We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Marques a real bargain”
Review of Hotel El Marques

Hotel El Marques
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Marques
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 26 March 2016

This property is fantastic value for the money, it's all about negotiating the rate. I had a double room and even though the hotel needs a coat of paint, the staff keep it clean and are very nice, I looked at many places in Cozumel and nothing came close for the price, it has TV's in the rooms and AC that if you don't use makes the room rate cheaper, the longer you stay the better the deal, I paid a week in advance. It is secure and in a great location minutes walk from the ferry terminal local restaurants shops and bars, it is also 10 minutes walk to a little local beach and Cafe called Cafe Del Mare that's opposite the army barracks

Room Tip: There is a little disco on the left hand side it's not right next door but close enough maybe ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2016

Run down place. Only one bath towel was given for two of us for the first 2 nights. Bed clothes were awful, sheets were stained and blanket was worn out and had holes in it. I wonder what rooms the other guests got that commented that rooms were clean?
Room was decent size with two double beds. We were right by reception and it was quite noisy, we asked to be moved to a quieter room, but the receptionist said the hotel was fully booked. We only saw 3 other guests the whole time we stayed there! Location was only good thing about this place. 2 minute walk to the main square and the Playa Del Carmen ferry terminal. Cheap accommodation but no frills!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemmedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is clean, quiet and perfect for what we wanted. The staff were friendly and very helpful too. Our room had 2 double beds, loads of storage, TV, cable, fridge, bathroom, shower and wifi. Even though the hotel is right in the centre of town it was so peaceful. Minutes from the port. And all for just £18 a night. We'd highly recommend this hotel, thanks guys!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here for 10 days while vacationing in Cozumel in March, 2014. Not like a resort/American hotel. This is an ideal place for those who don't ask for much. It is a family run hotel that couldn't be any closer to the action. Nice area of town. A block from the beach, half a block from the town square. Walking distance of many restaurants/bars/shopping. Very affordable. Nice clean rooms with 2 double beds, nice bathroom, fridge, desk, TV, and wardrobe. Air conditioning optional. Wonderful balconies overlooking the street. If I had to complain about one thing it would be no Wifi access in room, instead had to walk down hall to a common area. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, the last being the first week of March this year. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean with air conditioning. We always try to get a balcony room. This is a no frills hotel. Bottled water is available from a cooler at the front desk. Make sure you bring your own shampoo. We like it because it is right on the square close enough to walk to all the shops and the ocean. If you are just looking for a place to shower and sleep, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The best room to ask for is 201 as it is the least amount of stairs for a balcony room. It is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharkLoverKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 km away
Bello Caribe Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Sun Suites Cozumel
Sun Suites Cozumel
#36 of 53 in Cozumel
18 reviews
6.4 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,946 reviews
7.7 km away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
4.9 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Marques

Address: Avenida 5 Avenida sur No. 180, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: AU$51 - AU$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Marques 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel El Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Marques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing