We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on a beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stayed here as part of a wedding party and really enjoyed it. This was the first all inclusive I've done and it was a good experience all round. The only slight negative was the mexican food was average - of all the things! Other than that the food, pools and beach were excellent and would recommend.

Room Tip: Aim for ocean views, totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fanauchocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 5,335 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

We were a group of 8 (four couples) and 3 of us were celebrating our birthdays!! Choosing this resort was in itself a birthday gift. The resort is fantastic. The people are all friendly, from the time I checked in at the front desk the staff were all polite. So I thought that was because they were the first faces we saw. The great hospitality continued throughout the entire resort and continued for the entire five days we were there. The wait staff in the restaurants, our room service person even the guys at the bar -- all had pleasant personalities. They were very courteous.
The resort was very clean and had lots of amenities and activities. The resort grounds are very beautiful and picturesque. No matter which room you were in, every room has a great view. The food selection – oh boy!! I think I over-dosed on the fresh selection of fruits at breakfast. There was a wide selection of foods in all of the dining areas.
I did not report to the Hotel staff that it was my birthday, but somehow they found out (perhaps my passport since I used this to check in). I came back to my room well decorated with balloons and streamers, plus an invitation to a private restaurant and a bottle of tequila.

The location is good, about a 20 minutes ride from Cancun airport. Located on the main strip, with a 5 minutes car ride into the city/shopping area.
YEAH!! I would certainly visit Riu Palace, Peninsula again.

Room Tip: 4th floors or higher are quite. lower floors tend to hear music from theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Cutie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I was here for a wedding This hotel was very nice. It was clean and the beds were comfy. Shower pressure was nice too. *** THE TOILET ROOM IN THE JR SUITE IS HORRIBLE. Theres no fan and its a tiny closet. Without venting its just the worst!!!!! Bad construction oversight. Needless to say with 2 people in the room its embarrassing. The food was ok.. not bad.. just ok. They have no respect for dietary restrictions. I saw stuffed chichen with nuts on the same slab as the regular baked chicken.. A NO NO for allergy suffers like myself. Everything is pork.. Theres no turkey sausage, turkey burgers, very little chicken options, which i thought was strange, so if you don't eat beef or pork you are in trouble. We tried to order room service for breakfast and the only thing they had was boiled eggs, fruit and pastry. That was very strange considering they could have just went to the buffet and sent up whatever we wanted. The beach is tiny and rocky. Entertainment was nice.. They had beach party, pool party and shows. Very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBlake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Our stay at the Riu was great. The rooms, restaurants and property was very clean. The service was great. Armando was always happy and ready to serve at the buffet. I do not usually like buffets, but the selection was great! The bar next to the beach was the best bar. Jose is a great bar tender! The restaurant selection was okay, but nothing special. they do not take reservations which is good and bad. Overall it was a great vacation and I would return to the Riu. I highly recommend booking an ocean view room.

Room Tip: Book an ocean View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doglover0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July, we had booked a junior suite in the adult villas but on arrival got an upgrade to a suite in the villas, it was amazing! Huge room & massive balcony! Air con was great & room was lovely & cool at all times.
Best part of staying in the villas was the private pool, it was nice & peaceful & only a short stroll to the fab beach, huge shout out to Felix at the villas who made sure we were never without a cold drink.
We ate at most of the restaurants in the hotel but our favourite was definitely the kulinarium restaurant in the villas, the fillet steak was melt in your mouth amazing! The Japanese, Italian & Mexican were also very good, we didn't like the steakhouse, although a lot of people raved about it, we ate here twice & on both occasions our steaks were chewy, hard to cut & we wouldn't recommend it at all! We didn't try the Krystal restaurant because we didn't see anything we liked on their menu.
The buffet restaurant is very good too, loads to choose from & their desserts are to die for! We sat in Alphonso's section in this restaurant & his service skills are fab, we were well looked after by him during our stay. Also at breakfast buffet we were looked after & well attended to by Juana, she always greeted us with a huge welcoming smile in the mornings.
We thought the entertainment at night was pretty poor, the best nights we had were when the Riu entertainment team put on their own shows, the Mr Riu & the couples night were the best shows in our 2 week stay.
Diego in the lobby bar was also fab & made great cocktails!
All in all the hotel is spotless, modern & would highly recommend staying in the villas section if you can.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Charley1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
2.5 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 177 in Cancun
10,247 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 177 in Cancun
7,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.2 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,824 reviews
8.4 km away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#20 of 177 in Cancun
4,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $383 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Riu Palace Peninsula features 3 ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS in the garden with exclusive services for clients over 18 years old * The hotel is situated right on the white, sandy beach of Caribbean Sea. Its offshore coral reefs and lagoon offers perfect water sports opportunities. The sister hotel Riu Caribe is just 100 m away * Next Village / Location Corazone 4.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 5.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International (CUN) 21.0 km approx. * 1 Building 17 floors 514 rooms * 3 Deluxe Villas 3 floors 48 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing