We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tired. With a small group all inclusives offer a better vacation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #24 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tired. With a small group all inclusives offer a better vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have been coming to the royal cancun, formally VCI for years as my in laws have had a time share since it opened. I did experience some of its greatness before all inclusive resorts. It still has a beautiful landscape although like the rest of cancun it is a little tired. We are a family of three, two adults and a child. What was once a family spot is more of a retirement place of relaxation or large family gathering. I think it can be a fun spot for large families or persons that have been traveling here for years and relax in familiar surroundings. To get any kind of value you need to have 6 to 8 people and cook. I love these kind of vacations but I call them camping trps.
For us the place was challenging. They didn't offer any of the posted children's activities. We would show up and they would be canceled. My daughter never complained, even when a piñata was brought out, then packed away because she was the only child. The beach is tranquil but without any action. We rented a car and went away snorkeling, fishing, surfing, etc. we did not hang out at the resort like we do at all inclusives.
The food s the same as 12 years ago...
It is expensive compared to all inclusive resorts. There is NO wifi. We have a week signal that kicks us out every 2 to 3 minutes.
In short. Feel bad for the people that purchased Orlando motel accommodations and send your money elsewhere. We wont be back. The service fee, similar to condo fees, but at gangster prices are more then a persons holiday at an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Try an iberostar if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read about the lack of children activities and the incident with your daughter and the piñata. I have sent a copy of this plus your wi-fi report to management in order to follow up on your comments and make the necessary adjustments to our service.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    536
    149
    50
    35
See reviews for
1,079
414
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We've been to several resorts and hotels in the Caribbean as well as the US and keep going back to the Royal Cancun (Club International) as, over the 15 years we've gone there, they've consistently provided the best hospitality, service and accomodations. The facility is in top condition despite being the 1st time share in Cancun, the location is heavenly, facing Isla Mujeres, we enjoy seeing the "pirate ships" pass by our "front door" in the evening as well as the boats entering and leaving the Embarquedero nearby. Another benefit: it's close to all the culture and fun downtown including Parque de las Palapas in el centro, where there's something genuinely Mexican going on practically every night. Best restaurants in el Centro: "La Parilla", "Rolandi's", "La Habichuela", "La Dolce Vita"... Take the Ultramar ferry to Isla Mujeres and rent a scooter or golfcart for the day. See the sculpture and cliffs at Punta Sur, have lunch at "Playa Lancheros" and head back north to "Playa Norte" to relax on one of the prettiest beaches in the area.
This year we opted for the tour of "Ria Lagartos, ek Balam and Valladolid" through the onsite Travel Agent, Thomas More, and had the time of our life getting away from the hordes invading Chichen Itza or Tulum. Our tour guide, Mauricio was a true gem, the flamingos on the Gulf of Mexico gorgeous and the buffet and colonial charm of Valladolid fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay, pools & gardens are desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sr_bigotes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Everything was perfect. We had a beach front B unit. The resort is small and very clean.
The beach is not as well as in front of the Royal sands but the good thing is that, by bus (it works very well and very fast) in 15 minutes you can enjoy the swimming pools and beaches of the other sister resorts and come back in your quiet resort after!
You can enjoy the sailing and the tennis court.
The restaurant is quiet and you can eat on the beach. The food is good.
In summary, it is a nice, clean and quiet resort.

Room Tip: we rent a car for 1 day to visit Akumal and Tulum. We went to X-caret by bus (expedition from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

After staying here in 2010, I purchased a "C" unit....2 story, 2 bed & 2 bath! Although this resort is the oldest, it is more quiet and laid back, which is exactly what I was looking for! Don't get me wrong...you can still enjoy yourself...but if you REALLY want to party...go to one of the "other" associated resorts!

Prices at the restaurant are a little high, but the food is very good and the location is very convenient!

Security is very good and the cleanliness is top-notch!! ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Although my "balcony" faces the Lagoon......it's still a nice view and I love to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AudreyBrooksvilleFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Tropical setting with beach front B unit, friendly staff, homey feeling, near all things to do, on the bay, great for boating of every kind, best massage i had at any Royal Resort. No pressure concierge and host; the resort sells itself.

Room Tip: Beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.4 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
5.3 km away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.1 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#38 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
7.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
6.4 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): $234 - $728
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing