We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 337
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 447
USD 414
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 437
USD 357
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 255
USD 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 333
USD 279
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 512
USD 414
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 392
USD 329
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 187
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,199
USD 386
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 703/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,314)
Filter reviews
4,314 results
Traveller rating
2,071
1,273
515
190
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,071
1,273
515
190
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstres riosrosa mariaacuario restaurantsky loungeaquarium restaurantlobster dinnerocean spasales presentationbeautiful beachroyal cancunitalian restaurantour waiterlobby barsister hotelmayan coffeea great vacationwater aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 4,314 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel and beach is amazing! We stayed at sunset marina but went to the beach at sunset royal almost everyday because the service from Cristian and Julio was amazing! Some of the best service I’ve ever had! And thanks so Dane the pool manager for looking us! Also a special mention to Saul for organizing us a beach dinner!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jordan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoASalinas, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members. We will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Truly enjoyed Christian Morelas and snack bar bartenders...They truly went above what we expected. The white sands party had my husband and I dancing to old school and salsa ensuring that we have wonderful memories for years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cblair2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoASalinas, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience and we thank you for your kind recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who visited The Sunset Royal for a week In March.

...........
The resort was very conveniently designed, with bar services and snacks at the pool, close to the beach, but not on the beach.

The Italian restaurant served up a wonderful steak which I had twice. The foood overall was tasty, with a large variety, the buffet area gave the illusion of being outside with the comforts of being in a cool air conditioned environment.

The shuttles to the other resort were on time, the island resort with a ride on the small boat was also enjoyable and a must do.

Ideal for mature guest who doesn’t care for the loud noise from the party crowd.

You can also take a cool, safe and relaxing walk along the lagoon to the shopping area. Where there are several bars and eating stops along the way.

We had a room facing the lagoon, on the 4th floor with 2 queen sized beds. On exiting the room, looking down into one of the main eating areas.

The room was spacious and comfortable and because of the huge variety of food, we did not need to order the inclusive room service.

Everyone at the resort was friendly, kind and helpful but there are a couple people that we wish to highlight for making our stay extra memorable.

We were greeted by these guys at the lobby who treated us like royalty, be sure to ask for them, Javier and Orbe.

The lobby bar Hector and Laura took good care of us, they remembered our drinks from the first day and also offered us beautiful cocktail creations. Premium drinks are included only at the lobby bar and a la carte restaurants served up premium drinks.

Guadalupe at the buffet was friendly and his service was exceptional.

A must have massage at the spa from Maday, with her relaxing and rejuvenating hands.

Overall, we would definitely return to this resort for the wonderful hospitality, the comforts and great variety of food and drinks.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kavita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

What a beautiful location on one of the best beaches in the world with a staff who works so hard to provide outstanding service. Martin helped check us in, and gave a very quick and very thorough explanation of how the hotel and its sister hotels work. We never visited the sister resorts, except for breakfast one morning. We did NOT have the all inclusive package which we prefer; we will not go to a place with a mandatory all-inclusive because we like to explore other restaurants, and don’t want to over-eat and over-drink.

Our room was a studio…it was small but well laid out. Housekeeping did a beautiful job making the room pretty with flower petals all around the room. Wow. However, here is the negative….the air conditioning when used smelled moldy….they need to fix this. Also, there were a few days when I don’t believe housekeeping swept or mopped the floor. The floors in the hallways always looked a bit dirty.

They have a very good activities group who work hard to keep you entertained. Every day, I did yoga with Emil who is an amazing yoga teacher….I can honestly say that I got better in the week of yoga with him. AND, my hip had been really bothering me, and one of the stretches, put my hip back to where it was supposed to be! Hooray!

We enjoyed breakfast every morning in the buffet, and we luckily found Guadalupe who provided pleasant cheerful service every morning, making sure that our coffee cup was always full of hot coffee. The woman who makes the omlettes was excellent, and the food at the buffet was always hot. On Sundays, there was a beautiful brunch with many types of food and seafood.

In addition, our waitress on the beach was excellent….always smiling, always running to provide service to her section. I forgot her name but it is something like Iseda.
Lastly, Eric was our waiter one evening when we decided to eat at the hotel. He was very professional yet friendly, and worked hard to take care of us. We liked Eric so much that we decided to eat at the restaurant for two more nights and of course, we requested him.

Room Tip: Away from the construction going on next door.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KCLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoASalinas, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for your kind comments about our team. They do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. They will be pleased to know their efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great Breakfast Guadalupe makes a mean omelet for Breakfast.
Lefy makes sure your room is always clean and ready to use.The
people working with Saul at the beach do an excellent job of keeping
you full with food and drinks.Dafne works hard at keeping the pool area
clean.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view or a lagoon view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoASalinas, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name,. We will reach out to them individually and let them know that they made a positive impact on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews