We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wash/Blow Dry”
Review of Bamboo Spa

Bamboo Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Spas & Wellness in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just had my hair washed and blow dried by Karina and got the extra conditioning. I love it and feels so soft. Was able to get in right away - when I had an hour to escape while the kids were napping. Great service.

Thank LanaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"deep tissue"
in 57 reviews
"swedish massage"
in 52 reviews
"great massage"
in 47 reviews
"hotel spa"
in 20 reviews
"riu palace"
in 24 reviews
"mani pedi"
in 13 reviews
"gel manicure"
in 6 reviews
"foot massage"
in 6 reviews
"great price"
in 14 reviews
"cancun vacation"
in 6 reviews
"great service"
in 18 reviews
"our honeymoon"
in 6 reviews
"hotel zone"
in 11 reviews
"gloria"
in 52 reviews
"therapist"
in 48 reviews
"edna"
in 28 reviews
"knots"
in 15 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Coming from cold New York, beating the heat was a bit of a triumph considering the humidity and sometimes stagnant air. After days of being on our feet, my friend and I decided to get massages. Edna did mine and she was beyond all expectations. I was in heaven. Between her, my friend’s masseuse, Edna, and myself, we were all laughing in a joint room. I felt rejuvenated and in a much better state after leaving. She worked out the many, many knots that scatter my body and did a fantastic massage that was more than worth the money. I would recommend for anyone - just a day off your feet and to escape the sunshine after you’re feeling like burnt toast.

Thank iRoxxi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Imagine this:

You're told you could get a wax immediately, so you stop and sit and wait. You are offered a water. 15 minutes later, you're still sitting and no one explains anything to you. After 20 minutes, you ask what's going on and they say - just wait 5 minutes. Anyway you end up waiting close to 40 minutes before being led by a lady into a murky dark room that also served as a storage unit for the rest of the "spa".
It looked like the kind of place they'd drug you and harvest your organs.

You were told to strip and lie on a bench - all under the watchful eye of the lady who will be waxing you. Bench had grimy towel spread on it - and she basically gave you no privacy to cover yourself.

You lay down and wonder what you got yourself into - but since you've already paid you decide - whatever, let's just do this.

You ask if she uses hard wax - she says yes, but it isn't hard wax. She also double dips, or actually - she just used one stick throughout the session - which was downright unhygienic and eww.

Throughout the session, she manhandles you like you're in a terrible porn flick - at one point her head was under your thigh which you were told to prop up and hold (yes).

When all was done and stripped (got a landing strip and it was the worst landing strip that i've ever seen. Off center and looks like someone's bad drunken mistake) - she stood there and eyes you like an eagle as you huffily pull your pants back up.

Hands down the most awkward wax experience i've ever had - and I've had plenty. They might be better at massaging you, I wouldn't know, but I would never step foot here again.

Thank licensed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboohairspa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bamboo Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Madame!

I am very sorry for your bad experience in Bamboo.
The reason why we are making you wait is because we do not heat the wax the whole day, it can get burnt and doesn´t work the same way.
We are operating for 10 years now and have just started a renovation. I think that is the reason why you had some extra boxes in the waxing room, but you can ask our clients now it is very nice, new and in perfect condition.
We have never druged any of our clients, sorry that you have felt drugged....and obviously never harvested any organs....I think that is a little bit rude to say.
We use warm wax for sensible skin, which worked for us so far much better than the hard wax, since can be manipulated better in curves.
Unfortunatelly the brasilian waxing is a service where we have to have you without underwear, so the cleaning is well done and yes, sometimes it feels wierd.
I hope my explanation helped to clear the misunderstandings.

Regards: Katalina Dizei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Esmarelda and Jessica did our foot massage and it was the best. They where professional and great at the job. They spoke to us in English and helped us learn Spanish too. Was a lot of fun, I would definitely go back.

Thank Noorsultana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I recently visited the Bamboo Spa for a haircut & hair coloring and had a wonderful experience! Karina was my stylist and she did a great job!

Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Spa also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bamboo Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing