We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #45 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked a 'Deluxe' room as stated in their brochure. The first night there we were given a room on the street. Our room reservation meant nothing. The street noise made it impossible to sleep. Eventually we were moved to a room on the 7th floor,after much negotiation at the front desk. This is not how we want to spend our time . The hotel had water running from the ceiling feet away from the main buffet. Bad experience ....do NOT recommecd

Room Tip: Moldy smell...bait and switch.....bad bad bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,703 of 7,630 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were in the riu caribe from 11 - 25th April and it was lovely... The rooms in particular were clean and tidy... Free mini bar in room made a lovely change.

I felt the bar staff were lovely, however some of the floor staff were miserable and made a point of making it known, if you didn't tip you didn't get served. Which is a little disappointing!

The hotel is a little out of the way from the town centre, this however would suit pep
Le like us who need to be beside rather than in the life and soil.

I took a scuba diving course and this was brilliant, in particular Manual from scuba caribe was excellent and I would completely recommend his tuition!!!

We had the unfortunate business of a noisy room to start with... Which was dealt with a day later. However, it was dealt with all the same...

The newer hotel was built next door and they ripped palm trees from our hotel to plant in the next one, so perhaps the noise came from here....?

All in all despite a few hiccups, we had a nice time!

Room Tip: Don't get one opposite the theatre!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank James-Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Let me start by saying this resort is incredible. The beach is beautiful, the views are perfect, and the food is absolutely beyond what you would expect at an all-inclusive resort in Mexico. However, the rooms immediately remind you that you're in Mexico. Mildewy bathrooms, cockroaches running across the floors, paper-thin walls that let you hear every sound next door. If you are only in the room to sleep then you'll be fine. The resort has much to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KimVelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We visited RIU Caribe April 11-18 and found this time of year very nice. We enjoyed the RIU in Costa Rica and decided to try the one in Cancun. There are actually 4 RIU with the new one under construction next to the Caribe. This one is the oldest but we stayed on 7th floor in an end Jr Suite remodeled room which had a fantastic balcony and view. Room very roomy with all new bath and update TV and new furnishings. This RIU was selected to be closer to down town but the reality is, the Hotel Zone by the Palace and Cancun RIU has lots more activities and options for entertainment. Buses easy to access to travel the area. Dining Room better at the Caribe but Food options with more seafood better at the Cancun. Privileges to use dining room O.K. at Cancun but not the Palace. Palace and the new RIU will be the 5 stars.
Entertainment for Mexican night very original but other nights not at cruise ship level. Dancers very good but vocalist not as good. Michael Jackson night well done except for poor Videos
Pool very crowed with no bathroom access except to return to main lobby of Hotel.
One set of stairs into the pool presented access problems with other step in areas over 12 inches more difficult as many guest place chairs right next to pool not allowing access.

Service good in all areas, the interior was clean but starting to look tired and in need of remodel. Only access from pool is through main lobby which gave it more of a lounge atmosphere. Internet access available in the lobby only.

Would visit other RIU hotels until this one is remodeled. Mostly young crowd which became very noisy after unlimited bar service. Staff did try to redirect with pool activities more success sometime than others.

Room Tip: The end next to the new RIU has been updated/remodeled and is not noisy due to smaller units separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank journalist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

I'll make this short and sweet ..... This was my 8th trip to Cancun and although the RIU was a little smaller than some of the resorts I stayed at, it was nice none the less. Entertainment staff is excellent....... Always something fun to do at the pool and on the beach. There is a "quieter" pool if your not up for the daily activities. I stayed in a junior suite that had been updated ... Beautiful large balcony, great bathroom/shower and very nicely decorated. Food was good but if you want to eat at one of the specialty resturants, book soon after your arrival. Seating is limited and they fill up quickly. Lots of room around the pool and at the beach. Not much trouble finding a place to sit every day ... Staff was great and always accommodating. 9 days in a great resort .... Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NCS3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#33 of 177 in Cancun
10,208 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
2.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,702 reviews
3.1 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.1 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 177 in Cancun
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $282 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing