hammocks juan island julio
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

This is a great affordable friendly and safe place for divers. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it, but a clean, reasonably priced, with great dive guides I recommend it completely. They are very accomodating, offer breakfast, dive shop is right there and have a pool. Going back again in couple weeks!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxswing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We enjoyed our first stay at Village Tan Kah, and will definitely be back! Roberta and her staff create a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere for divers. The rooms are comfortable, with lots of storage space. Seating areas outside with lots of bird feeders and beautiful plant life, and hammocks in front of each room. Fresh bananas grown on the property. Continental breakfast prepared by a super friendly staff. Books to read, puzzles to assemble, other divers to chat with, cats to sleep with if you so desire (bring kitty treats, please! ;-) ), a small but clean and inviting pool with lots of seating. We loved the casual atmosphere and hospitality! Literally walk across the street to dive with her helpful and adventurous dive team.Thank you for having us!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the main kitchen, where you can cook if it's not being used for breakfast, and you can also fetch buckets of ice.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Pros:
Diving right across the street
Smaller boat provides more personal experience (we had 4 divers)
Very friendly staff
Nice pool.

Cons:
This is not a 5-star hotel. This is a low budget place to stay. The rooms are fine. If you are looking for amazing accommodations, this is not the place.
Breakfast is really cheap. if you are looking for a hot buffet, this is not it. This is a budget hotel with a budget breakfast.
Location. You are about 10 minutes from downtown. The location is fine, but there are not a lot of restaurants or shops open at nights.

Overall if you are looking for a budget hotel with an amazingly friendly staff, this place is for you. The divemaster we had was EXCELLENT. Very thorough. Very safe. If you are looking for a 5-star resort, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Good things first, the owner was extremely accommodating, answering emails in details, organizing the snorkel trip, when we arrived they were waiting for us. I'm glad she convinced me to take their snorkel tour as it was excellent! Also, everything was clean, and there was always somebody on site sweeping leaves and taking care of the place.

But the room itself was noisy and dark. The two bedroom suite is right on the street (Carretera Sur with trucks and motorcycles going at all times). Some other rooms, not all, are kind of hidden from street noise behind this one. The main bedroom is at the back of the suite, but we were awaken with the sound of hammers on metal at 6 in the morning from the nearby buildings. There are no beaches nearby, and nowhere to just walk and enjoy the cooler time, so... 6 am is early. Breakfast consists of toast, cereal and yogurt in a big tupperware container.
Bottom line, it wasn't a relaxing ending of our Mexico trip making us want to go back.

Room Tip: not the 2 bedroom!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPBeginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I have been diving in Cozumel for over 20 years and have stayed at multiple properties including the Fiesta American, Cozumel Hotel and Resorts (under a variety of names), Casa del Mar, Plaza las Glorias (no longer under that name) and Hotel Barracuda. Each has its strengths and weaknesses. Village Tan Kah's strength is the people involved. Roberta is charming and goes out of her way to make sure that the accommodations meet your needs. The rooms are spacious and the Monkey Room in which I stayed is well laid out for working on my camera including a large table and good window light on two sides. The air conditioning was excellent despite the hot summer weather. The dive operation, Scuba Shack, is across the street. They also gave personalized service, allowing shore night dives, 32 or 36% nitrox, fast covered boats and skilled dive masters/captains. The weaknesses were mild- a limited breakfast selection and boats without camera rinse tanks (which were supplied on the second day upon request)- and I would stay there and dive there again happily!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DR_W1LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta C, Owner at Village Tan Kah, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thanks so much Dr Will. We are glad that you had a great time and hope that you will return soon! Just let us know when you arrive that you would like to have a rinse bucket for your camera and we will insure that you have it since the first day of diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews