We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
Private pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cancun, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
daosda
Adelanto, California
2 reviews
“A hidden paradise!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is beautiful and it has all the amenities that we need it, the staff was very helpful and answer all our questions, the location is perfect for us, we enjoy the pool, the rooms very clean, we had all we need it on the kitchen, we really enjoy our short time on this beautiful house! I wish I could stay longer, but for sure we will come back some day! and stay longer

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ymalaret
Miramar, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I had a great experience in the house. Beautiful, has the Mexican feel and a natural wood feeling that surrounds the house. Felt very safe. The pool was very clean and great temperature. The a/c in my room worked amazing and loved sleeping on the bed. My room was the door next to the stairs on the first floor. The only thing I can say that may be helpful is letting people know about the toilet do not flush and is a hole instead. I took me a day or two to get use to it but I don't think everyone would like it. There are a lot of ants and bugs that get into the house. Other then those two complaints, I still loved the stay and would do it again with no problem. The caregiver was great with everything and very helpful when we needed him.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catroppy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DONT DO IT!”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We will make a long story short. Leaking roofs. Bats in our room and walls. Rabid dogs barking and running around property. We got no sleep. Fountain in house is broke. Very hot in house. Furniture smelled like feces. We got locked in for an hour due to the remote batteries being switched out by caregivers son that decided he needed them while he went into town instead of leaving the working batteries in ours. Missed a paid gor excursion. Had a meal cooked for us. It was horrible not to mention the lady licked her fingers and touched n ate food as she cooked (gross)Rooms not ready when arrived. Bedding dirty and had blood on it. They actually gave us a poison gun to shoot at the bats above our head. Need any info call me. I have a ton of texts and emails and pics! 940-440-0559. Ruined our whole vacation. Oh n watch out for the peeping Tom. Found him staring in bathroom while shower. Moved it 3 times and called caretaker on it and he kept doing it. Good luck getting owner to refund ur money or pick up the phone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you for your "review". Well, I do not know where to start....

We have been renting our Villa for 3 years and I have to admit that you have quite surprised us permanently during your stay...

The rooms were indeed not ready upon your arrival, probably because you arrived at 10am when the previous guests were still packing. You disregarded the check in time which is after 4pm. You have embarrassed yourself in front of the guests and myself as I had to explain to them who you were. I had to apologize on your behalf since you did not have the decency to do it yourself. You have ordered to have our maid fix dinner for you. Dinner you "forgot" to pay. You have called me to say that you were "locked" inside of the property garden with no way out. A remote activating the electric gate had been provided with 4 buttons on it...too many buttons it appears. We have called our property manager to help you with it on Sunday. You have called numerous times and been rude, aggressive and using a language I am not accustomed to, so much so that we had to establish a written correspondence. You have been extremely rude to our maid (who you have made cry several times) and property manager. You have complained endlessly about, for example a "leaking" roof. You have seen water on the floor and have deducted that the roof was leaking. No the roof is not leaking, the floor was being washed. The house was too hot upon your early arrival at 10 am? the maid has turned on the different A/C units for your convenience even though you were, once again 6 hour early. You have requested a refund and we were glad to give it to you as we started to be very nervous to have you in our property due to your irrational behavior. But you said that you would stay on site even with a refund??!!?? You have made your reservation through Owners Direct Vacation Rental who called us and shared their concern with us, not regarding the house but your behavior. I do not wish any owner to deal with you in the future. Your rudeness and lack of manners are unacceptable. Your condescendence towards our team on site have never been witnessed before. I have one advice for you, be decent, respectful and honest in the future. We as owners are opening our properties to guests and when it is considered with such disrespect it is always disappointing. You have been an embarrassment towards our previous guests, our team on site, myself and more generally speaking: decency.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel Me...
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Dear Mariel, It has been a pleasure having you as guests, thank you for allowing us to pamper you during your stay!
Rayda
-------
Querida Mariel: Ha sido un placer tenerte como invitados, ¡gracias por permitirnos mimarte durante tu estancia!
Rayda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing