We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
61 people are viewing this hotel
Official Site
USD 500
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
USD 500
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
USD 452
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 501
Hotels.comUSD 501
TravelocityUSD 501
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35,814)
Filter reviews
35,814 results
Traveller rating
26,097
5,585
2,113
999
1,020
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26,097
5,585
2,113
999
1,020
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise section nizuc section los caporales sunrise pool la gondola flow rider resort credit la trattoria golf cart swing bar los tacos vacation planners public relations brazilian restaurant awe spa dolphin swim mayan coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17,672 - 17,677 of 35,814 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Great 2 weeks again as before can't find a fault with this place. Checking in is so easy bell boys so helpful. A big thank you to welmer,roldolfo at the lobby bar,alvaro, jaume and ricardo at the swing bar and jesus at the fragata restaurant

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

Dear Kevin B,

We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your second visit to Moon Palace. Thank you for recognizing the welcoming service offered by the front desk colleagues and our bar services; please know we will share your kind words with the team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort soon.

Will be a pleasure,
Regards,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Manager
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

My first time at an all inclusive resort, and moon Palace has set the bar high. Great service for the most part, and great food as well. Lovely views and rooms. There's a wide variety of excursions and on site activities, including multiple spa/salon locations. The two kids' playrooms we went to were really exceptional.

Few negatives... Long waits for the vacation planners and the staff did not provide the additional services our agent had spent extra time in setting up for us. Actually took about 3 or so days for the hotel to figure it all out. In the beginning, we also didn't anticipate the long wait times (about 1 hr 45 minutes) to get into dinner.

There is a bit of a learning curve with experiencing Moon Palace. In the end, once all those details were worked out and once we had become familiar with the variety of pools, dining options, and activities offered, the second half of the week was wonderful. I would go here again especially now that I know more about all this resort really has to offer.

Most important piece of advice I wish I had before coming here: if the vacation planners at Nizuc have long lines, go to the vacation planners at Grand or Sunrise.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Betsy B,

We are glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the all inclusive we do offer at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.

Your value review about Palace Vacations Planners has beed shared with the management and we will look at it.
We sincerely hope to host you once again in the near future,

Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Manager
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

For our annual trip to the Moon this year, we brought along a group of friends and fellow golfers. There were 20 of us in total and everyone was over the moon (pun intended) with their praise for the facilities and service.

In my review from last year, I lamented the deteriorating condition of the rooms and furnishings while noting that renovations were under way. Well, the renovations are spectacular beginning with a complete reimagining of the room layout (ours is a Presidential Suite) and new, upscale furnishings. Modern, bright, tasteful and all high quality.

There were some other surprises on the property as well beginning with the new outdoor restaurant/snack area between the pool and our building (Elote for reference) as well as the SurfRider wave contraption that was constantly busy with guests who really like to fall down in high pressure water, apparently.

There were a few new food offerings including a Mayan themed restaurant (not my fave) at the Golf Clubhouse side but, more importantly, the food quality has made an all around step up. I was particularly impressed with the larger upscale steaks at the Steakhouse (by the pool) and the new lunch offerings there.

Golf course remains among the most beautiful on this planet and conditions were perfect. Tees have been moved up to speed up play which is welcome on the busier days when those who play once or twice a year are out swing their clubs willy nilly.

Strategically placed snack stations while on the course provided sandwiches, beverages (including adult) and other snacks ... except chips. How can you have a sandwich without chips. Someone needs to fix that. Also, golf check in has gotten to be ridiculously slow. They said it was because they had a new software system but it appeared that it was simply a matter of proper training. Hopefully that's better next year.

The standard offering of Golf Included or $1500 room credit allows for many options depending on your vacationing tastes but be aware that spa dollars are limited to $300 (if you chose the room credit option) so plan accordingly. And, if you have the stomach for it, I strongly suggest sitting through the 90 minute timeshare "Sales" presentation even if you have absolutely no interest. Your attendance can be negotiated to include costs of visiting local attractions not included with your stay (I recommend XPLOR) that can be worth over $120 or more.

As I said earlier, everyone had a wonderful time and most of our friends are coming with us again next year as well as others who heard how great the Moon Palace vacation was.

One last gripe. While it's great that your transportation to and from the airport is handled by the resort, the departure transportation always turns into some Abbot and Costello "Who's on First" routine. Always a complete dumpster fire. Someone needs to fix that.

For those who want to know, the best times to visit this glorious resort are May and October. Weather is best at these times and the resort is a bit less crowded leading to a more pleasant vacation.

Overall, Moon Palace is (in my humble opinion) the best dollar for dollar vacation
resort you can visit and I can't wait to tell you about our visit in 2016.

Room tip: Website has map with the building names and amenities layout. Request your room location by building name based on your preferences.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank RVK310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear RVK310,

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We feel very honored that you are such a loyal guest and we will all work hard to keep on creating unforgettable experiences for you.

In respect to the snacks we have been aware of your inconvenience and we have taken actions to rectified that immediately with our Chef. In other hand, your comments about Check in at the Golf Course will be taken into consideration to avoid this similar situation with another guests and your upcoming vacations.

Finally we are delighted to read your comments and we are very glad you were satisfied since your first visit with our Resort! We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more in the near future.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Manager
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Myself, my husband & two daughters ages 13 & 14 visited from 8/29 to 9/5/15. I'd like to clarify that I struggled in giving this resort a 4th star, because the great majority of the staff here are wonderful, and the food was very good. However, there are a few things that will prevent us from returning.

Like every other review states, the beach is piled with seaweed and is very stinky when they're plowing it up. We knew this, expected it & so we weren't too disappointed. It's still pretty to look at from a distance, and the smell isn't awful when they're not moving it about.

The pool chair situation is out of hand. With the beach out of commission, everyone wants to sit around the pools. They just can't handle the vast number of guests at this resort at the pools only. Chairs with shade were completely reserved with towels by 8am, all chairs gone by 9am. Nothing is done to prevent or regulate the towel game. This is stressful & not relaxing in the least bit.

Check in was fine, room not ready until 3:00. Came back at 3:05, & were told 30 more minutes. Our room was in Sunrise, Mango section. We were surprised by a rather nice ocean view when we paid for garden view. Room was clean, beds & linens comfortable.

We were approached after check in regarding the "timeshare" which they claim is not a timeshare. We were offered free jeep rental for a few days & ecopark tickets to attend their breakfast. We politely and firmly declined & were not hassled again.

Restaurants were good & there was never a wait. We had teppanaki at Momo 2 times, Gondola at the Golf Course (no problems with reservations), Los Corporales 2 times (Mayan coffee is spectacular), Italian a la carte at sunrise was very good. Drinks were fine everywhere, a little weak sometimes around the pool.

We used resort credits for a couples holistic massage & the dolphin trip for the 4 of us. We left without using 400.00 of credit. The massage & the dolphin trip were excellent. However, the process of booking with a vacation planner is not. We visited "Joel" across from the gym in Sunrise. When we said we wanted to book a massage, he showed us a menu of three massages that cost 900-1200 dollars apiece. He quickly said that these were too expensive, and then showed us three different massages ranging from 500-700 dollars. This far exceeds the 300 dollars you are allowed to use at the spa. He became quite rude with us after we said we would pass on the massage. I told him we can get a massage far less expensively at home. Only at that time did he say they have a 50 minute holistic massage for 300.00 and we would only pay the 16% tax. He also booked us with the dolphin experience using the same rudeness & bad attitude. It wasn't a pleasant experience, we were glad to only visit the vacation planners once.

We were also disappointed because we were advertised free transportation to the Beach Palace to make up for the lousy beach. We packed up the family and headed down early to line up for our "transportation ticket" since we had been warned there is a limited number of spots. We checked at the bell stand to inquire where the queue was, & the bellman told us that there was no longer any free transportation to Beach Palace, Sun Palace or Playacar Palace unless you are a member of their vacation club. He told us he would call us a taxi. No thank you. I don't like to be made to feel like a second class citizen when I booked a supposed 5 star hotel. Do not advertise stay at one play at others if you don't follow through.

The best part of the trip was releasing baby sea turtles on the beach after sunset at Nizuc. This was completely free & amazing for children & adults alike.

It's too bad about this resort because it has so many nice things going for it. The employees are wonderful (aside from Joel the vacation planner), food very good, nice grounds. Everything else just isn't great. From the vacation club sales pitch, nasty vacation planners, beach/pool/towel situation, this just really isn't a relaxing vacation.

We'll go back to Beaches Turks & Caicos next time.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank karensC1121XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Karen S,

First and foremost on behalf of Palace Resorts please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you have during your stay with the behavior of one of our Palace Vacation Planners representative. We highly appreciate your feedback and we can assure you your comments to the appropriate member of the management to address this.

In Palace Resorts there are things that have no cost, but do have a great value: courtesy, availability, enthusiasm, and culture. These are the bases of our job that we put at our guests’ disposal. We would like to mention that we are taking the necessary steps to prevent similar situation from occurring in the future. Again with all respect please accept our sincerest apologies for this situation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope that this isolated incident does not stop you from staying with us again as we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Guest Satisfaction is our first aim and every comment is always important to check and improve our quality teamwork.

Respectfully,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Manager
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We visited the moon palace hotel in August. We didn't realise how large the complex was. It's absolutely massive and being August we were continually queuing for everything, from sun beds to breakfast and booking restaurants for evening meals. The lobby was like being in Westfield shopping centre with Brits everywhere. Also this hotel is a $40 usd taxi ride to the main beach of Cancun. So it's very much isolated toward the airport. The beach where on palace is located is full of seaweed and no clear waters unlike the main beach.

I would not recommend this hotel, and would not go back there. Pick the sister hotel of Beach Palace instead, it's on the main beach, much smaller, and also closer to the markets and other. Restaurants and attractions.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jay35h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews