We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time in Cancun”
Review of Club Regina Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Regina Cancun
Ranked #90 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Relaxing time in Cancun”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I were in Cancun from 1/22 to 1/28/2012. The resort was quite and peaceful. Jorge, the entertainment director, is great. He is there everyday for you. He takes you on a daily bike ride, plays black jack, bingo, bowling, horseshoes, karaoke, etc. He remembers everyones name and was just a joy to be around. We now know how to do the Salsa and Marriuchi (sp).

The hotel itself was fine, slower pace than most, which is relaxing.

I would come back to Club Regina because of Jorge, he was the best

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    96
    61
    20
    31
See reviews for
117
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I were at the Club Regina from 1/22/12 to 1/29/12 and enjoyed it immensely and will return. We were very impressed with Jorge the entertainment director. He has a great deal of energy and always getting something going. Our favorites were the daily bike ride at 9:30am and the Karaoke which is on Sunday and Wednesday nights. We also enjoyed the pool side happy hour and the shrimp fajitas.
Thanks Jorge for making this a great vacation!!
Brian and Jane from Chicago!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A friend and I recently went to Cancun for a girls trip and stayed at the Club Regina. We had such an amazing time getting to know the time share holders that come stay every year and participating in all the fun activities the entertainment staff provided! The entertainment staff made sure we had a great time and we did! We could not have asked for a more fun entertainment staff and hope we can come back to see our new friends again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseabrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were at Club Regina for 9 days and were treated so well we didn't want to leave. Jorge was there every day to play blackjack,poker, volleyball, soccer. Aldo came in the middle of our stay and is a great addition to the entertainment staff. Both these guys worked extremely hard to make sure we were happy and were the best part of our stay! We met great people we will never forget Jorge,Aldo, Diana, Marlena, Phillipe, Ivan, thank you for a trip we won't forget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmeethyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The review is a revision of my Jan 2010 review of the Club Regina Cancun property. Club Regina is managed by Raintree Vacation Club (RVC), and is an aging property. It is quiet, small and cozy, and a lot of the RVC members (of which I'm one) I talked to come down for 4-12 weeks every year. Of course, that means they're retired and want to get away from the snow. My wife and I are in our 50's, and we were among the youngest guests there.

The beach, which I classified as "perfect" in Jan 2010, is FAR from perfect now. It has eroded away all the way to the concrete wall at the pool area, and drops about 6 feet in spots. Apparently Cancun had two near misses during the 2011 Hurricane season, and the erosion was horrific. My wife and I walked the beach a bit, and it seems to be the only time-share resort affected (also the Westin Hotel next door). If you love laying on a beach, I do not recommend the Club Regina right now.

Our room was average, but the Club needs a lot of maintenance work. It is aging badly, and during the second week of our stay, we had the maintenance crew in our room daily. The water was very rusty at times, and the showers fluctuated between scaulding and freezing. The rooms are oriented badly, so the rooms on the Ocean side are in the shade in the winter months from about 9 AM on. The pools are in the shade from about 10 AM on.

The staff was friendly and accomodating, and the activities Director, Jorge, was fun. He got people up and moving, and worked with aging guests and equipment well. My wife loved the (tiny) spa, and she wanted to take the Massuer, Israel, home with us! The Hotel manager was always courteous, and worked hard to make our stay comfortable, despite the material condition of our room. The rooms look nice, but the hotel infrastructure is aging, and needs to be renovated. The Kitchens have recently been updated, and there are new refrigerators, countertops, Microwave/Convection ovens, range tops, and cabinets. All the TVs are HD plasmas, and the sofas and tables are in good condition.

The beds are TERRIBLE, however. The matresses are hard as bricks, and the linens were all stained to various degrees. We pulled the blankets back on the first night, and there large black stains on our sheets. We complained to the night manager, and new sheets were quickly brought to the door. Despite their promptness at replacing the sheets, these sheets should never have been placed on a guest bed.

My final thoughts on this property are that it is quiet and restful, the hotel has an attentive staff, and the food was adequate; however, the physical plant is aging and needs to be closed for a period of time for a top to bottom renovation - especially its plumbing infrastructure. The beach needs to be replaced, but that probably entails working with the Government of Mexico or the State of Quintana Roo.

Room Tip: In the winter Months, get a room facing the lagoon because you get afternoon sun and a beautiful sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fellowtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 km away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 127 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Cancun Beach ApartHotel
#71 of 127 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.7 km away
Bsea Cancun Plaza
Bsea Cancun Plaza
#26 of 127 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.6 km away
Oleo Cancun Playa
Oleo Cancun Playa
#97 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.7 km away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Cancun

Property: Club Regina Cancun
Address: Kilometro 20, Blvd. Kukulcan Zona Hotelera | at the Westin Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): $432 - $736
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Regina Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Wotif.com so you can book your Club Regina Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing