We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, but no ugly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, but no ugly!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I and my brother and his wife stayed here for a week in February, 2012. Thinking back on it now, we enjoyed the trip and the Golden P in many ways, but were also put off by some things, too. We are in our sixties, but consider ourselves to be pretty aware of how things operate in a vacation destination that serves the younger crowd. This was our first A-I (all-inclusive) AND all-adult hotel. Because you have paid up front for all your meals and alcoholic drinks, two things become apparent as you stay there: (1) most everyone drinks more than they would at home, and thus wild laughing and loud music are pretty constant throughout the afternoon and evening and late into the night, and (2) everyone likes to eat really good food because they are at a resort, but the food is mostly very average. So if you have done this A-I routine before, or are a forewarned first-timer, you won't be surprised at the party atmosphere and the ordinary food. However, as long-time cruise lovers, we thought the food is definitely a step down from shipboard fare.

But wait! Lots of good, too! The hotel is on a lovely beach and has a couple beautiful pools. The staff are all very friendly (though efficient is another matter--hey, you are in Mexico!). The rooms are nice and cool. There is always something going on, particularly in the evenings, and the staff is always upbeat about getting you to join in the fun-- volleyball in the pool, trivia contests, canned music In the disco, stage shows, dancing, occasional live music in the lobby, movies, etc.

I must add that we did enjoy several meals: the Japanese restaurant was enjoyable for its numerous appetizers plate as well as the main courses with wine. The Barn has cowboy fare-- steaks and more, and was hit and miss on the quality, though the salads and appetizers were very good. Had a great steak one night and a real jaw exerciser another night. Be sure to get in line right when they open, or else you are in for a l-o-n-g wait. The dress up restaurant (I forgot the name, but there is only one) had wonderful food, very nice refined service, and a grand piano playing itself (yes!) delightfully in the background. We did not care for the quality of food at the seafood restaurant (Pier 21?), though its location on the ocean was beautiful. The morning and lunchtime buffet was pretty middling, but they did cook your eggs however you wanted and had freshly made juice smoothies. Also, they offered many meats and shrimp dishes with whatever additives you wanted at lunch. Plenty of choices, but overall just ordinary tastes. The table waiters were outstanding, friendly AND efficient, and we felt good about tipping them at each meal. One other outstanding food item: the best hamburgers, hotdogs, and chicken sandwiches were cooked over an open fire all day and evening at the little hamburger cafe right beside the main pool (it is directly under the buffet dining room). If you crave a delicious burger and fries anytime, do not miss this (5 stars!).

You can catch the city bus into downtown Cancun a couple blocks from the hotel. Only 70 cents! Believe it or not, there is a large Walmart with a McDonalds inside it in old downtown Cancun. You can also take the free hotel shuttle over to their sister resort, the Great Parnassus, and enjoy any of their facilities and restaurants at no charge. What a difference -- it is a family resort, and there were zillions of kids there! Glad we chose the Golden...

So overall, we had a good time. We would probably try a different one if we go again. I rate the Golden Parnassus as a 3.5 star resort. Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as you can (only 6 floors), and at the end of the building away from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ArchieGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    2,002
    857
    369
    265
See reviews for
506
3,381
97
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Sackville
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our 4 th time staying at the GP and we weren't diappointed. The resort is one of the older ones and perhaps needs some repairs but the staff and the food make up for any luxuries that aren't really required to have a good time. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is a small resort and we would recommend this resort for anyone who wants to party but also to those who just want R & R.
We booked with Sunquest again and once again because there were only two of us , we didn't see a rep all week not even for our so called " Appointment " with them. Sunquest always lets me down. However Thomas Cook was the means of transport and the trip to & from was great .

Room Tip: We always choose the lagoon side. We get to see the sunset everynight. Well worth the time spent wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herculeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was there April 7th-11th with my boyfriend. The check-in process was weird they made us sit down and nobody talked to us for 20 minutes. We couldn't check in until 3pm so I suggest packing a suit in your carry-on. The people at the front desk were pretty unfriendly and their english was very poor. Breakfast room service is so great! You put a thing on your door at night with what you want in the morning and what time you want it. Lunch at the Breeze bar is the best. I had a chicken quesadilla and my boyfriend has burgers and chicken sandwiches he loved. The mango pina coladas are delicious. The beer is pretty gross. The pool is a nightmare. They blast techno music and the entertainment staff screams into a microphone all day trying to get you to do drinking games and water aerobics. Not fun at all. We spent no time at the pool. The beach was perfect. We pulled lounge chairs right up to the water and stared at the ocean all day. The other hotel guests were quite shockingly gross. Most of the guests were excessively overweight and heavily intoxicated all day and night. I am 25 and love to have a good time and drink but these people took it too far. Someone barfed in the hot tub, a 40 year old man and his wife had to be wheel chaired up to their room after blacking out mid-day. The people by the pool were sloppy drunk all day. The hotel room was very clean. We reserved a king room and got 2 double beds with lagoon view which was really disappointing and they were not helpful with this at all. The lagoon view was fine no need for the ocean view. The bathroom has horrible lighting and the shampoo and body wash are interchangeable along with the conditioner and lotion which made my hair feel awful and the soap smelled gross. I would suggest bringing your own. Also the sheets feel like sandpaper. The wait staff at the restaurants are so nice I suggest bringing lots of ones to tip with and then they will love you. The Barn has the best food. The steak is great and so were the enchiladas and combo platter app. Pier 12 was disappointing. Shangri-la was nice. The breakfast buffet is really nice in the morning. Great coffee! We had a good time but overall the other guests grossed me out and I don't like how Cancun as a whole is set up with high rise hotels smashed on top of each other. We will not be returning to Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

In late march 2012 we stayed 7 nights at the Golden Parnassus and had a delightful time. Because of TA postings we were already "friends" with other people who were staying at the GP when we were there.
The rooms were comfortable and had a good amount of space and storage/closets. The bathroom had a nice sized shower and we had excellent room cleaning services. I believe her name was Elizabeth.
The breakfast buffet was good. The lunch served at the same location was very varied. The Breeze (which is outside, poolside) offered a chicken sandwich which we loved.
Service for drinks was good and they always knew your beverage after the second time.
Carlos and Jose at Tiki Bar really kept your drinks flowing once they started their late afternoon shift.
Guillermo at the Dolphin Bar on the beach is an exceptional bartender and is a gem amoung the excellent staff.
Pier 12 had some excellent offerings. My wife (who is beside me making comments about everything I've written) said the cocnut shrimp was her favorite.
The Old Barn has a more steak and meat menu and had excellent steaks. Order the meats a bit more rare than you would ordinarily.
The Shangri-La was very good as was the other restaurant.
The Beer Garden is the Lobby Bar and is very nice for meeting people and chatting. We always got to the beach early if we wanted a palapa, so be aware of this if occupancy is high.
The Spa is small but we found the romantic massage to be a very nice experience and it was a bit less pricey than we've had at other Cancun resorts.
The gym is small but has machines, free weights and floor pads for yoga stuff. It never had more than a few people in it.
We will be returning. It was a good price for an above average resort.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean View Deluxe. The rooms are not usually ready until 3PM so pack a swim suit in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-Jane-Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was my husbands and mine first trip to Cancun, we stayed April 9-13th. We meant another couple that it was there first time to Cancun as well, and ended up hanging out the whole trip. The staff was great and they worked so hard to keep you entertained and happy. Tip them well when you get there and they will remember you. Now here's a little thing about everything....
Resturants: The Shangri-La was by far the best! The waiters and the food were excellent!! They started given us Tequila shots as soon as we sat down, and didn't stop, Fun times!! We left laughing! The other resturants were good, the Breeze's which is located by the pool made the best chicken sandwhich. The Barn was ok, was not one of our groups favorite.
Rooms: We stayed on the Lagoon side 6th floor. Our room had a jacuzzi, frig, and a safe. They restocked the frig daily, which was nice for soda and water, the beer was gross. The room was very clean. Big shower and the bathroom I thought had good lighting and did not have any problem getting ready. The A/C worked if you had it on high, it kept it comfortable to sleep.
Bars: The Tiki bar was the most entertaining, day and evening, they always had music going, and the bartenders were quick, you didnt wait long. The Beer Garden bar located in the lobby was good as well. My husband liked the Viagra shot, its a must try, but beware it is spicy. My favorite drink was the Riveria Mya, also called a Bob Marley, you can get it as a shot as well. The drinks seemed watered down a little, just ask for a double shot of alcohol in the drink.
We went over to the VIP lounge the Santrum for breakfast one day at the Great, but were in a hurry to get back. If you go there beware of kids running everywheres. And you will have to wait for long periods of time for the elevator, take the stairs if you dont mind them.
The best tip I can give is about the internet!! This hotel does not offer wiifi. You can pay in USD or Peso's. Go to the far computer and pay with peso's ( it is the only one that says $60 peso minimum.) You must put in the whole $60 peso, it will then allow you to use the internet, logout and it will give you an option to create an account, do that. Then go to any of the other 3 computers and login. The computer can't determine the peso's to the american dollar and it triples your money. When we left I still had over 175 minutes left on the account. This was great with checking email to stay in touch at home.
Traveling out of the resort was fine and safe. If you plan on going to the shopping area be prepared to be hounded. Alot of shops and alot of congestion of people trying to make money.
All in all this was an excellent trip, and will definately go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room as far up as you can for noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
9.1 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
642 reviews
16.0 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 km away
Sandos Cancun Lifetyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#83 of 175 in Cancun
4,898 reviews
5.0 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,107 reviews
2.8 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): $249 - $704
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing