We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return in a heart beat !”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Where do I start?From the moment we landed,a sunwing rep was there to guide us and very quickly and smoothly had us to the Resort.The Lobby which was enormous and open aired was a favorite meeting spot before Dinner.Check in was smooth,we had packed a bag with bathing suits,etc.,so we were at the pool within a couple of hours of landing.The resort was beautifully landscaped,Peacocks,Iquanas,Flamingoes wandering around,never obtrusive but gave such a tranquil feeling to the whole experience. The rooms were exceptionally well cleaned,the only downfall was there were no dressers,just little cubbie holes and a closet and safe.Loved the two story hut style,with thatched roofs,small patio with Hammock ,chair and table.I personally thought the buffet meals were exceptional.The selection varied and I always felt that I didn't get to try half of what I would have like too.A couple of people with us said they were very fussy eaters and they never had trouble finding something great to eat.We did try the Steak house and it was good,we opted out of the Mexican at the last minute to do the buffet one more time,as it was our last night there.The "Star Friends" entertainers were amazing!Always making you aware of events coming up or trying to get you involved,but never in an obtrusive manner."Thanks" Mario and to the rest of the team,you were all great and deserve probably far more than you are paid.We loved the Beach Party the last night we were there and wished that had occured more often.The nightly entertainment tried to involve the guests as much as possible,but unless you like to be the centre of attention,you were probably sitting in the audience,but at the beach party you could get up and dance or just sit out under the stars with a drink and enjoy the band,I think for a lot of people that was a much more comfortable situation.Just a little observation that Management may consider.This was my first all-inclusive vacation,what a way to go.I would without a doubt recommend this Resort and Alberto's beach front restaurant beside the Dive shop.Wonderful Lobster and seafood.We also did a Jeep excursion with "Polaris"!Snorkelling,Tequila Factory,and Mayan ruins,great day, time and money well spent.Small resort,wonderful atmosphere and great staff and food,what more could you ask for.Well maybe a return ticket would be nice!

Room Tip: I don't know if there would have been any rooms more suitable or not.Walking around the small re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,871 - 2,875 of 5,038 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our second trip to Iberostar Cozumel. Great weather, friendly staff, decent food, activities for all ages. No airport problems like at Cancun. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Small buildings with 4 or 5 rooms each. Doesn't really matter where you stay as it is not a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frozencanuck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were at the Iberostar from the 4th to the 18th of February this year and we loved it! While we put a lot of planning into our honeymoon, going to the Iberostar was a last minute switch after seeing all the photos and reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms/buildings were quaint with their bright colors and rustic porches (we were in a second floor unit) and you felt like you had a lot of privacy due to all the beautiful vegitation surrounding them. Initially they were going to put us in a first floor room as they did not have any second floor rooms availabe (which is what we requested) and they would have to move us when one became available, but they found one before we even got down the path and we were able to settle in right away (Thank you Seamuy!). We stayed in 3313 close to the pool area and not far at all from the beach (always my favorite spot). The overall appearance of the resort was relaxing with lots of (not so wild) critters everywhere. The iguanas, parrots, peacocks, etc... added to the charm. For the main dinning area the buffet was pretty impressive with ever changing choices daily that included items such as tuna steak, chateau briand and mousaka, as well as standards that would please even the fussiest diners. The rooms were nice and while there could have been a little more storage, the overall appearance and comfort level was to our taste. I loved the marble floors and the walk in shower. The service overall was excellent and as we were there for 2 weeks, we were able to take advantage of 5 dinner reservations. The Mexican was my favorite and my husband's was the steakhouse. The beach and snorkeling were great and we knew going in that the coral was right there and that was one of the attractions that drew us to the Iberostart. It's also close enough to town to make a trip in relatively pain free (all though it's a little costly at $20 each way), and there was a lot of excursions and activities to take advantage of. We made our way to the show on the resort a number of times, and while it's not Vegas it was fun. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and they recognized it several times with song, champagne and orange juice and good cheer. For Valentines we went for a short walk down the beach to Albertos and had a romantic dinner by tikki torch on the beach (the lobster was excellent). The resort was built in 2000 and time, hurricanes and humidity appear to be the only things that are keeping the Iberostar from being a 5 start resort. Would we go back....definately!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are more exposed to the sun while the north side tended to be more sheltered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KANStaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, Congratulations again! On behalf of the Management and Staff we would like to thank you for sharing your heart-warming review with other travelers on Trip Advisor and for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for this special occasion (honeymoon, Valentine's day and birthday). How wonderful!
Your nice words motivate us to continue working hard to exceed our guests expectations.
We are glad to know, you came back home with such wonderfuf memories.

We look forward to seeing you again soon , it would be our great pleasure to create new memories with you.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

just returned from the iberostar. have been there many times..
if you are looking for a great dive resort, this is the place
location....resort is the closest to the reefs which means shortest boat rides. it cost about $20 cab fare to get to town and about $25 to the airport.

dive operations...dressel divers runs the dive shop. they have good equipment and high quality dive masters. sometimes the boats get a little crowded so if you are a snob diver you should consider another shop.. overall this is a great op and one of the reasons we (and many others) return year after year.

food...i think the quality has improved some. there is plenty of variety..remember its an all inclusive and buffets so its not the ritz.

gym...adequate but limited

beach...great beach but rocky entrance to the ocean...plenty of shade and chairs..bar service at the beach...fantastic sunsets but why does the beach bar close before sunset ??

rooms...small with limited closet space..stocked mini fridge in the rooms..all have hammocks on the porch. taking a shower is an adventure at times and requires patience.

service...above average imo...front desk service and bell service very good..in the lobby there is a board with the names of the returning guests arriving that day..the board is full for a reason.

pool...too cold for me in feb but pool bar and plenty of chairs..kind of loud at times

overall i think this is a great resort especially for divers. each year we discuss going somewhere else but continue to return here becasue of the LOCATION, QUALITY AND VALUE.

Room Tip: buildings 11 and 12 are the best for divers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had a terrific week at the Iberostar Cozumel for Feb 13-20.
Location was far from downtown - but we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Room was perfect size for 2 people. Probably would be a bit crowded for a family of 4. We are not divers but took advantage of the other recreational activities - sailing, kayaking, snorkeling.
Food was okay - good but not great. El Sarape, the Mexican Restuarant was the best. The Steak House was good - except for the steak. Buffets got a little tiring by the end of the week - but we enjoyed the fresh fruit and french fries on a daily basis.
The service was very good - nearly all of the staff was attentive and helpful.
The Star Friends ... the hired entertainers ... spent their days trying to entertain the guests. They were friendly and engaging. They would sing the song "Hey, Hey Baby - I wanna know if you'll be my girl" multiple times each day ... it got old after a while. Also, they would hoot frequently - "Woo-Woo" ... which also got annoying. All-in-all, however, they helped make the week fun.
Highly recommend the Iberostar Cozumel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a generous and complimentary review. It is indeed, so encouraging to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities but also with our service as well and friendly staff.

We certainly look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
11.4 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,888 reviews
4.0 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,306 reviews
10.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
10.0 km away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $197 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing