We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customers!”

La Dolce Vita downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
La Dolce Vita downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,205 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av. Nader
Description: Since 1983 La Dolce Vita Centro has been consistently rated as one of the top restaurants in Cancun, serving fresh seafood and homemade pasta, owned and operated by Tim Savio and Juan J. Casal. Dolce Vita means "Sweet Life" in Italian and that is how an evening here will make you feel. Our loyal clientele highly recommend the award winning signature dish Boquinete Dolce Vita, a local snapper topped with shrimp and mushrooms, enclosed in puff pastry, and served with lobster sauce. The service is refined and friendly, and dinner specials change daily to match the season. Ourdiverse wine list from around the world complements the dinner. La Dolce Vita is an ideal setting for small groups, business functions, parties, rehearsal dinners and other special events. Dress code: Casual, no cut off shirtsleeves for gentlemen. Private parking and free valet parking service.
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We just can't say enough wonderful things about our dining experience. We love the service and food so much that we come back over and over! We typically dine with friends and family who are visiting while we rent a condo for the winter months.

No matter how big the group, we receive individualized, prompt service. And the food is delicious! No matter what we order, we are impressed with the flavor and portions. And the bruschetta is delicious here! We always love when Poncho and Berta are our servers. And Juan is such a welcoming host throughout the evening.

It's such an easy bus ride from the hotel zone. Just take the R1 or R2 buses and get off right after Bonampak. Leave yourself plenty of time during rush hour as the buses are full- this is a great part of our Cancun experience!

So happy that we finally decided to skip the all-inclusives and start venturing out of the "hotel zone" to find hidden gems like this! Would highly recommend!!!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevann0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 418 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We made a reservation and went for a dinner on our last night in Cancun. It has a nice modest decor and small cosy tables. However, it a little too dark to even read the menu . The menu consist mostly of pasta and pizza and a few seafood & meat entries. We ordered a Caprice salad , salmon carpaccio ( which was very small size)as an appetizers with bottle of local rose wine. For the main course I had grilled giant shrimps(it was only 4 shrimps on the plate cutters in half to make s look like it was 8). My husband had the rabbit which was overlooked .The portions are on the small side. It's not really Italian cooking but not bad. However, portions could be much more generous. The wine is overpriced for the quality of it. The tea which I had for dessert was good . For the money we spent I would not visit this place again in the future. There are better options.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Marishecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Several of our friends recommended this Restaurant and I must say it was beyond our greatest expectations!
From the moment we sat down this great experience began. We were served a delicious fresh tomato bruschetta. We opted to try an appetizer with provolone and prosciutto that was equally delicious! I had a Caprese salad and my husband a Caesar salad both excellent and fresh. My main course was Linguine with a Bolognese sauce and my husband had spaghetti with sausage both were so delicious that we decided we are going back this Friday to try the Oso Bucco!! The owner was so gracious I took a picture with him!

The wait staff was unbelievable and so attentive to our requests!
I can't wait to go back!
It's a MUST if you are in Cancun!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank 844debd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

What a gem we found through tripadvisor! We hoped on a bus from Emporio to the first downtown stop. la Dolce Vita (the sweet life) was right at the bus stop. The owner warmly greeted us, and Raymond provided excellent service. We loved the choices on the menu and plan the superb service. They had Juan walk us across a busy street to catch the bus back, just a really nice extra touch.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Very nice atmosphere, welcoming and friendly staff. Food was excellent, chicken parm was great, garlic mashed potatoes to die for. The bruschetta and garlic bread are excellent. We were stuffed, but got dessert to go which we had later and was very good also. Very good value for your money, I would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DennisandConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita downtown also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Dolce Vita downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing