We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great service

Saw Edna for a massage and facial today. She is fluent in English which makes it easy to... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lookinfordealsmb
via mobile
One of the best massages of my life!

Jessica and Edna gave us the best massages! Relaxing and clean facilities. We even decided to do... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Sarah S
via mobile
Read all 814 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cancun
from USD 84.00
More Info
from USD 77.00
More Info
from USD 64.90
More Info
from USD 109.00
More Info
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
697
88
11
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
88
11
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deep tissue couples massage swedish massage great massage hotel spa full body massage mani pedi riu palace fish therapy body wrap hour massage foot massage gel manicure great price visit cancun great service hotel zone
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Coming from cold New York, beating the heat was a bit of a triumph considering the humidity and sometimes stagnant air. After days of being on our feet, my friend and I decided to get massages. Edna did mine and she was beyond all expectations. I was in heaven. Between her, my friend’s masseuse, Edna, and myself, we were all laughing in a joint room. I felt rejuvenated and in a much better state after leaving. She worked out the many, many knots that scatter my body and did a fantastic massage that was more than worth the money. I would recommend for anyone - just a day off your feet and to escape the sunshine after you’re feeling like burnt toast.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank iRoxxi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Imagine this:

You're told you could get a wax immediately, so you stop and sit and wait. You are offered a water. 15 minutes later, you're still sitting and no one explains anything to you. After 20 minutes, you ask what's going on and they say - just wait 5 minutes. Anyway you end up waiting close to 40 minutes before being led by a lady into a murky dark room that also served as a storage unit for the rest of the "spa".
It looked like the kind of place they'd drug you and harvest your organs.

You were told to strip and lie on a bench - all under the watchful eye of the lady who will be waxing you. Bench had grimy towel spread on it - and she basically gave you no privacy to cover yourself.

You lay down and wonder what you got yourself into - but since you've already paid you decide - whatever, let's just do this.

You ask if she uses hard wax - she says yes, but it isn't hard wax. She also double dips, or actually - she just used one stick throughout the session - which was downright unhygienic and eww.

Throughout the session, she manhandles you like you're in a terrible porn flick - at one point her head was under your thigh which you were told to prop up and hold (yes).

When all was done and stripped (got a landing strip and it was the worst landing strip that i've ever seen. Off center and looks like someone's bad drunken mistake) - she stood there and eyes you like an eagle as you huffily pull your pants back up.

Hands down the most awkward wax experience i've ever had - and I've had plenty. They might be better at massaging you, I wouldn't know, but I would never step foot here again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank licensed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboohairspa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bamboo Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Madame!

I am very sorry for your bad experience in Bamboo.
The reason why we are making you wait is because we do not heat the wax the whole day, it can get burnt and doesn´t work the same way.
We are operating for 10 years now and have just started a renovation. I think that is the reason why you had some extra boxes in the waxing room, but you can ask our clients now it is very nice, new and in perfect condition.
We have never druged any of our clients, sorry that you have felt drugged....and obviously never harvested any organs....I think that is a little bit rude to say.
We use warm wax for sensible skin, which worked for us so far much better than the hard wax, since can be manipulated better in curves.
Unfortunatelly the brasilian waxing is a service where we have to have you without underwear, so the cleaning is well done and yes, sometimes it feels wierd.
I hope my explanation helped to clear the misunderstandings.

Regards: Katalina Dizei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Esmarelda and Jessica did our foot massage and it was the best. They where professional and great at the job. They spoke to us in English and helped us learn Spanish too. Was a lot of fun, I would definitely go back.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Noorsultana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I recently visited the Bamboo Spa for a haircut & hair coloring and had a wonderful experience! Karina was my stylist and she did a great job!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 158desireel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My friends and I stayed at the RIU across the street from the Bamboo Spa. Instead of paying astronomical prices at the resort spa, we jumped across the street and we are so thrilled that we did! We enjoyed our 90 min. relaxation massages so much, that 2 of us returned for a second 60 min. later in the week. Alexandria, Norma, and Jessica were gems! I would definitely recommend this spa if you want to relax and add to your vacation!

Date of experience: March 2018
5  Thank Jill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews