We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained and peaceful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residencias Reef Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I would highly recommend Residencias Reef with one caveat. You need to rent a car or gulf cart. This actually enhances the overall experience and I would recommend this option over staying at one of the "central" locations. This gives you the freedom of exploring the entire island and then returning to a peaceful setting at Residencias Reef. Exploring the island was a highlight. You can buy groceries and literally stay there the entire time because the pier is right in front of the residences and shared with the Secrets resort. I did a ton of snorkeling right in front of the property, it is fantastic. This is the BEST location for snorkeling and swimming in general in all of Cozumel. It has the calmest and most beautiful waters. We also signed up for a three island tour from Secrets resort next door. That was definitely a highlight and a MUST. Especially considering it is so inexpensive, I think it was 30 bucks each person and that included all the gear needed. Keep in mind that the beach is mostly reefs, but you can lay and snorkel right out from Residencias reef, don't walk over it to get out. You can also use the Secrets beach and that is nice, you just can't lay on their chairs but who the heck wants to do that when you have a "private" residence right next door! The nicest beach without any rocks will be Palancar which is a few minutes from Residencias Reef. The grounds are immaculately kept at Residencias and is gated.The pool overlooking the ocean is wonderful. There is a food stand walking distance and right next to Res. Reef that is AMAZING. That is your only 'walking" food option other than paying or a day pass of all you can eat at Secrets. Residencias Reef Security monitors the beachfront very well. This will be the most private option because of this. All of the other beachfront are overrun with the Cruise ship crowd everyday except Sunday. Go to Palancar on Sunday! Met a few of the local owners. Lots of Canadians! I went to all of the highly rated, non touristy restaurants and they were all spectacular and inexpensive. Overall it was one of the best vacation experiences because of the combination of adventure and the best of the beach/reef and peaceful location. I stayed at condo 8240. Interestingly enough this is a great option for both couples and families. Having a full kitchen and pool and beach right in front is a wonderful option for a family, not to mention cost effective. I will be going to Hotbox and Isla Mujeres next.

Room Tip: Rent a car.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Residencias Reef Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Here are the pros.. .right on the beach, fall asleep listening to the water lapping at the shore...could consider that priceless itself. Gorgeous views of the ocean, watch lit cruise ships go by at night. 2 balconies on the main floor, one balcony on the second floor, kids bedroom far from master bedroom, upstairs bedroom perfect for teenagers or older kids, beautiful bathrooms. Lovely living area. Here are the cons..rickety spiral staircase to 2nd floor, washer/dryer up those rickety stairs, can hear every noise from 2nd floor bedroom above you, third floor walkup...a pro is that I lost weight carrying my 2 year old up and down 3 flights of stairs all the time...but to me the biggest reason not to spend the extra $150 a night ( over a 2 bedroom in a different building) is the adults only resort next door has a beach party that sounds like it's in your apt every Friday and Saturday night...it ends at a very reasonable time before 10 pm but imagine trying to relax while they're shrieking and one song actually had only this lyric "louder" ..I'm not kidding. You can't hear it at all from the other buildings.
Otherwise Residencias Reef as a whole is wonderful..private condos...2 heated pools, on the beach. If you have little kids avoid the grouches who pull their beach chairs up to within an inch of the pool, and then get angry when your kids jump in the pool and they get splashed. If you don't want to get splashed move a few feet from the pool, people! So if you have little kids walk 5 minutes to Paradise Beach which has the most gorgeous heated huge pool and great music and drinks and beach floats out in the water to play on. That's my happy place...very inexpensive all day fun. I would stay at Residencias Reef just to be able to walk to Paradise Beach.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Deborah525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Beautiful condominium, well kept on gorgeous beach. If you like the condo thing this is a great spot! We stayed for a week, 2 adults, 1 teen and 1 child. The unit was spacious with a phenomenal view. Easy rental process, no issues at all. The development is very well kept and has two beautiful pools with a hot tub. The sandy beach gives you access to several beach clubs where you can find everything (hair braiding, henna tattoos, massages, jet skis, lunch, etc.) a few steps away. You can snorkel right at your beach and there is a lot to see. The condo development is some what quiet and I do recommend a car to get around. The grocery stores are easy to find and offer everything. We drove to town most nights, driving is quite easy as was the rental car process but be prepared to pay - it's not cheap like the US. We did utilize the cook service, we loved it! Marsielle (and her daughter) prepared the food perfectly and cleaned everything up too. Cook service definitely a highlight of the trip although we only had it for 3 days because we wanted to experience the restaurants as well. We love Cozumel and enjoy going out there to experience the island. Although the condo was phenomenal and if you like that I highly recommend Residencias Reef - we had unit #6240. A ground level unit with walk up balcony for easy access might but nice, but you cannot beat the view from the unit we rented - 2nd floor with wrap around balcony. We don't know that we would do it again as a family (maybe with couples) a hotel with breakfast included but not all-inclusive might be perfect for us -- offers good flexibility for what we like to do in Cozumel. I don't think you can go wrong in Cozumel - just a safe, friendly, beautiful island!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank QuadrupleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Fantastic stay this year at Residencias Reef. This was our second trip here, brought the kids for a week of sun and it was perfect. Bring water shoes and your own snorkel equipment, it's easy to snorkel right off the pier - we saw hundreds of tropical fish, everyday. Take a trip to the other side of the island to visit Coconuts for lunch. Also spent a day at Paradise Beach (within walking distance) to let the kids jump/play on the slides/trampolines. Renting a car is easy, there are great walking/biking roads here as well. We stopped at the Mega Mart for groceries, and did most dinners out. Really enjoy being away from the hussle of downtown Cozumel (cruise ships, etc-no thanks) Residencias is quieter, though not overly quiet. Met plenty of nice people on the beach, watched some gorgeous sunsets. If you're into renting homes right on the beach and going it your own way to see some local culture/cuisine -- this is your place!

Room Tip: Building 4 is great
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it was really nice. We had the best condo in this resort. #5140 through VRBO. Others commented on the awesome location of our place. On the corner next to the pool and easy access to the beach---just seconds away. The pool and grounds are super well kept. The ground crew is so nice and the woman who cleaned our place was so thorough. A very well run resort with no salesman around to pester you! The beach out front is pretty and you can carefully get into the water at certain points bc of the rocks and coral. Pretty good snorkeling there and under the nearby pier and along the shore going towards the other resorts. A nice quiet place for families or older people who don't want the party scene. My teenage boy got a little bored but had fun. Carlos and Charlie's is an easy walk for some more fun. Highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank karlynr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.6 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 km away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.1 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,235 reviews
3.9 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
4,972 reviews
2.5 km away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencias Reef Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencias Reef Condos

Address: San Francisco Beach, Cozumel, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious beachfront condo development combining exclusive tropical living with white sandy beach and Turquoise Caribbean waters. From studios to 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residencias Reef Condos Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing