We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Cenote Ik kil
from USD 89.00
More Info
from USD 504.00
More Info
from USD 60.80
More Info
Reviews (6,123)
Filter reviews
6,123 results
Traveller rating
3,544
1,676
598
183
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,544
1,676
598
183
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life jackets treading water changing rooms rent a locker jump off sink hole water level fish swimming cool off natural wonder tour buses unique experience chichen itza tour refreshing swim on site buffet lunch yucatan peninsula
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 6,123 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2019

You can take a quick dip anywhere, but just being in a cenote is an amazing experience! Take towels and bathing suit, and wear water shoes or flip flops, the steps and walkways are course and slippery. I wish I had the nerve for the high dive-- those who did it seemed to be having the most fun!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

Totally worth a visit! Simply spectacular and amazing. Jump off the highest platform into the 150' deep water! If you're not in BOTH great physical condition AND an excellent swimmer, do yourself an immense favor and rent the life jacket. (I didn't have to, but my wife should have.) This was an unforgettable moment in our vacation.

The onsite buffet restaurant is a decent deal too!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank FotoGrafik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

This cenote was so refreshing on such a hot day! I wish we could have stayed there longer. It was very relaxing and not too crowded. The changing rooms were well organized and clean. The staff were helpful. It was absolutely one of the best things we did while in Cancun! We will go back again but this time we will probably go on our own so we can stay there a little longer.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Emmiesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

IK KIL Cenote
Cenotes (in the Mayan language, "dzonot") were important part of the Mayan life. In Yucatan, we can not find rivers and therefore cenotes were, among other things, the source of a very important commodity - drinking water. Individual cenotes are intertwined by underground channels of water many times, and therefore cenotes can be said to constitute an underground rivers network. Cenotes represented sacred and ritual places for Mayan culture and represented for them (some form of portal) to Xialba (world and life on another side and another level). They also believed that these sacred places were protected by Mayas kind of goblin - Alux (plural - Aluxob) and when entering the cenote, it was appropriate to ask permission of him.
Cenote can be found in almost every major Mayan monument. It is estimated that there are about 6000 in Yucatan, but at present they are documented and explored around 2400. The most important are Ik Kil, Grand cenote, Segrado cenote and Dos ojos.
Ik kil is just a short walk from the world-famous monument of Chichen Itza and the town of Piste, towards Valladolid. Admission is 70 MXN (35MXN children) and I recommend to visit it as one-day trip with Chichen Itza. Of course in order - Firstly cultural experience in Chichen Itza, and then a pleasant chill (especially during hot days) in Ik Kil.
Unlike other cenotes, Ik Kil is well-equipped with restaurants, showers, toilets, lockers, parking and even accommodation.
A breathtaking look at the Ik Kil cenote is from above, where you can see a deep blue lagoon deep below you, where little people jump while the long vegetation fall from the top and almost to the water surface. Amazing view is also from the cenote itself upwards, where you can see long ropes of plants, green vegetation and falling water. Before entering the cenote, you are asked to take a shower, in particular to avoid contamination and disruption of the fragile ecosystem inside the cenote (by suncremes, etc.). To the cenote descend down the maintained but wet stairs, 26m down. Already the road itself and the passage of rock form a wonderful atmosphere and in good conditions, it is possible to capture a few beautiful shots. At the cenote level are built stone steps from where, if you have the courage, you can jump into the water and swim. Jumping is a plus-minus run by employees and supervisors, who are particularly concerned with safety. The water is pleasantly cool (but not very cold) as expected. Out of it you can get comfortably up by the wooden stairs with railing (watch slippery!).
In 2010, 2011 and 2014, Ik Kil hosted the RedBull Cliff Diving World Series.
Ik kil cenote was sacred to Mayan god Chaac dazda (also Chac, Chaak, Chaakh ..), is approximately 40 meters deep and its diameter is about 60 meters. On her bottom were among other things found skeletal remains, jewelry and various ritual objects.
Ik Kil is a very nice and picturesque place and will certainly be written deep in your memories. I highly recommend his visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
5  Thank david55599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

After a tour of Chichen Itza this was exactly what was needed to cool off. There’s lockers available to store your things. Our advice would be to get there before all the tour buses arrive when you get there at the correct time it’s an amazing experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank GGamez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews