We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end hostel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Ranked #97 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

What was good
- quiet barking dog next door till midnight
- friendly desk staff
- clean

What was not good
- food in cafe was gross
- beans and salsa tasted canned
- eggs over cooked rubbery and bland
- surly waitress
- beds uncomfortable and felt institutional
- another website listed the rooms with safe, writing desk and lamp my room had none of these things
- no shampoo

This no frills hotel for its location and services was overpriced

One very small step above a hostel and 3 stars are too generous

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Markie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOSGIRASOLESCANCUN, Gerente at Hotel los Girasoles Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you for your comments. We are going to improve to have better services. I don't agree it's comparition to an hostel but everyone has different expectations. We really sorry you don't have good experience with us but we will try to that not happen againg.

Atte.
Ricardo Delgado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel los Girasoles offers comfortable rooms for good prices and is located off the main street in a leafy suburb. It also has a very nice terrasse to relax on.

In addition, this hotel has an excellent choice for breakfast, and I would recommend the combi offer for 65 Mex dollars.

My only negative point is that I was given a room directly opposite the reception area (room 2) which had constant noise until about midnight and which started again at six in the morning.....

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOSGIRASOLESCANCUN, Gerente at Hotel los Girasoles Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we are going to find a solution for that noisy room.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Nothing fancy, but all adequate. AC a bit noisy. A very basic kitchenette - fridge, sink, coffeemaker, counter. A little tricky to find, but simple once you know how. Highway from airport into Cancun, turn left at Coba (note that street signs have the cross street against a white background). Right on Yaxchilam (a curving exit) and you are 2 blocks away, but have to drive up Yaxchilam to a roundabout (about 6 blocks) and come back the other way. Calle Pina is the last street before Coba. One block, then left and the hotel is there on your right. For supper, La Habichuela is very nice, about 5 - 6 blocks north and 2 blocks east. For breakfast 100% Natural is up Yaxchilam to the roundabout and one block west, on your left. (Walk to both). To head out of town toward Valladolid, Chichen Itza, Merida, just head out Pina, Turn Right on Yaxchilam, immediate right on Coba, and continue straight (it merges with Quintana Roo, and becomes 180. Two versions of 180: cuota (toll, somewhat steep) or libre (free, goes through all the small towns).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

It was a humble little hotel as a reviewer wrote earlier. Room rates were in the low end. It was great to be in walkable distances to the bus station and many eateries. All the staff we came across was pleasant and helpful. Our room and the public area were reasonably clean. The down side was the noisy AC unit and there was no way to make the fan run slower.

The staff did not give us a hard time when we cancelled the second (and remaining) day of our reservation. A power outage happened in the block on our first morning there as a result of a bus accident nearby. We returned in the late afternoon to find that there was still no power, and decided to check out immediately to another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Viburnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

A short walk to R- 1 and R-2 bus routes; 15 minute walk to the ADO bus terminal. Chederui super market and OXXO convenience store are less than a 5 minute walk. Residential neighborhood with plenty of eating options and a few parks; don't miss the food stalls and street vendors at largest park (I think it is parque las palapas). Probably the most comfortable bed I've slept on in a hotel in the past year; comfortably firm with no sagging areas. Great fridge and A/C in room; plenty of hot water in shower. Didn't try in room flat screen or wi-fi. Basic, clean, comfortable accommodations. Can't beat it for the price or location. Would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 km away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#104 of 177 in Cancun
259 reviews
1.9 km away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#145 of 177 in Cancun
22 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#113 of 177 in Cancun
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#116 of 177 in Cancun
220 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#138 of 177 in Cancun
48 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 177 in Cancun
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Girasoles Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Address: Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $37 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel los Girasoles Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Girasoles propietors and staff, give you a warm wellcome to Cancun, the Mexican Caribean's Paradise. We put at your service our great small hotel that offers you the ideal balance between the comfort and convenient location at a truly affordable price. We count with 17 rooms, where you can enjoy in a friendly environment of Comfort in the facilities and high standars of cleaniness, located in downtown zone in a very safe area, multiple services to facilitate your stay and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel los Girasoles Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing