We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well maintained/ friendly staff”
Review of Coral Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Mar
Ranked #79 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The units and grounds are well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful on recommending restaurants and area information. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit from 3-3 to 3-10-2012. Unit was cleaned exceptionally well everyday. We were surprised to find that there was no safe in the units. The pool area was nice (but very cool) and there was no shortage of lounge chairs both in and out of the sun. There was also a sandy area with loungers that looked out over the lagoon. This is a nice resort if you don't want to leave the resort very often as it is 1 1/2 mile walk each way to the main road to get the bus. We would usually walk out to the bus and then take a taxi back as it was less expensive to return to the resort. The onsite restaurant has good food and the pizza restaurant up the road is very good and will deliver to the resort. There was wi-fi available for a small fee but we could only access it from outside. It is nice to have an option for a small resort that is not all inclusive. Not only do you save money but you also have the opportunity to visit some very good restaurants in the area.
We probably will not stay at this resort again though due to the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bill37611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Coral Mar on a RCI timeshare exchange after two weeks at a more upscale resort further out in the Hotel Zone. Our unit was comfortable and clean, and we were pleased with the fully equipped kitchen. Staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. A well-stocked lending library (in alphabetical order) provided plenty of reading materials. The resort has done a nice job of creating a manmade sandy beach with a beautiful view of the lagoon in addition to providing a small pool, all equipped with reclining chairs. We were given a starter kit of a large bottle of purified water and a few other supplies. The resort's mini-market offered both packaged and fresh foods at reasonable prices. A helpful tour desk provided many types of tours. This small resort did not offer daily activities but assumed that we would be away during the day or lounging with our books. We also enjoyed a fairly reliable wireless Internet service that was available for $5 for the week. Several downsides to the resort detracted from the generally pleasant atmosphere. A large sign on our door warned us that the resort was not responsible for stolen items. Yet no room or office safe was provided. The resort is located at the end of Pok-Ta-Pok Ave., a mile and a half from the main street and bus stop. To go out to dinner meant a long walk to the bus stop or a cab ride which got expensive (although cabs were always available). We did not care for the onsite restaurant/bar. (The atmosphere was OK, but the food was greasy--not even good Mexican food!) The resort seemed to cater to retirees and families who want a quiet place after a day of adventure on a tour.

Room Tip: Most units seemed to have a view of the lagoon, but some had patios or decks which were pleasant. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stay somewhere else in Cancun. Coral Mar is isolated, expensive to get to anyplace else in Cancun. Far from the beach, shopping, restaurants and night life. No jacuzi, and the pool is so cold no one but a 2 year old went into it all week. It's like staying at a cheap hotel with no pool - you have about 100 other choices in Cancun that are better. Pick one. The only restaurant within miles is on site, doesn't take credit cards and doesn't let you charge to your room, so you need pesos or dollars. There's no ATM in the area. The front desk doesn't convert cash for you, even $10 worth. No way to print your boarding pass before leaving for the airport. The travel agent gave inaccurate information on length of our tour to Playa del Carmen. The water/beach in the photo is the lagoon. Pretty, but you can't go into it because there are crocodiles. No fitness center. Mattress is hard and so are the pillows.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor or higher to see above the palm trees. Lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Sharon59801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just spent 5 days at the Coral Mar on Pok-ta-Pok in Cancun. I was very pleasantly surprised by the grounds, the room, and the staff. We had a lovely view from our top-floor room of the lagoon and the crazy huge hotels in the distance. It's a $10 cab ride to just about everywhere, but it's worth it to be away from the touristy hubbub. You can also walk to the commercial center if you don't mind a 30-40 minute walk. The weather wasn't too hot this time of year, so the walk was nice. The hotel is on a residential street and it felt very safe; would have been fine walking at night, I think. The restaurant here is very good, delicious guacamole and tortilla soup. The pool was a little chilly since it wasn't super hot while we were here...we would have loved to have a hot tub to come home to after a day of diving, to take off the chill. This is not the place to stay if you want a lot of on-site activities and entertainment. Most of the people staying here are older adults and couples...I'm in my early 40s and me and my two girlfriends were among the youngest, most active people there. We spent one day hanging at the hotel, three days diving and visiting the Mayan ruins, and one day laying on the beach down the road. This was a great mellow place to come back to each night. The massage with Jesus, in a little cabana right on the water, was amazing and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Each building has four units, one on top of the other. The top unit has the best views, and try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DestinationDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

For a quiet get-a-way in a more secluded location, Coral Mar fits the bill. The rooms were nice, with kitchen amenities, but no oven or dishwasher (the maid will do the dishes). Restaurant on site has excellent food at decent prices. Coral Mar sits on a lagoon facing the larger Cancun hotel zone across the lagoon. Breezy, palm trees, pool and lots of deck chairs make it a relaxed location.

About a mile walk or short cab ride to the bus stop where you can go any where your adventurous spirit takes you. If you want to stay in a cab, you can go about anywhere in Cancun for $10-$15 American each way for four persons (always ask the taxi driver the fare before you get in the cab.) Beware of the "markets", vendors are aggressive and definitely in your face. Fun, if you like bargaining. If you want personal space, forget it!

The late January weather was pleasant with some very sunny days, but quite a bit of overcast skies. Temperature was very comfortable both day and night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lagoon. There are people around the pool at night, so if you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 km away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 177 in Cancun
1,413 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#105 of 177 in Cancun
910 reviews
6.7 km away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 177 in Cancun
759 reviews
5.5 km away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,139 reviews
1.6 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mar

Address: Pok-Ta-Pok Avenue, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $461 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Mar Hotel Cancun
Coral Mar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing