We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barracuda
Nearby Hotels
USD 358
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
USD 86
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 284
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 250
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Azul(Cozumel)
USD 200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Las Anclas(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
USD 592
USD 470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
35
65
55
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
65
55
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive paradisecruise shipno elevatorswim up barmega martsmall tvhotel guestsdaily maid serviceroom fridgeenglish channelsenjoyed my staysandy areabeach sidetacosecond weekfresh towelsla choza
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

I had a terrible experience there. My wife and I rented two Jet-Ski for half an hour and we left our bags we the personal that booked the Jet-Ski for us thinking that our property would be safe. Wrong!!! This people got into my bag and stole my wife cellphone "Samsung Galaxy S7 edge gold color with a clear cover" that we just got for the trip. We lost all our vacation pictures and memories. It was horrible! They didn't admit anything even though there were acting really nervous. Definitely not going back to that place in Cozumel Mexico!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank giovcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

we donpt rent jet sky at the property,please let us know if was at Barracuda, we clear any problem inmediately.probaby was not at barracuda hotel I donpt know why this comment are at our space, anyway, my personal e-mail to make clear is
barracudahotelczm@prodigy.net.mx I need more details to help you if the problem was SPECIFIC AT BARRACUDA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Mixed feelings on this place, but have to say that I would go back. Right on the water, decent snorkeling right in front of the hotel, nice pool (rare in Cozumel) with swim-up bar, nice sunning area and good location. The music isn't what I like on vacation (rap/pop), but fun for the partiers. The NoName bar owns the pool and restaurant/bar and they cater to the cruise ship crews, so they are not there to please the folks staying in the hotel. You can bring your drinks/snacks to a nice area over in front of the hotel, though (just grab from the Mega Mart right across the street).

You are just about a half mile from the town plaza and it's a fun walk past the shops (tequila tasting, anyone?) and on the waterfront. Go in the evening for the fountain light show every hour... very pretty.

Note- there was a sudden, big storm and the room flooded. Took us awhile to clean it up. Also, no warm water for the shower. Beds were decent (I am picky and I slept ok).

Staff is ok- they aren't particularly outgoing or happy, more authentic and pleasant. The woman that checked us in was very sweet, but didn't see her often.

They will make you sign for everything- towels, key, remote, etc. and they mean business. No room safe and you can't put anything in the front desk safe unless it fits in an 8x11 envelope. Seriously. And theft seems to be an issue on the premises- lots of warnings.

Activities - Booked a snorkeling 5 hour, AI catamaran tour from the man/woman out front. Was VERY fun and a highlight... and good pricing. Money Bar is fun and a cheap cab ride away (~$6). Town plaza at night.

Food- Lobster Shack, Quattro Taco and Jeanie's were our faves. Pastries and coffee from Mega Mart were good for breakfast.

Enjoy your vacation!!! ❤️

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AlthaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Awesome place, this was our second time staying! We like that it's on the ocean, close to restaurants, bars, and shopping. Staff are always pleasant and very nice!

Beds are fine, hot water, fridge, and AC works!

Wish there was a safe but we utilized the front desk.

Will be back next year!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank nschrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for your comments. it was a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We stayed at Hotel Barracuda in Cozumel, from March 31, 2017 until April 7, 2017. If you don’t need many amenities and want a simple place to stay close to most everything, this may be for you. Hotel Barracuda offers a great view of the water from most rooms. We tried several rooms, 311 and 401, before settling in room 303 the next day. It looks like the rooms with the vest views (and the larger rooms) are 202-209, and 302-309. We would not recommend the 4th floor as it overlooks a roof, be aware some rooms are smaller than others. Also there is no elevator so that may also be a consideration for some. Management had no problem moving us to a room we liked, though it did take a day. Save yourself some time and request a room in the range I described. Our room, 303, had a good ac, a ceiling fan with adjustable speeds, and comfortable bed with a pillow top mattress. We did turn the mattress around as it seemed to have a soft spot near our backs. It is a double bed and not a queen as advertised in some places. We had cable TV (with some channels in English) but only about a 20” (at best) analog TV. The rooms have no microwave, no coffee maker, no phone, and only a small refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby. The shower is adequate but be careful. I found the hot water really hot and the temperature tricky to adjust. I turned on the cold then very slowly turned on the hot until it was at a comfortable temperature. The bathroom itself stayed very warm. Signs near the toilet state all toilet paper should go in the trash can not in the toilet as it could cause plumbing problems. The room was clean and quiet with no noise from nearby rooms though some crowd noise could be heard at times, from the pool area. The hotel and pool area are also well maintained and clean. There is a daily maid service. There are several “suites” available which advertise more amenities but we did not see those. Electrical outlets are sparse and some do not offer a grounded (three prong) outlet. We brought a multi-outlet extension cord. A two to three prong adapter might also be helpful. Our room did not have room darkening shades so at this time of year; it was getting fairly bright in our room at about 6:30 am.
We did not see any ice machines though cheap bags of ice could be purchased from the “Mega Store”(think of Wal-Mart) across the street. This store has anything you could possibly want including beer, wine, and liquor. We bought our drinking water there also. While we did not see any signs saying you could not drink the water at the hotel we erred on the side of caution and bought purified water in a sealed container.
They have a restaurant and bar on the premises (the “No Name Bar”) and they offer a 15% discount to hotel guests. Even with the discount, their prices are on the steep side and more reasonably priced restaurants and bars are only a short walk away. We ate at “Jeanie’s”, next door, the “Tex-Mex/Noodle House” across the street, and “Woodys” in the market square.
The pool was clean for the most part and the area around the pool had nice tables with umbrellas though that area is reserved for paying customers from the No Name Bar. Hotel guests have their own small area to the right. Music is played outside throughout the day, though they occasionally play rap high in profanity. The pool is deep, i.e., 5 ft. in some areas and they have a swim up bar with stools.
If you want to dive or snorkel, Dive Paradise is on site and other dive shops are within walking distance, including my favorite, Deportes Aquaticos with Sergio.
We like Hotel Barracuda and will go back, though lacking in some creature comforts, it is near everything we like to do—shop, eat, dive, and enjoy the sun. The crowd tends to be younger than us but that’s OK too.

Room Tip: See the review. 302-309 and 202-209 are probably best
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thanks for you visit and your comments , that help us to be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

First time at this place, but been going to Cozumel since 2004. Perfect for divers; great location; clean; nice staff; and on the water. Fun to watch the cruise ships come and go daily. It is not a luxury hotel and can be noisy at the pool and bar during the day. But, if you want to dive, eat at the downtown restaurants, walk everywhere and not spend a wad on a vacation, look no further. MEGA (local Walmart) is across the street so you can run over there for essentials and keep snacks and drinks on hand. I'll definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Alberto G, Gerente at Barracuda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks for your comments. that help us to be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews