We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed in this hotel for a week. The morning staff was very friendly and helpful, a sweet young couple (the son of the owner and his wife). The room was fine. On our last evening, the gentleman on night duty was drunk. This was surprising, to see a person on duty not functioning! The other problem was that there was no place that close to have coffee - we walked a ten-minute walk to the main street for coffee in the morning.
It is centrally located, not far from the central bus station (30-40 pesos in a taxi), and near many restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: This hotel was great value for money. It is in a quiet area, and not far from bus and taxi service.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed here our last night as it was only 15 minutes to the airport. We were not expecting much but it was much nicer than the place we stayed in on the beach. The neighborhood is quiet except fro two dogs. The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. It is also easy walking distance to a number of reasonable restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I have first stayed at this hotel 2013 and a second time in february 2014.
Both times the rooms wasn´t ready and i was forced to wait an 1hour and the second time someone was repainting my room.So when i got the room it did off course smell alot of paint.But without further a due a got another room for my stay.
The hotel dont serve breakfast but you have places serving breakfast buffés nearby or you have the foodcarts along the way to the ADO busstation or the R1/R2 busses to the beaches.
The manager Carlos is a very kind gentleman that offers great service to his guest.He gladly will help you with any advice for restaurants,beaches or unbeaten paths to visit in Cancun.Because of him i did dine very good in Cancun.He gave me places like Emara Antonjitos near the mercado 28 and Oasis fishrestaurant serving great cheviches.
But still this hotel is expensive for what is offered and cost around 500pesos/night.There are other hotels better and cheaper than this.Locals pays only 250 pesos per night at this hotel.I did heard the amount what the local paid for 7 nights when Carlos thought i was not hearing.Eventhough it is ok because i can afford 500 pesos and it aint much money.But as said the downtown area is full of hotels offering 500 pesos a night with breakfast and more modern rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Braziliansweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. The first week and a half was a great experience (clean room, close to everything, friendly staff - or so we thought). One evening we were told by another guest, who later discovered money had been taken from his room, that they saw the night manager in our room looking around while we were relaxing in the front garden. I returned to our room and realized that money had been taken from my wallet which I had left on the bed with our door locked (assuming no one would get in). Both the other guest and I filed  a police report against the night manager and the hotel. Although we did not see that particular staff member again, there was no effort to help the situation put forth by the hotel. We asked to see the videos and that request was quickly denied.
Besides this incident, we really enjoyed the hotel. It is a shame that one staff member ruined the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sisaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Unfortunately I was not able to evaluate this hotel based on our stay, as despite having an e-mail confirmation of our reservation, upon arrival (weekday, 4 pm) no rooms were available. I incorrectly assumed the other posts stating this same problem were the exception, not the rule. Luckily, there were many nice hotels within walking distance of Los Girasoles that had rooms available. The quoted room rate via e-mail was higher than those displayed on the Los Girasoles web page. Do not assume you will get a room here if you make a reservation!

Room Tip: Show up early, so you have time to choose an alternate hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 km away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#99 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
2.3 km away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#109 of 176 in Cancun
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#73 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#114 of 176 in Cancun
100 reviews
0.5 km away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#126 of 176 in Cancun
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Girasoles Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Address: Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $39 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel los Girasoles Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Girasoles propietors and staff, give you a warm wellcome to Cancun, the Mexican Caribean's Paradise. We put at your service our great small hotel that offers you the ideal balance between the comfort and convenient location at a truly affordable price. We count with 17 rooms, where you can enjoy in a friendly environment of Comfort in the facilities and high standars of cleaniness, located in downtown zone in a very safe area, multiple services to facilitate your stay and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel los Girasoles Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing