We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the white sand beach”
Review of Camino Real Cancun

Camino Real Cancun
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camino Real Cancun
Ranked #119 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Unlike chain hotels, it is one of its kind decorated in Mexican style. The hotel service was pretty good. Loved the in-house restaurant espcially breakfast with lots of exotic fruits. We enjoyed every bit of the one-week stay. It is located close to several nice restaurants. If you are looking something different, it is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Find a room closer to beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rafaelhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

nice hotel relaxing but lots of activities,, good food and great location on beach

Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
6  Thank HalM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2004

As this was my 5th trip to Cancun and my 2nd trip in just 3 months, I
thought I knew enough about the hotels to get a great deal at a nice
place. I was wrong! The Camino Real was the worst hotel I have ever
been in, and I stayed in one of the "club rooms"!

Now, I went to Cancun for some peace and quiet and sun, so it matters
to me what the room is like. I guess if you're not spending any time at
all in your room and you don't need to sleep, this would be okay. I
hate to be negative, so I will start by saying that this hotel had a
nice beach area. However, I've never stayed at a Cancun hotel without a
nice beach area.

I arrived at the hotel and was ushered in by a kind bellman. We soon
found out that I was at the wrong desk for checking in as I had
reserved the club room, which is supposed to be the Camino Real's best
rooms. Now, I had booked this trip using an online travel service, so I
had reviewed just about every aspect of the hotel before paying
upfront. I went to the website and it looked very nice. I also read
reviews here that I should have listened to!!!

When I finally got to the club room check in, I waited as the two women
on the desk chatted. There was a woman ahead of me who was checking out
early and not happy. The women knew she was there and why, but didn't
look as if they were helping her. Once they did check her out, they
continued their chat and ignored me, actually avoiding my eyes! I was
tired and not in the mood so I politely asked if I was in the right
place to check in. Unlike most Cancun hotels that I have been to, these
employees spoke little English, so it took awhile to get my key and get
everything checked in. I was told that there would be a continental
breakfast and something like a happy hour for the people staying in the
club rooms. I thought that was nice.

As soon as I got to my room I felt something was not right. First off,
it was quite small for a room I had paid extra for. Second, it was
barely furnished. There was a small balcony, just narrow enough to
stand on and a very tiny bathroom. The bathroom was so old that the
sink was cracked and the tub was very dirty. As a frequent visitor to
Cancun, I had always enjoyed spacious bathrooms usually marble floors,
and usually a separate tub and shower. This was like a bargain basement
bathroom. Now, if I had only paid bargain prices, this would've been
fine. But I paid for a nice room, the same amount I could've paid
elsewhere for so much more! And the amenities were just standard-
nothing special. In Cancun, most hotels have pretty good bathroom
amenities. The Camino Real boasted about their club room bathroom
products, but they were nothing more than a hodgepodge of generic type
soap and shampoo.

The kicker for me was the bed. It was as hard as a rock! It truly was
like a bed of boards- the mattress seemed non-exisitant. Actually, the
mattress was just very thin and had no cushion at all. In addition, the
pillows were like doll-sized! I hadn't ever seen anything like it
before. The television was the size of a kitchen tv, VERY small. And
who could even watch tv while on or in that bed? I just can't get over
how hard it was.

After what I had paid, I felt I had been misled and went down to ask if
I had the wrong room. I was sure there had been some mistake, after
all- this room was supposed to be the best! The two women at the desk
were not surprised at all when I politely asked if I had the wrong
room. They immediately told me that since I had already checked in, I
was stuck. I had paid the online agency and the hotel was paid by them,
so they couldn't help me. I was just dumbstruck! They didn't even TRY
to help, nor did they ask what the problem was. When I told them that
the room was just not what I had expected and not what was advertised,
they offered me a junior suite, at $300 more PER NIGHT! That was an
additional $1800 plus taxes!

I just shook my head and went back up to the room, where I called my
online travel agent. She was amazing and called the manager, and got me
out of the deal, but I had to pay one night's rate as a penatlty.

I could barely sit on the bed to call the online travel agency, and
believe me, there was nothing else to sit on but a small wicker chair.
And the phone call cost me over $70 and I only talked for about 8 or 9
minutes. the agent was kind enough to call me back.

The kicker is when I checked out and paid for the phone call and the
one night's rate, the women wanted to check the room to make sure I
didn't drink any of the bottled water or use the soap! Thank God I
travel with my own liquid soap! On the way out I ran into the woman who
was ahead of me in line when I had arrived. She took one look at me
with my luggage and guessed what had happened. She even asked if they
had offered me the junior suite at the higher rate! Apparantly, this
lady was not as lucky as myself. She'd spent one night there and
because of the bed, couldn't sleep. She had to pay for a whole new
hotel because her deal was non-refundable. I felt better knowing I
wasn't overreacting, and this lady told me that she was just as
appalled as I was.

I guess this hotel would be fine if the rooms were cheap, but I don't
think this kind of hotel should advertise as if they were one of the
regular Cancun hotels. I moved to the Westin Regina and got an amazing
room for $5 more a night! What's more, they had a Grand suite available
and upgraded me on the 3rd night for less than 1/4 of what a junior
suite would've cost me at Camino Real!

The only good thing, in my opinion, about the Camino Real is the
beaches, but honestly, in Cancun you can find great beaches everywhere.
This was my first and only disappointment in Cancun, Cozumel or Puerta
Vallerta. Maybe I caught the staff on a bad day, but the rooms were
just awful and for what they charge, you're better off staying
elsewhere. I'm just glad I had a good agent to straighten things out!

One tip: most hotels and travel services online have a policy that once you've checked in, you are responsible for 100 percent of your stay. I would ask to see the room before checking in, that way you can see what you're getting.

20  Thank thaliajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank 74rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Privilégiez une chambre qui donne sur le lagon et non pas la route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B_Sarah-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
39.1 km away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,128 reviews
44.1 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
31.0 km away
Courtyard Cancun Airport
Courtyard Cancun Airport
#62 of 177 in Cancun
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
43.0 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
38.0 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Cancun

Address: Punta Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Number of rooms: 378
Also Known As:
Camino Real Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing