We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel, Overpriced, Disappointing, Run Away Don't Walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada de la Mision
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Old Hotel, Overpriced, Disappointing, Run Away Don't Walk”
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We visited Taxco expecting a charming little village set in the mountains. What we experienced is a tourist trap. "Guides" stop your car at the entrance to the city to give you a map and recommendations for hotels. We were recommended the Posada de la Mision, which had favorable reviews in some of our tourist information books. Later, it appeared that official guides (they do have proper town identification) receive commissions for steering tourists to certain hotels, as the "guide" showed up as we were checking in.

This hotel, from the outside, appears to have colonial charm, but really it is a very old hotel that has seen better days (like, maybe, 20 - 30 years ago). We paid 2500 pesos for one night which was at least 3- 4 times more than this hotel is worth. Breakfast was included in the room rate but it was lackluster. The service was terrible. They told us that they had high speed internet, but it was available only in a very small part of the lobby. The pool was cold and dirty and the whirlpool was not working.

With our extensive travel experience in Mexico, we would rate this hotel as one of the worst experiences that we have had.

The ONLY redeeming aspect of this hotel is that the upper buildings have fantastic views of the town, especially at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    51
    46
    25
    51
See reviews for
57
66
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We planned to spend the afternoon in Taxco and then get on the bus to go back to Mexico City, but the bus stopped in front of this hotel and we got the idea to spend the night. Of course we got the rack rate just walking in off the street, but we got the most amazing room with a panoramic view of Taxco. Everything was clean and in good working order. The staff were a bit laid back (but not in any way rude) and it did not appear like the hotel was bustling, but it was between Christmas and New Years and Mexico is often very quiet at that time except at the beach. We ended up staying two nights and just enjoying Taxco.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This holiday stay at the Posada was wonderful. Despite a couple of shortcomings, the hotel was very romantic for us. The architecture, the swimming pool, the beautiful birds and the staff we came to know, while often retaining an air of mystery were always good to us. I only wish that our brief stay here was longer. I aim to go back and hopefully not too much will have changed.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyinmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We were robed , we lost everything , the maid opened our room and stole our wallets, my purse, a portable DVD, my daugther´s Nintendo DS, my husband´s Black Berry , a ring, cash,etc. They don´t have any security boxes or security personnel, the pool is cold water and the rooms are uncomfortable and old.
The Manager and the Owner didn´t take any responsability for this. So we are now proceeding against the Hotel at the Secretaría de Turismo and with the Ministerio Público or Judge. Don´t stay at this Hotel ! They can ruin your vacations. It has been the worst experience of our lives. Believe us!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank Misionp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taxco hotels

miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2007

A terrible place. The rooms are moldy and worn down. The badrooms are falling apart. They misled us by saying that breakfast was included at check in and charged us $30 for a horrible little breakfast when we checked out The woman at the front desk needs to find another calling unrelated to customer service. This is the only bad experience we had on a 15 day trip to Mexico. Thankfully, Taxco is so pretty that we did not have to spend much time at this bad hotel.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — everthing else
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank VF,Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
507 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
427 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
159 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
314 reviews
1.1 km away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Mision? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Mision

Property: Posada de la Mision
Address: Cerro de la Misi 32 Colonia Centro, Taxco 40230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taxco
Price range (per night): $81 - $149
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de la Mision 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Posada de la Mision reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De La Mision Hotel Taxco
Posada De La Mision Taxco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing