We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, ok food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, ok food”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Super nice people. Genuinely seemed to care about our experience. The lock on the room doors where a joke. Was able to get into room just with a credit card. My home bathroom has a better lock on it. No deadbolt or chain as well.
Breakfast was very good, food in nice restaurant was very nice. The food at the main restaurant wasn't great. For some reason took forever to get food. Don't know if kitchen was understaffed but there were few guests so no reason it took that long.
SPA is located up against a road and the noise really prevented good relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
156
289
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Overall this is a very nice quiet hotel. It is not located next to all the other hotels, restaurants and shopping, but it's only a $7 cab ride to get there. That is good, because it is way more quiet here than the other hotels. It is also quite small in comparison, which is also good, because it is quieter.

The breakfast was very good, as well as the snack bar for things like nachos on the beach. And the beach right on the resort is not that big by any means, but we never had a problem finding a chair and umbrella. Also, you can get free snorkel gear at the hotel. So many fish right there at the hotel beach!

The rooms were clean and a good size. The hotel looks a bit dated, but it is still unkept very nicely. There is a pool on site (small), two bars, two restaurants, and a Spa for massages. In addition there is a rental/tour shop for snorkel, scuba diving, parasailing etc.

Overall the stay here was awesome and would do it again!

Room Tip: Short and cheap cab ride to shopping and airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived on New Year's Eve (stayed 8 nights) and were delighted with our room: a standard with a nicely furnished balcony and a great view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Simply but nicely furnished. We would be there only one night, as a suite was opening up the next day. It faced the pool and Sea, also, but was larger with a living area and extra tv, and a huge balcony. We went to the hotel's New Year's dinner celebration--it was delicious. The hotel has an all-inclusive option, but as we had a car, and like trying different restaurants, we decided to only include breakfast, which is included for everyone anyway.
Breakfast at Playa Azul was a phenomenal breakfast, with both traditional Mexican items as well as omelettes made to order and waffles made to order, as well as fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc, and delicious coffee. They would give you the coffee to go, also; but we had brought large coffee cups from home, so our to go coffee would last us. It was so much food, we really could have skipped lunch, and did most days. I should also mention that the restaurant where you eat breakfast has a beautiful view of the sea.
Everyday, for 8 days, my husband went first thing, after breakfast, and played golf down the road at the country clulb. The golf green fees are included for free in the room rate, as the hotel owners were founding fathers of the country club, all of their guests get to golf for free. However, you must take a cart, which is $30 per day. No one is allowed to walk,and you wouldn't want to, because there are alligators, or crocs, not sure which, wild boar, and other wild life roaming around. Very interesting!!!! He loved it. Everyday, while he golfed, I walked the beach, which was beautiful, snorkeled (right in front of hotel, and several hundred feet north, too) and went for 90 minutes to the spa. The spa at the hotel is marvelous! I bought one of their packages so that I could get the treatments everyday (but sunday--they are closed). It is very affordable, and when you get the packages, even more so.
When my husband returned, we either went for a snorkel at the hotel, or hopped in the car and drove to another beach and snorkeled. There was a norte three days while we were there, and we just hopped in our car and went to the east coast which was a lot of fun. During a norte,the sea on the east coast is much calmer. It is equally beautiful as the west coast, where the hotels are. The other five days, the west coast was just fine for snorkeling, much calmer. By the way, the water temp was warmer than the air, although the air temp was a great 78-80 everyday. Very comy to swim and great outdoor weather for all of our activities.
The hospitality at the hotel is wonderful Everyone is very friendly, and the bar on the beach is staffed by wonderful people. The chaise lounges on the beach and at the pool are very comfy and there are plenty of palapas providing shade. There is a nice beach party at the Playa Azul Beach Club (next door) on Sundays with nice music.
I should mention that downtown Cozumel is very charming. Lots to see and do and very clean with great shops and restaurants. Parking was at times hard to find, but there were also some parking lots. We always felt safe on the island, although of course, you can't ever let your guard down while traveling (for that matter, anywhere, anytime).
We will defintiely stay at Playa Azul again. It is very moderately priced, and value to cost makes it one of the most affordable vacations we have ever taken. And it was definitely the most relaxing vacation we have taken. We look forward to returning. Grams98

Room Tip: Even the least expensive room has a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grams98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This small property offers quiet respite. And, we mean quiet. The week we stayed (March 14-21) almost everyone was our age - mid 50s - or older. This suits us fine. There were plenty of screaming college kids on the other end of the island so if we needed a fix of spring breakers we knew where to go - NOT!

The hotel is older and somewhat dated but elegant, the way we picture ourselves. The rooms were clean. We had a suite which was huge. Next time we would probably go for a regular room although we had a spectacular straight-on view of the ocean from Room 216. If you are travelling in a group you might have one couple reserve a suite for gatherinsg and everyone else in a regular room.

The staff - from management to maintenance - was gracious, friendly, warm and happy. Many of them have worked there ten years and more.

The food was good, but not fantastic. We took the all inclusive option and probably did okay what with the afternoons sipping beers and magarittas on the beach and the lunches we had. We quickly tired of eating three meals a day in the same restaurant. A short walk down the beach we discovered Buccanos Beach Club which is open for dinner Friday and Saturday evening and we highly recommend it. We also enjoyed several intown restaurants for lunch and dinner.

We rented a jeep one day and a car another day. A taxi into town was $7 one way.

This was our fourth Mexican vacation and while we loved Cozumel and Playa Azul we think it's a one time vacation spot for us. Cozumel is a diver/snorkeler's dream and we do neither. While I'm perfectly content to lay by the pool and read in the sun hubby gets a little antsy with that after a day or too.

Folks playing golf raved about the course and it is just a couple minutes away by taxi. I would have walked to it if I was going to play. There is a lovely paved, wide bike/walk/job lane that runs the entire seven miles into town. We talked with folks that walked back and forth every day. It's perfectly safe there.

If you are looking for a quiet, out of the way hotel with eager friendly staff we hightly recommend Playa Azul.

Room Tip: The suites have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericangirlMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just back to the US from my 5th one-week stay in 7 years at Playa Azul and we are already talking about next year. Playa Azul provides a totally relaxing environment with a beach just steps away, every room facing the ocean, great staff and a clean safe at-home feel. This hotel is a great value with full breakfast included, great menu and 18 holes of golf at cart fees only. Whatever you do, be sure to take advantage of the spa specials, you will not regret it. Spend about 1/2 of what they charge at the big hotels on the island for the same treatments, better in fact because the owners and spa staff truly care about your spa experience.
Very close proximity to Downtown and the Airport with low cab fares.
While my boyfriend wished there were better cable TV stations available in the rooms, I found the break from Fox News refreshing. And if I could change one thing, maybe softer towels would be nice but that is not enough to stop me from booking again at Playa Azul anytime we are in Cozumel.

Room Tip: I prefer the 1st floor rooms and being just steps from the beach however the views and privacy on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spabeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,060 reviews
5.9 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,169 reviews
0.5 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
8.6 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): $228 - $297
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing